Customer Reviews for

Blood Ties (Julie Collins Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 790 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(210)

4 Star

(276)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(56)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

an awesome new heroine for mystery lovers

Armstrong is off to a brilliant start with her foul-mouthed, hot-headed, trouble seeking Julie Collins as a protagonist. This character is as real as the tequila swillin' broad at the end of the bar and her wit coupled with her troubled soul is endearing without being...
Armstrong is off to a brilliant start with her foul-mouthed, hot-headed, trouble seeking Julie Collins as a protagonist. This character is as real as the tequila swillin' broad at the end of the bar and her wit coupled with her troubled soul is endearing without being sappy and predictable. Bring us more!

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

BLOOD TIES

I eagerly dove into this book because I love stories of the West and anything to do with the Lakota Indians. Within the first few pages I was sorely disappointed but I stayed with it hoping that as the story continued it would improve. I am sad to say that it did not. W...
I eagerly dove into this book because I love stories of the West and anything to do with the Lakota Indians. Within the first few pages I was sorely disappointed but I stayed with it hoping that as the story continued it would improve. I am sad to say that it did not. While others may find this fiction work wonderfully written I found the main character to be most annoying. The story gives the impression that it will deal with the Lakota much more than it does when in fact they are nothing more than mere mentions throughout the story. The main character comes off acting much too tough (in my opinion) and is extremely insecure throughout the whole story. She is belligerent where and when she doesn't need to be and most times I found myself not even caring about any of her predicaments. When you finish a story you should be happy for the main character and also not want it to end. With BLOOD TIES I did not feel for the main character and I was glad it finally did end.

For me I cannot recommend this story to anyone. I am terribly disappointed in it. I did not find the plot to be exceptional nor was the drama captivating. In a word this story is annoying at best and boring at worst. The second series deals with the same characters and did not improve any better than the first book.

posted by The_Writer_025 on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 276 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Good read

    Enjoyed it.

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    unpredictable ending

    This book was a fast read. It kept you guessing and when you thought you had who done it, a twist happened. Worth reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Page Turner - Best Free Friday Book Yet!!

    Picked this up on the Free Friday days, and now I'm off to purchase the rest of the series. I read a lot, and I have to say, Lori Armstrong is a really good writer. It wasn't boring or flat it was a really well written detective story. I can't wait to read what other tangles Julie gets herself into, I'm hoping that it will involve Tony or Kevin :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    very good!

    Was not sure I would like this but it moved fast and and I liked the characters and the book really held my attention. Will definitely look for another book by this author and certainly in this series. Nice to find someone new to read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Kept me reading

    Recommended as a good read, l agree. Finished in 2 nights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    A Very Good Read

    A good mystery novel. The cast of characters was great. I hope there is a part two to this so I can find out who killed Julie's brother and whether she finally gets together with Kevin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Action packed, good characters with a well thought out plot. A very good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Good read!!

    This was my first mystery and I really enjoyed it. I will continue on with the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Excellent

    Can't wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lost sleep because I couldn't put this book down!

    If you're looking for a fast and entertaining read, this is a GREAT choice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Great Book!!

    This was a Great book. I definitely plan on buying more books by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    LOVED IT

    Am starting the next one now. Although there were a few editing mistakes I don't think it took away from the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good story

    Liked the characters and story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Enjoyed this book

    Fast read, very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Good book

    Cant wait for next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Great Characters

    This book has great Character's and was a very enjoyable read it was hard to put down. The only thing I didn't like is that it was way to easy to guess who the killer was. As soon as his

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    I read it in one setting. My only critism is I figured out the bad guyas soon as he was introduced. It was rather obvious. That said, I loved these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Amazing!

    I was left guessing through out the book, was it this person or that? An amusing and cliffhanging read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Recommended

    I liked the character Julie Collins. She is spunky, and sometimes surly but tenacious. But, she is also reckless at times and that makes me lose respect for her judgment. I will most likely look at her next book to see if I might like her better over-all. The ending of this book was kind of lame, but maybe it's the first novel and the author doesn't know that things don't always have to be wrapped up neatly at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Great

    An easy flowing read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 276 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14