BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blood Ties (Julie Collins Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 794 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(211)

4 Star

(277)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

an awesome new heroine for mystery lovers

Armstrong is off to a brilliant start with her foul-mouthed, hot-headed, trouble seeking Julie Collins as a protagonist. This character is as real as the tequila swillin' broad at the end of the bar and her wit coupled with her troubled soul is endearing without being...
Armstrong is off to a brilliant start with her foul-mouthed, hot-headed, trouble seeking Julie Collins as a protagonist. This character is as real as the tequila swillin' broad at the end of the bar and her wit coupled with her troubled soul is endearing without being sappy and predictable. Bring us more!

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

BLOOD TIES

I eagerly dove into this book because I love stories of the West and anything to do with the Lakota Indians. Within the first few pages I was sorely disappointed but I stayed with it hoping that as the story continued it would improve. I am sad to say that it did not. W...
I eagerly dove into this book because I love stories of the West and anything to do with the Lakota Indians. Within the first few pages I was sorely disappointed but I stayed with it hoping that as the story continued it would improve. I am sad to say that it did not. While others may find this fiction work wonderfully written I found the main character to be most annoying. The story gives the impression that it will deal with the Lakota much more than it does when in fact they are nothing more than mere mentions throughout the story. The main character comes off acting much too tough (in my opinion) and is extremely insecure throughout the whole story. She is belligerent where and when she doesn't need to be and most times I found myself not even caring about any of her predicaments. When you finish a story you should be happy for the main character and also not want it to end. With BLOOD TIES I did not feel for the main character and I was glad it finally did end.

For me I cannot recommend this story to anyone. I am terribly disappointed in it. I did not find the plot to be exceptional nor was the drama captivating. In a word this story is annoying at best and boring at worst. The second series deals with the same characters and did not improve any better than the first book.

posted by The_Writer_025 on May 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    an awesome new heroine for mystery lovers

    Armstrong is off to a brilliant start with her foul-mouthed, hot-headed, trouble seeking Julie Collins as a protagonist. This character is as real as the tequila swillin' broad at the end of the bar and her wit coupled with her troubled soul is endearing without being sappy and predictable. Bring us more!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic small town thriller

    Julie Collins left her well paying job in Minneapolis to take a position in the Bear Butte County Sheriff¿s Office in the hopes of finding the person who killed her half-brother Ben Stalking Elk. Over the last five years five Native Americans like Ben have been murdered, but his is different as he was the only one whose throat was slashed to death; the others were drowned though his corpse was also found like the other victims in Bear Butte Creek. --- The body of a sixteen years old girl with her throat slashed is found in Rapid Creek. Julie¿s friend private detective Kevin Wells was hired to find out where Samantha went after her father kicked her out of their home following her mother confiding to both that she was sired by a rapist. A few days later, Samantha¿s mother is found dead in her car, supposedly a suicide. Kevin and Julie investigate together believing that the killer is one of the men who raped her mother, but he intends to keep that secret concealed and he will do whatever it takes to make sure it stays buried. --- BLOOD TIES is a fantastic small town thriller with a protagonist who acts tough because she feels she must do so to solve her quest and has no one to call a friend except Kevin. Her need almost obsessive to bring justice to Samantha and her mother serves as a temporary replacement and solace for failing to do so for Ben. Lori G. Armstrong provides a fabulous mystery starring an intriguing protagonist with a climax that will stun the audience. --- Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    Wow! Wow! Wow! Now, where┬┐s the sequel???!!!

    What a debut novel! Lori Armstrong¿s prickly heroine, Julie, ain¿t easy to love. But definitely worth the trouble. She¿s as tenacious as a pit bull and twice as ornery. She loves (or at least wants) the wrong men for all the right reasons, and knows it. She doesn¿t pretend to be anything she isn¿t, including sympathetic. This is the kind of woman I would like to have a drink with--probably a shot of Don Julio tequila and a cold beer. But maybe not at Fat Bob¿s, at least until the bar fight starts. In which case I¿m calling her first to be on my team. I was really happy when I got to the end of the book and saw the door had been left open for future adventures. Hurry up--I can¿t wait to see what kind of trouble Julie gets herself into next.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Best. Series. Ever

    I've read this book, and the other 3 in the series, twice. This is BY FAR, my favorite series ever! Exceptionally well written, Julie is a protagonist that takes you along for her ride and you feel every emotion she does. The mystery keeps you on the edge of your seat & the relationships in this book grip you and don't let go. I can't get enough of this series. I have no doubts that I will be reading this series over & over again!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Highly recommended - have read the series!

    Really enjoyed this book and bought the rest in the series as well as other books by the author. Waiting for her to write more!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Great book

    Amazing.....couldnt put it down!!!!! Cant wait to read the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great read!

    This book was one i just couldn't put down, from start to finish! Great characters a must read for myster readers who just love a little lust in their reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Liked it

    I couldnt stop reading it. Definitely a page turner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Entertaining read!

    Loved Julie's character - sharp, witty, sarcastic seemed to fit each situation. Will look for others by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    A few good twists

    Not boring at all. A grity gal with problems plays at being a P.I. loved it. I want to read more abot Jules now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    GREAT BOOK

    I loved this so much I bought the rest of series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    A super chiller mystery.

    Once I started I couldn't put it down, and the ending was a definite surprise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Dommermama

    AWESOME!!!!!! LOVED IT

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Gimme more!

    I've read all 4 books in the Julie Collins series and I'm impatiently awaiting a new one! I love the character's raw grit and hidden femininity!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Great story!

    Love how the story unfolded and kept me interested throughout. The main characters (Julie and Kevin) were also very likeable. I'm looking forward to checking out what more this author has to offer :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Exciting

    Love the series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Loved it

    While some had problems with a bit of foul language I thought it was fitting to the storyline and characters. The plot kept me intrigued and guessing until the very end. I want to read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Wowwza!

    When i got this book on a free book friday... i was very skeptical... so many of the free books they offer are a disappointment.... which is why it took me soooo long to actually read it. But boy was i in for a shock.... it was a really good read.. i am already thinking about getting the next one in the series. I would recommend this book for anyone who loves the unconventional heroine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Loved it

    It kept me hooked. Couldn't put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Love this series!

    An new twist to the detective murder mystery. Also , it provides an insight into Native American life and points of view. Definitely worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11