Customer Reviews for

Blood Ties (Bishop/Special Crimes Unit Series #12)

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

exciting Special Crimes Unit paranormal police procedural

Near Serenade, Tennessee, the remains of a butchered man and woman are found. The FBI Special Crimes Unit (SCU) led by Bishop and including his wife Miranda is sent to investigate. The unit moves into a nearby B&B, and quickly concludes that the male was meant for imm...
Near Serenade, Tennessee, the remains of a butchered man and woman are found. The FBI Special Crimes Unit (SCU) led by Bishop and including his wife Miranda is sent to investigate. The unit moves into a nearby B&B, and quickly concludes that the male was meant for immediate finding while the female was not.

Meanwhile a sniper begins killing people and something is interfering with the special skills of the SCU team. Unsure of Hollis Templeton's rapidly changing paranormal skills since Touching Evil. and he does not want to use Special Investigator Diana Brisco as the Lodge incident is thirty crow miles away (see Chill of Fears). However, Bishop has no choice. The only hope SCU has to stop what they increasingly believe is an inhuman evil is Diana using her unique psychic ability that enables her to walk in what she calls the void of color Gray Time to communicate with spirit guides. However she must be careful how long her spirit remains in Gray Time as too long means never returning to her body; an adversary plans to strand her there.

This is an exciting Special Crimes Unit police procedural in which several team members play key roles including others not mentioned above. A glossary after the novel provides a who's who of SCU and their skills and appearances; this helps keep track as twelve members participate as do the Haven Operatives (bios also in the back). The story line is fast-paced from the moment local Pageant County Sheriff sexagenarian Duncan tells Miranda that neither he nor his department has ever seen let alone handle a case like this one and never takes a stuttering step from there. Fans of SCU will relish the twelfth SCU investigation as someone or something has brought the team to Tennessee to destroy them physically and spiritually.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but not the stronest from bishop series

Still worth reading tho

posted by sweetkitten_anonymous on January 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    exciting Special Crimes Unit paranormal police procedural

    Near Serenade, Tennessee, the remains of a butchered man and woman are found. The FBI Special Crimes Unit (SCU) led by Bishop and including his wife Miranda is sent to investigate. The unit moves into a nearby B&B, and quickly concludes that the male was meant for immediate finding while the female was not.

    Meanwhile a sniper begins killing people and something is interfering with the special skills of the SCU team. Unsure of Hollis Templeton's rapidly changing paranormal skills since Touching Evil. and he does not want to use Special Investigator Diana Brisco as the Lodge incident is thirty crow miles away (see Chill of Fears). However, Bishop has no choice. The only hope SCU has to stop what they increasingly believe is an inhuman evil is Diana using her unique psychic ability that enables her to walk in what she calls the void of color Gray Time to communicate with spirit guides. However she must be careful how long her spirit remains in Gray Time as too long means never returning to her body; an adversary plans to strand her there.

    This is an exciting Special Crimes Unit police procedural in which several team members play key roles including others not mentioned above. A glossary after the novel provides a who's who of SCU and their skills and appearances; this helps keep track as twelve members participate as do the Haven Operatives (bios also in the back). The story line is fast-paced from the moment local Pageant County Sheriff sexagenarian Duncan tells Miranda that neither he nor his department has ever seen let alone handle a case like this one and never takes a stuttering step from there. Fans of SCU will relish the twelfth SCU investigation as someone or something has brought the team to Tennessee to destroy them physically and spiritually.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    The end was not what I expected!

    I loved this book, just like the rest of Hooper's Bishop series, but I felt that the ending was not a good one. It seemed as though there should be more to the story. The ending made me mad, but over all, this was a very good book. Kay Hooper still remains at the top of my list, and I can't wait for her next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Love all the Bishop books! Can't wait for more. Not sure I believe in Psi powers or gifts but Hooper gives very good explanations for the different possibilities associated with them. She also gives one the best explanations of why Psi's can't

    predict the lottery, etc. Very entertaining books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Love the whole series. One of my favorites.

    Love the whole series. One of my favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    HOOPER DOES IT AGAIN

    I HAVE READ ALL KAY HOOPER BOOKS FOR YEARS AND ALL OF HER BISHOP SERIES, THIS IS ONE OF HER BEST IN THE BISHOP SERIES AND I LOVED THE LITTLE SUB-TITLES SO YOU KNOW WHERE YOU HAVE READ THAT CHARACTER BEFORE. I LOVED THE BOOK AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Recommended for all readers that enjoy a mistery

    Love Kay Hooper & love this serie!!! This book is for any age that enjoy misteries paranormal information & situations. I have read all other books by this author; even the romance type (I'm not much for romance stories), & yes!!! I would recommend this for book & her other books for club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    Wonderfully written

    This was my first Bishop Crime Series book. After reading it I immediately purchased the first 11 books and read them in order. Although you can understand and follow the story without reading the other books, I recommend starting from the beginning because you learn so much throughout the series. Kay Hooper keeps you invested in the characters. I can't wait for book 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    Love her books!

    I always seek her books whenever a new FBI series comes out. I enjoy her characters, the plots. Her writting sytle is excellent. A+++ for originality. Her books have a twist and grab you from the get go. Good beach read or rainy day. I can never put her books down and find myself reading late into the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I loved the book as much as I enjoy all of her books. One of my favorite authors.

    Great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    i really enjoyed this book.

    The way the author pieced this story togetger was phenominal.Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down....Only to take a shower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4