Customer Reviews for

Blood Trail (Joe Pickett Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    The Consequences of Justice Denied

    In Blood Trail, Box captures once again the best and the worst of people and their stories. Five hunters find that a long forgotten and shameful act committed twenty years ago has consequences. Randy Pope, Joe¿s boss, happens to be one of the men involved, and he chooses to remain silent about his suspicions. The governor brings Joe in with the 3rd killing when a hunter is found gutted and hung from a tree. Joe uses the extreme crisis, the closing of all state and federal lands to hunting, to get Nate out of federal custody when he, Governor Rulon, and, incredibly, Randy Pope bring pressure on the agent in charge. Nate gets released into Joe¿s custody, and Joe promises to do the right thing. He just doesn¿t explain what the right thing will be. Nate provides contacts and background and helps Joe unravel the mystery. This is an chilling, suspenseful, and totally satisfying read, and like the best of books, leaves you with a lot to think about long afterwards.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    A Great Read

    Another excellent Joe Pickett novel . Joe is no superhero . He's an honest working man, devoted to his family and duty yet makes honest mistakes that often land him in hot water . I believe this is what I like best about this series .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Recommended

    Another reliably enjoyable book by CJ Box

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    May i join

    I am creamstrike expecting and i need a mate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Moonshine

    Goes out to hunt and patrol.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Iceshade

    The shecat padded in "may I join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great story!

    C.J. Box writes another intriguing tale with lots of action in the outdoors. As a wildlife cop he is more than the norm...always lots of crime-solving and his descriptions of life in the outdoors are great, as well as appreciative revels of the beauty of nature. Obviously he is well-acquainted with all things wild! This reader has read several of his books and they are all engrossing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Did It Again

    Another great read from C J Box.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    GOOD & BAD

    Great book but lots of the words run together. Hard to read! Not great recommentation for B&N e-books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    A Great Series Continues

    Joe Pickett had been a game warden in Wyoming until he was removed from the job he loves by the director of the state agency He now finds himself living in town, owning his first home and a list of chores that need to be done. Living in town puts a strain on all of his family. He had become the "go-to guy" for the governor. After series of gruesome murders of hunters that pits the pro and anti-hunting advocates against each other he is called on to get to the bottom of the problem and quickly. Obviously there are a number of bureaucrats who have their own reasons to wish his success and/or failure. The flow of the plot is so seamless that it is almost as if I were watching a movie. The author has a wonderful, almost lyrical, way of writing which is unusual in a book with the setting in the great outdoors. The sections of the book that 'speak' in the voice of the murderer are so descriptive that you can visualize the scenes. As you can tell I really enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Always a good read

    Ever since Blue Heaven, I have enjoyed C. J. Box as an author. Always a good read. I just picked up the new paperback and am saving it for a plane trip end of May. Very good writing and plots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    The Life You Want to Lead

    This is the latest in C. J.'s series that takes you slowly through the life of a Wyoming family as they move through another intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    KEEPS YOU ON THE EDGE OF YOUR SEAT FROM BEGINNING TO END.

    I've read all the other books my other favorite mystery writers have written so far, so I was looking for someone new that I hadn't heard of before. After I read the first book by C.J. Box, I was hooked. In 2 months I purchased all of the Joe Pickett series books and read them.

    Mr. Box puts me in mind of LUIS LAMOURE. I love the descriptions of the Rockie Mountains and the parks that Mr. Box uses for his settings, his characters are all very believeable, and the tension in his stories is really thrilling. Whenever I've picked up one of the books I can hardly set it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    I couldn't put it down.

    We have read the whole series, but this is one I couldn't put down. When I told my husband that, he smiled, but found he couldn't stop reading either. C. J. Box puts out real tight stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Gut the hunter

    Joe Pickett, game warden, is tasked by the governor to arrest the person responsible for gutting hunters. We follow Joe as he investigates and pieces the puzzle together.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A truly great mystery

    This is the first CJ Fox novel that I have read,but I ordered all of his other books today. I could not put this book down, always another mystery ahead. This is just a great,great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2008

    Blood Trail is bloody great

    In my opinion, Joe Pickett is becoming one of the great characters of modern American crime fiction, approaching the likes of Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch and even James Lee Burke's Dave Robicheaux. All of them are strong but vulnerable, stubborn, idealistic, and singularly unimpressed with the bureaucrats and politicians they must sometimes answer to. They're also distinct renegades unafraid to buck the system when justice demands it. In 'Blood Trail', the eighth Joe Pickett novel, the Wyoming game warden is forced to work with his nemesis and so-called boss Randy Pope, the soulless head of the game and fish department who fired Pickett in 'In Plain Sight.' They're appointed by the governor to investigate a series of murders - including the gutted, flayed and beheaded body of a hunter found hanging in a tree - that may have been orchestrated by a fanatical anti-hunting activist. As always, CJ Box expertly evokes the beauty and majesty of his native Wyoming in 'Blood Trail', and also presents both sides of the hunting vs animal rights issue without intruding on the story. I think this is one of the more exciting Joe Pickett novels, and it is beautifully written to boot. Also recommended: 'A STRANGER LIES THERE' - winner of the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery, it features a vivid desert backdrop that should please fans of CJ Box's colorful Wyoming settings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    This was a very intrugueing read. It certainly did not fall short of the previous great title's from this wonderful author cj box. It has the mystery, drama, emotion and suspense that a great novel should have. It definitely will keep you guessing till the end and brings back some of the great past characters we've met. I have never read a better series of books in my life. I feel like i know joe pickett as if her were real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    Great book and great series. Another great story in that Joe and Nate save the day. It has a great new feature, it has the view from the side of the killer. Great Suspense and action. A must for a hunter, fisher, and outdoor lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3