BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blood Work (Hollows Graphic Novel)

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Graphic Novel!

Graphic Novels are not my normal read. Most of my experience being comic books at a younger age. That said, I really enjoyed this book.
It takes us back in the Hollow series to when Rachel and Ivy first met on the job. They are at odds and trying to learn what the othe...
Graphic Novels are not my normal read. Most of my experience being comic books at a younger age. That said, I really enjoyed this book.
It takes us back in the Hollow series to when Rachel and Ivy first met on the job. They are at odds and trying to learn what the other has to offer.
I would definitely recommend to anyone reading the Hollow series.

posted by pen21 on July 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Free samples suck!

I have all the hollows books and will probably end up buying this one BUT I wanted to check out the style of art before buying , the free sample gives you nothing. I don,t know why they even offer free samples it usually ehds up like this no real example of what your ge...
I have all the hollows books and will probably end up buying this one BUT I wanted to check out the style of art before buying , the free sample gives you nothing. I don,t know why they even offer free samples it usually ehds up like this no real example of what your getting at least in a bookstore you can randomly flip through and get a taste of the books.

posted by Mordrose on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Free samples suck!

    I have all the hollows books and will probably end up buying this one BUT I wanted to check out the style of art before buying , the free sample gives you nothing. I don,t know why they even offer free samples it usually ehds up like this no real example of what your getting at least in a bookstore you can randomly flip through and get a taste of the books.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    Great Graphic Novel!

    Graphic Novels are not my normal read. Most of my experience being comic books at a younger age. That said, I really enjoyed this book.
    It takes us back in the Hollow series to when Rachel and Ivy first met on the job. They are at odds and trying to learn what the other has to offer.
    I would definitely recommend to anyone reading the Hollow series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Thumbs Up!

    I definitely enjoyed reading Kim's newest book. I had a hard time putting it down and even carried it in the kitchen. A must have!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This Hollows graphic novel is a great urban fantasy

    In Cincinnati, four decades since the Turn, Inderland Security polices the no-humans. Working for I.S. Ivy Tamwood is irate over her demotion from homicide to street cop and working for a low blood Denon the ghoul. She turns livid when Denon introduces her to her new partner Rachel Morgan the earth witch. Besides not wanting to work with a witch, Ivy also loathes babysitting the new runner.

    Denon assigns the pair with running down drug dealers. Under a bridge, Rachel talks with Sharps the troll about the nearby corpse of a werewolf. The hit looks like that of a master vampire. While Ivy says not their problem, Rachel insists they investigate. They get into a bit of a tangle and Ivy finds she wants to taste the witch's blood. However, Ivy knows she underestimates her newbie partner when the witch fights back and points out the killer is not a vamp bit a powerful witch. She further explains someone is using dark magic, but erred with the werewolf sacrifice in human form. The pair begins to investigate though knowing Denon will counsel them.

    This Hollows graphic novel is a great urban fantasy that tells the tale of the first meeting and patrol/case between the witch and the vampire. The story line contains the essence of the series, but enhanced by the excellent muted colored illustrations of Pedro Maia and Gemma Magno. Fans of the Hollows will appreciate Kim Harrison's wonderful first encounter as angry Ivy and goody two shoes Rachel bare their "fangs" at each other and some nasty inhuman slime.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Kind of disappointed

    Besides having a Simple Touch, I own a MacBook Pro and an iPad. I could not view this on either Apple device. I had to return the book, unread.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Joy

    I have a nook tablet. This graphic novel showed up well on it. However, I wasn't a big fan of the art in this book, it left a lot to be desired, more like soft porn. I also feel that the story line wasn't up to par. I won't purchase another Kim Harrison graphic novel. Hopefully I am not so jaded as to discontinue reading further novels by her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Ratchel is wanted, but not in a way she would like. From the first page it will be hard to put down.

    In this on going Gothic Action Adventure Ratchel Morgan has to decide what she will become as she relizes that being an earth witch is no longer an option. As her powers increase she has become a target and she relies on friends to help her escape yet again, this time from a sect of witches who are out for blood. Ratchels relationship with Trent becomes more confusing as he takes part in her protection. This book will leave you longing for the series to continue.

    Kim Harrison, we are waiting.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Fun read!

    Enjoyed this look into Rachel's earlier exploits.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2014

    Tease

    Just like the first five books of this series, this story gets you all worked up about Ivy and Rachele. But before you get too excited, they never get together. Nope, this is just a graphic novel adaption of the heated les-tease that the first four books gave us. Art is pretty good though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    I heard of the book series and started reading more graphic novels. This was interesting. I kind of like the art. Not bad but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Why is this not available on my Nook.... Very disappointing....

    Why is this not available on my Nook.... Very disappointing....

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2