Customer Reviews for

Blood Ties (Julie Collins Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 796 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(278)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

an awesome new heroine for mystery lovers

Armstrong is off to a brilliant start with her foul-mouthed, hot-headed, trouble seeking Julie Collins as a protagonist. This character is as real as the tequila swillin' broad at the end of the bar and her wit coupled with her troubled soul is endearing without being...
Armstrong is off to a brilliant start with her foul-mouthed, hot-headed, trouble seeking Julie Collins as a protagonist. This character is as real as the tequila swillin' broad at the end of the bar and her wit coupled with her troubled soul is endearing without being sappy and predictable. Bring us more!

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

BLOOD TIES

I eagerly dove into this book because I love stories of the West and anything to do with the Lakota Indians. Within the first few pages I was sorely disappointed but I stayed with it hoping that as the story continued it would improve. I am sad to say that it did not. W...
I eagerly dove into this book because I love stories of the West and anything to do with the Lakota Indians. Within the first few pages I was sorely disappointed but I stayed with it hoping that as the story continued it would improve. I am sad to say that it did not. While others may find this fiction work wonderfully written I found the main character to be most annoying. The story gives the impression that it will deal with the Lakota much more than it does when in fact they are nothing more than mere mentions throughout the story. The main character comes off acting much too tough (in my opinion) and is extremely insecure throughout the whole story. She is belligerent where and when she doesn't need to be and most times I found myself not even caring about any of her predicaments. When you finish a story you should be happy for the main character and also not want it to end. With BLOOD TIES I did not feel for the main character and I was glad it finally did end.

For me I cannot recommend this story to anyone. I am terribly disappointed in it. I did not find the plot to be exceptional nor was the drama captivating. In a word this story is annoying at best and boring at worst. The second series deals with the same characters and did not improve any better than the first book.

posted by The_Writer_025 on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 796 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great read!

    This book was one i just couldn't put down, from start to finish! Great characters a must read for myster readers who just love a little lust in their reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Liked it

    I couldnt stop reading it. Definitely a page turner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Kept me reading

    Recommended as a good read, l agree. Finished in 2 nights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    A Very Good Read

    A good mystery novel. The cast of characters was great. I hope there is a part two to this so I can find out who killed Julie's brother and whether she finally gets together with Kevin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Action packed, good characters with a well thought out plot. A very good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Entertaining read!

    Loved Julie's character - sharp, witty, sarcastic seemed to fit each situation. Will look for others by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Good read!!

    This was my first mystery and I really enjoyed it. I will continue on with the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    A few good twists

    Not boring at all. A grity gal with problems plays at being a P.I. loved it. I want to read more abot Jules now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    GREAT BOOK

    I loved this so much I bought the rest of series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Excellent

    Can't wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    A super chiller mystery.

    Once I started I couldn't put it down, and the ending was a definite surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lost sleep because I couldn't put this book down!

    If you're looking for a fast and entertaining read, this is a GREAT choice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Dommermama

    AWESOME!!!!!! LOVED IT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Great Book!!

    This was a Great book. I definitely plan on buying more books by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    Not much to recommend following Julie Collins' further adventures.

    A little heavy-handed in the self-deprecating manner with which the first-person narrative describes herself and her lifestyle. I wouldn't recommend the book to any young readers, eager to find their own way in life. In fact, had I been the sheriff in this story, I would have fired her a long time before this one did! I didn't find it intriguing enough to look up any others in the "Julie Collins" series; good thing it was one of the free-friday books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Good, realistic main character

    Living in SD, I could relate to the people and places in the book. I thought the main character was "real" in that she definitely wasn't perfect, but was still a hero and did some good deeds. I liked it but my sister didn't - so it must not be a book for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Gimme more!

    I've read all 4 books in the Julie Collins series and I'm impatiently awaiting a new one! I love the character's raw grit and hidden femininity!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Great story!

    Love how the story unfolded and kept me interested throughout. The main characters (Julie and Kevin) were also very likeable. I'm looking forward to checking out what more this author has to offer :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Exciting

    Love the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Ok book

    The plot is good and so is the ending. Julie's sacrasm and shoot from the hip manner gives an edge to the character but used much too often. As a result, she comes off as an angry, mean, difficult person without essentially any meaningful qualities. The author tries to give her some semblance of a human being by weaving in the neglected children. But it's not enough to make he the least bit likeable. Maybe that's why the author kept having her beat up---which is troublesome on a whole other level--

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 796 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 40