Customer Reviews for

Blood, Smoke and Mirrors

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A pleasant surprise that you just can't put down!!

I normally don't write reviews but this book was a fantastic fine! It was funny in all the right places with a healthy dose of whit and sarcasm to boot. I have to admit at first it was a little hard for me to get into, but after the second chapter it was hard for me to ...
I normally don't write reviews but this book was a fantastic fine! It was funny in all the right places with a healthy dose of whit and sarcasm to boot. I have to admit at first it was a little hard for me to get into, but after the second chapter it was hard for me to put down. Matter of fact I read the book in one day. True, I had to cut out a lot of things to accomplish this, i.e. eating sleeping, but it was too good to put down!

Cat, the heroine, was punish harshly for protecting herself from harm one night and was shunned, or outcast, because of this. Mine you she did not kill anyone so that seemed a little harsh, but the book kind of explained why this happened. So now she lives on the fringe of her society. All the different situations she gets herself into were interesting to say the least. I love the storyline, the flow, and the ending makes you want to buy the next book in the series. I know I can't wait!! :D

posted by Luv2ReadBookieBaby on June 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Urban fantasy. Just OK.

This is a 600+ page free book. I read half the book and just had to quit. The fantasy elements are OK, but the emotions and reactions of the main characters are unbelievable.

The hot and cold between Cat and Lex could have been an interesting and entertaining part...
This is a 600+ page free book. I read half the book and just had to quit. The fantasy elements are OK, but the emotions and reactions of the main characters are unbelievable.

The hot and cold between Cat and Lex could have been an interesting and entertaining part of this book. However the reasoning behind the breaking up and reuniting is weak, unbelievable, and unsellable. It made me so frustrated!

The top hat, the fairy ball, the enchanted castle....I thought they were corny and very YA fiction. Maybe someone else would find them cute and funny though.

There are a lot more weak points, but I'll spare you further whining. The strong points are 1) it is free 2) it is over 600 pages 3) lots of action 4) librarians are supernatural 5).... I can't come up with a 5th.

posted by 7176450 on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Urban fantasy. Just OK.

    This is a 600+ page free book. I read half the book and just had to quit. The fantasy elements are OK, but the emotions and reactions of the main characters are unbelievable.

    The hot and cold between Cat and Lex could have been an interesting and entertaining part of this book. However the reasoning behind the breaking up and reuniting is weak, unbelievable, and unsellable. It made me so frustrated!

    The top hat, the fairy ball, the enchanted castle....I thought they were corny and very YA fiction. Maybe someone else would find them cute and funny though.

    There are a lot more weak points, but I'll spare you further whining. The strong points are 1) it is free 2) it is over 600 pages 3) lots of action 4) librarians are supernatural 5).... I can't come up with a 5th.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A pleasant surprise that you just can't put down!!

    I normally don't write reviews but this book was a fantastic fine! It was funny in all the right places with a healthy dose of whit and sarcasm to boot. I have to admit at first it was a little hard for me to get into, but after the second chapter it was hard for me to put down. Matter of fact I read the book in one day. True, I had to cut out a lot of things to accomplish this, i.e. eating sleeping, but it was too good to put down!

    Cat, the heroine, was punish harshly for protecting herself from harm one night and was shunned, or outcast, because of this. Mine you she did not kill anyone so that seemed a little harsh, but the book kind of explained why this happened. So now she lives on the fringe of her society. All the different situations she gets herself into were interesting to say the least. I love the storyline, the flow, and the ending makes you want to buy the next book in the series. I know I can't wait!! :D

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    NOT BAD


    THIS WAS A NICESTORY A LITTLE LONG AT TIMES BUT I LIKE THAT CAT GETS HER MAN LEX IN THE END. HOPE THERE IS ANOTHER BOOK IN THIS SERIES.. GIVE THIS BOOK A READ YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Pleasantly surprised

    I was pleasantly surprised by how good this free book. I look foward to reading more from this author. About 670 nook pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    A great book

    I can not believe this book was free! I loved it. The charactors just jummped off the pages. Would like to read the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Yup

    It a keeper.... i buying the next book. ;p

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Good read

    Very good for a free read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Good read

    Entertaining, good start to a new series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Great Paranormal Read

    Originally Posted at: www.longandshortreviews.blogspot.com

    I love the world of Blood, Smoke and Mirrors. It's magic in modern Chicago where Titania and Oberon are job titles (think Ambassador to Faery from the Midwestern region of the United States) and witches have a "do no harm" clause.

    As an excommunicated witch, Cat shouldn't even be considered a candidate for the position of Titania, but circumstances align to make her the only choice other than her necromancer father, and everyone knows necromancers are one step from vampire and vampires aren't allowed in Faery. And this particular necromancer killed her mother. To make it worse, the man/guardian given the task to convince Cat to try for office (and keep her safe through the pre-selection trials) is none other than Cat's ex-lover and betrayer Alexander Duquesne, Lex. He claims he didn't intend to get her barred from the witching world, but Cat isn't buying his protestations or his declarations of love. How can she trust his or the witching council's sudden about-face?

    Blood, Smoke and Mirrors contains all the things I love the best in books, great internal and external tension, quirky or slightly flawed protagonists, great dialogue, and a captivating story line. It also has a wonderful world. I really connected with Cat. She made the type of mistakes I could see myself making in the same circumstances-not that there's any chance of that, but still...

    When I finished Blood, Smoke and Mirror, I immediately Googled Robyn Bachar in search of a sequel or a prequel. None were listed as upcoming, but I'll be watching. Sign me up for book two.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Formatting problem

    Okay read. Difficult because type is all pressed together without spacing. Too long. Will not buy this author again

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Thoroughly enjoyable!

    I'm looking forward to reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Exciting, Quirky Paranormal Romance

    Having read and enjoyed Bachar's novella, "The Importance of Being Emily," I decided to give one of her longer works a chance.

    I thoroughly enjoyed "Blood, Smoke and Mirrors." The characters are well-developed, and the world-building is detailed. There was definite chemistry between Cat and Lex, and Portia the punk faerie was awesome. The villains were also well-developed (especially Harrison), and I liked Bachar's new take on vampires.

    I am definitely looking forward to the next story in the series. -- lyradora

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    This was a good book. Though the first of a series, it ties up e

    This was a good book. Though the first of a series, it ties up enough loose ends to stand alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoyed free read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great book

    I will be reading more books by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a new author for me and I was very happy with the book.

    This was a new author for me and I was very happy with the book. Catherine is a witch who is being shunned by her community for using her powers to protect herself. Her dad is a vampire, her mom a witch her cousins are Fairies...this urban paranormal has it all.
    There is a divide between Cat and the love of her life Alexander(Lex) who is a Guardian of supernaturals. The plot is swift, the characters likeable, and I urge you to give this a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    H

    Thanks to the poster who revealed the ending. Ruined it for everyone. Do you stand at the door of the movie theater and give away the endings as well?????

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Good but not great

    I thought this wad good with the capacity to be a really great read but it never quite seemed to get there. Lex, to me, nevet seemed fully committed to Cat and that was a huge letdown.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3