Customer Reviews for

Blood Sugar 101: What They Don't Tell You About Diabetes

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    This Book Saved My Life

    This book is NOT just for newly diagnosed diabetics. I was diagnosed over 15 years ago. I was "borderline" for so long, I simply ignored it, took my oral meds, and pretended it didn't exist. I won't tell the whole story here, but suffice it to say that I am convinced that if I had not found this book a few months ago, I would no longer be on this earth. I now realize that while my GP was well-meaning, her knowledge of T2 diabetes was limited to her prescription pad. Unfortunately, I believe this is true of most GPs. I learned enough in this book to have an intelligent conversation with an Endocrinologist, and to advocate for myself. My numbers are under control, I feel good, and I'm not taking any of the RXs that caused such horrible side effects. If you are diabetic, especially T2 - BUY THIS BOOK!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    Very Helpful

    I purchased this book after reviewing the information on the author's website. I found the book to be very helpful and easy to read and
    understand. The most important bit of information that I will take
    and use from this book is to work on keeping my blood sugars under 140 at all times. I still refer back for the pancake recipe.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    If you want to know about your disease - buy this book.

    I think I've bought 3 or 4 copies of this book now, people keep stealing mine! I'm not surprised; it's an excellent resource, both as a quick reference guide and as a deep-dive into topics such as the levels at which blood glucose does damage, statins, and the various different types of diabetics. I loved Jenny's web site, but this is much easier to read in the bath. Hmmm... maybe if it lived in the bathroom instead of beside my chair in the living room, I'd get to keep a copy...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Valuable Info.

    No-nonsense and easy to ready. Valuable info put together in a logical format.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    Essential Reading for Diabetics

    This book has been life changing for me as a diabetic. I buy a copy for my friends and family who are new diabetics so that they will have the foundation to control their diabetes for life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Fantastic Information

    I was keeping an A1c of 6.9 for 20 years, now I have severe pain in feet and lower legs called peripheral neuropathy. It is starting in my hands too. This book states that ADA is wrong to avoid complications the A1c needs to be 5.5. And tells how to do it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    Very helpful

    This book has information I've not read other places and author is speaking from years of experiencing diabetes. She compiled it from website of the same name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    The most useful book I have read that emphasizes the important factors that enable a healthy life while living with diabetes. This book is valuable for everyone, especially those that have little knowledge about this desease.

    Everyone should read this book. Few people understand the dangers of diabetes. This book provides a guide to those persons living with diabetes and also to those who do not know their blood sugar levels. The book teaches us about prevention by eating a healthy diet and exercising regularly. I have recommended this book to my 'pre diabetes' friends as well as to friends that have no idea what their level of blood sugar is. Bravo Jenny Ruhl!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Great Book

    This is a great book for the newly diagnosed diabetic. The author explains what it is and how it develops, discusses various studies that have been made of the disease and the results, describes medications, glucose meters and numbers, how to change your diet and your lifestyle in order to take control of your life. She lays out a lot of factual information and displels the myth that diabetes necessarily has to be a downward slide into a lot of serious problems or and early death. It is a very positive and encouraging look at what you can do for yourself to live a better quality life as a diabetic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1