Customer Reviews for

Blood Warrior

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Blood Warrior (The Alexa Montgomery Saga) by H.D. Gordon
A new author H.D. Gordon debut novel is worth picking up and reading. If you love PNR/UF then you will not be disappointed with this book. H.D. Gordon’s writing was very thought out and her words flowed and kept...
Blood Warrior (The Alexa Montgomery Saga) by H.D. Gordon
A new author H.D. Gordon debut novel is worth picking up and reading. If you love PNR/UF then you will not be disappointed with this book. H.D. Gordon’s writing was very thought out and her words flowed and kept me reading till late in the evening.

When I first opened the book it seemed it was about a lonely young woman who was living in a very abusive home. It talked about her mother hitting her and I had to remember what genre I was reading so of course I knew there was a reason.

We are introduced to her sister Nelly, her mother and her one and only friend Jackson. In a fight for their life’s Alexa finds out more about herself and why all the practicing she has done with her mother is going to come in very handy.

This story is full of suspense, mystery and of course has a few young men who are falling for Alexa; I would almost say it’s more than a love triangle as there are a few men introduced to the story. This book is a page turner and left me wanting more. I cannot wait for this saga to continue. As any new series we know we will have to wait for book two. I am hoping H.D. Gordon is writing as I type.

I would recommend this book to all my friends who love reading PNR.
I don’t give book 5 stars a lot, to be a book that rates 5 is a novel that one I can’t put down or stop thinking about. The writing was excellent and like I said I never put the book down. This novel deserved the 5 star rating.

posted by TanaT on January 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very well written, excellent book.

Blood Warrior by H.D. Gordon is about Alexa Montgomery, a 17 year old girl who is in no way a normal teenage girl. She has spent her entire life "practicing" with her mother. Practicing consists of training with her mother to become a strong and skilled fighter. Her mai...
Blood Warrior by H.D. Gordon is about Alexa Montgomery, a 17 year old girl who is in no way a normal teenage girl. She has spent her entire life "practicing" with her mother. Practicing consists of training with her mother to become a strong and skilled fighter. Her main focus is to protect and keep safe her sister Nelly. Alexa is sure that her mother and sister are hiding something from her, but does not know what. One night her home is attacked and she is forced to leave her mother behind to protect her sister. They travel to a new place called Two Rivers where Alexa finds out about a whole new world that her and her sister belong to.

I had heard lots of good things about this book, so I was excited to be able to receive a copy as part of the Read 2 Review program. I am very happy to say that this book did not disappoint. I thought that the characters were very well developed. The book has some similarities to Vampire Academy, but in my opinion does not detract from the book at all. Blood Warrior kept my attention throughout the entire book and I had a hard time putting it down when I needed to. I really enjoyed this book and I will definitely be getting the next one as soon as it is available. Thanks for the opportunity to read this H.D. Gordon!

posted by 10806860 on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I totally fell in love with the world H.D. Gordon has created. A

    I totally fell in love with the world H.D. Gordon has created. At the beginning of the book, H.D. tries to keep things a mystery and is only giving the reader glimpses of Alexa's life. We find out that she lives with her mother and her sister Nelly. You get the feeling that her mother's love is non existent and that she really doesn't interact much with her sister. Seems like mom favors Nelly while Alexa is pushed to train and train for no apparent reason. Alexa mentions that she is kept wearing sweats nursing bruises on her face while Nelly has all the new fashions and is always looking beautiful. The feeling right away is that there is mystery and something is off but you are just not sure what. You also get the sense that Alexa might be jealous of Nelly.

    Both Alexa and the reader find out simultaneously about the real world she was born into. Everyone finds out real quick that Alexa was born a warrior, is the last warrior, she must always protect her sister Nelly and NO ONE should be trusted because EVERYONE has secrets...

    I really felt this story was unique. This is not your typical Vampire/Werewolf story and I think H.D. Gordon did a great job in owning her version of vampires. Great plot and great character development. I think what I appreciated most with this book and the next one in the series was that although there were secrets you didn't have to wait forever to find out about them. It was fast paced and definitely filled with action. The action scenes weren't muddled. Feelings described were ones that you could easily identify with and not once did I think they were exaggerated but rang realistic. You see growth in Alexa and begin to understand her more and more throughout the book.

    There were a few discrepancies and inconsistencies but nothing major. For example remember when I mentioned before that there seemed to be some jealousy on Alexa's part? Well the jealousy coupled with the vague, heavy weirdness/sadness that's introduced in chapter one, made it hard for me to buy into this unconditional love Alexa has for her sister once all hell breaks loose. (And it does.)

    OH OH OH...the romance...Yes there is romance in this book! I'm not a huge fan of love triangles. I really don't know why so many authors use it...but they do. IMAGINE my surprise when in this book there is NOT a love triangle but a love QUADRANGLE! Yes folks, quadrangle is an actual word/thing.

    So finally we reach the end of my review with these parting words. I was left at WOW by the end of the book and that was such a nice surprise. I bought the next book right away and started my obsession with the author to see/find out all the deets on this series.

    In doing my research I find out that H.D. Gordon is an indie writer. I think I was most upset about the fact that 1. there aren't a lot of Goodreads reviews on this book, 2. not enough publicity for this wonderful series. Yes, about 1200 people have it on their TBR list and almost 400 people have reviewed the book but I think more people should read and hear about this book. I have read a few books in the last few months where they have been hyped up to the extreme and are not nearly as good or as creative as this book! I for one want to support indie writers especially if they are gifted. They don't have the man power that big publishing companies seem to be having so let's help them out.

    I hope you read this book end up loving it as much as me and then spread the word!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2012

    First things first. I want to thank TT for recommending this ser

    First things first. I want to thank TT for recommending this series to me and warning me that it is very addictive. This book is awesome and addictive.

    The story is very cool, original and quick to read. I was through it within hours and I want to start the second book as soon as I finish this review.
    H.D. Gordon's writing is great. She had me hooked to her story from beginning to end. Blood Warrior was funny, romantic at times, exciting, full of angst and adventure and just awesome.

    The characters are also awesome. I loved every single one of them. Just because they are so easy to love and you get to know them very well. Better then in some other books I've read. Alexa is badass and really cool. I love her loving, protective, stubborn, ... character. I have to add that I think her name is kind of original as well. Never came across it in books before, so. Thumbs up H.D.! I love every name actually. Nelly is the name of my grandmother (R.I.P.) and you don't often see it in books, certainly not among the main characters.

    What else can I say? I can't say anything negative about it, I really don't.

    5 out of 5 stars! It deserves every single one of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    Blood Warrior, a YA paranormal romance debut novel about a 17 ye

    Blood Warrior, a YA paranormal romance debut novel about a 17 year old girl who unbeknownst to her turns out to be the last of her kind and all those who surround her lay their hopes at her feet because she is their foretold savior. I received this book through an ARR program and I would like to congratulate and thank the author for the opportunity to read this book. I have had the pleasure of reading another book by this author and am pleased that her approach to honest storytelling does not change from series to series. In this particular book the storyline is refreshing and has a different view from the normal YA paranormal read I am accustomed to; adding social issues along the way making the story more complex. The author weaves her tale and acquaints us with the characters through the eyes of the main character, Alexa; whose honest indebted view towards her sister and others makes for a refreshing change from other protagonists in books. The storyline flows well throughout with the exception of a couple of instances where it is a little choppy and the format was a little off a one place, however it is the debut novel and it really did not take away from the book. I have to congratulate the author for her debut novel; I enjoyed reading this book and look forward to reading the continuation to this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Enjoyed it

    This book was pretty good. Liked it more than I thought I would once I really got into it. There were some typos and grammar things but overall was a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    After reading "Joe" by H.D. Gordon, I had to read this

    After reading "Joe" by H.D. Gordon, I had to read this book to see if it was as good. It turns out that it was even better. If you are looking for a book that will draw you in from the beginning and leave you wanting more, then this is the book for you.

    Alexa is a seventeen year old who has endured her mother's grueling training regimen which includes running miles to and from school with her younger sister and defensive training in the evening. All of this is to prepare her for the future, which she is confronted with when her family is attacked by vampires. Alexa escapes with her sister, running for their lives. Where will they go ,and who will they trust? She will find out that she is unique, a Warrior expected to save a world she didn't know existed. Will she be up to the task?

    The author is able to create a cast of characters that continue to develop as the story unfolds. I really enjoyed the mystery, intrigue and action in this book. I highly recommend it! I can't wait to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    must read paranormal

    This puts a new twist in supernatural world. Cant wait to stsrt book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    How long

    Seriously how long

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Awesome Can't wait for the next one!

    Awesome Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    LOVED this book!!! Alexa is a kick ass sister and friend!! The

    LOVED this book!!! Alexa is a kick ass sister and friend!! The fight scenes are great! Especially the one between Alexa and Victoria!!! LOVED it !!! LOL This book has everything vampires, gorgeous guys, shapeshifters, mind readers, warriors. Its like all the great paranormal books wrapped into one! One of those books when you finish the first you want to jump into the next one. :-) Cant wait to read book #2!!! Thank you HD Gordon!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Loved it

    This is one of the best books i've read in a long time. If you have not read this book you have to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Loved it!

    Very interesting read. I love the differences between the races and the tension/attraction between Lexi and Kayden!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Alexa

    Alexa is my name!!!!!! Hehehe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3