Customer Reviews for

Blood Song (Blood Singer Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

BLOOD SONG is the work of amazing duo C.T. Adams and Cathy Clamp, writing as Cat Adams.

In this story we meet Celia Graves, a bodyguard to the rich and famous who, although she is a regular human, knows about ghosts, demons, and other types of supernatural beings. Wh...
BLOOD SONG is the work of amazing duo C.T. Adams and Cathy Clamp, writing as Cat Adams.

In this story we meet Celia Graves, a bodyguard to the rich and famous who, although she is a regular human, knows about ghosts, demons, and other types of supernatural beings. While on assignment guarding a prince from a small European country, she is left wounded from a vampire attack.

This attack leaves her as an Abomination, not really vampire but not plain vanilla human, either. Celia must figure out her new limits, as well as destroy her maker before he can gain control over her - although this is the least of her worries.

Action, twists, and turns abound in this wonderful new series. The story flows like magic and the characters are very exciting. Celia Graves is definitely a character to watch.

For readers who are familiar with C.T. Adams and Cathy Clamp, I think they'll be surprised at this new take on the old supernatural creature story. For those who are not familiar with them, I believe they'll go back and find their other stories just to get another taste of such wonderful storytelling.

This book is what urban fantasy is all about: fast-paced, mysteries galore, and a main character who is stubborn beyond belief even in the face of stronger creatures. Reading this book was like going on a roller coaster ride where the lever broke off and they can't find the off switch.

Cat Adams has crafted a story that will have others taking notice and scrambling to craft a story just as good. I think this will be one of the best series we'll see this year, and I would expect nothing less from the dynamic duo called Cat Adams.

posted by TeensReadToo on June 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

What??? Boring!

I couln't wait to read this book and see what it was about. Didn't do it for me! nothing captivating, characters were "vague", plot not great, the story seem to be dragging. I didn't enjoy this book, will not continue on to the next book and will not recommend it.

posted by booklover1A1 on September 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

    BLOOD SONG is the work of amazing duo C.T. Adams and Cathy Clamp, writing as Cat Adams.

    In this story we meet Celia Graves, a bodyguard to the rich and famous who, although she is a regular human, knows about ghosts, demons, and other types of supernatural beings. While on assignment guarding a prince from a small European country, she is left wounded from a vampire attack.

    This attack leaves her as an Abomination, not really vampire but not plain vanilla human, either. Celia must figure out her new limits, as well as destroy her maker before he can gain control over her - although this is the least of her worries.

    Action, twists, and turns abound in this wonderful new series. The story flows like magic and the characters are very exciting. Celia Graves is definitely a character to watch.

    For readers who are familiar with C.T. Adams and Cathy Clamp, I think they'll be surprised at this new take on the old supernatural creature story. For those who are not familiar with them, I believe they'll go back and find their other stories just to get another taste of such wonderful storytelling.

    This book is what urban fantasy is all about: fast-paced, mysteries galore, and a main character who is stubborn beyond belief even in the face of stronger creatures. Reading this book was like going on a roller coaster ride where the lever broke off and they can't find the off switch.

    Cat Adams has crafted a story that will have others taking notice and scrambling to craft a story just as good. I think this will be one of the best series we'll see this year, and I would expect nothing less from the dynamic duo called Cat Adams.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Song

    First let me just say the cover drawing reminds me of Lisa Marie Presley for some reason. Anyway, my review is based purely on entrainment factor alone. This book consistently kept my interest and attention. It's very hard for me to enjoy a story when religious relics are the focal point for repelling "evil". However, the author did a fabulous job of reeling me into this story from the start and after a while those relics didn't much matter to me.

    Sirens aren't included in many urban fantasy series, so having Sirens involved in this novel was a treat. Actually I haven't seen anything to do with Sirens since Charmed went off the air.

    Imagine a world where creatures of nightmares are all out of the closet and roaming the city streets. Now imagine these creatures aren't even house-broken and tamed. They are ferocious and don't even know the meaning of civility. Society is gripped with so much fear that bottles of holy water blessed by "true believers" are flying off the shelves. Priests are no longer regular ordain folks but actually trained warriors.

    However, exciting this story was, it was not without its faults. Such as, the focus of the story building up to a huge finale, only to have it change mid-stream and wound up making the main plot feel anticlimactic and after the fact. Regardless of its imperfections, this book had plenty of nail-biting suspense and action, and I thoroughly enjoyed this read.

    I recommend this book to dark urban fantasy readers and look forward to the next book in this new series Siren Song due out 9/28/10.

    Also recommend: S.A. Jaare- Dead, Undead, or Somewhere in Between

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Loved it!

    After the first couple pages I was a little worried that I wouldn't enjoy this book. But I kept reading and I'm very glad I did! I was quickly drawn into Celia's story. She is in way over her head with problems but that doesn't stop her from kicking butt and taking names. I love a story with a good strong female lead and Celia is just that!

    This is a great book and I'm looking forward to reading more in the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    Very well written.

    Cat Adams does it again. This book is riveting, keeping the reader glued to the pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    AMAZING!

    I love these books and have thought that they would make amazing movies if done right. They are my favorite books and the only series I have reread twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Addicted

    I absolutely love this series!!!!! The heroin is strong and witty and just the right amount of crazy. At first i was a little confused because Cat just kinda throws you into the deep end but the more I read the more I started to understand. The characters are very well developed and the storyline is all consuming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Good

    I like readingbthe sample book part but i think i am going to buy this one and read it all the way though. I liked how the auther did ut is a good one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    This a must must read

    The first book in the blood singer series is a definate must read. It is a brillant start to a new twist to Anita Blake.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    It is my new favorite series! I have already preordered the 4th one, and can not wait until it is released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3