Customer Reviews for

Blood Work (Terry McCaleb Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Blood Work

There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to ...
There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to say that Blood Work, so far, is my least favorite of Connelly's novels. Not that it was bad, because on a suspense and mystery level, my interests were always piqued. However, I found the character of McCaleb to be too much like Harry Bosch, even though Bosch is more developed because there are so much more books about him. Despite this one problem that I have about the book, I would recommend this book to all of those who love Connelly and mystery itself.

posted by McCarthy92 on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I normally like this genre and this author, but I found myself bored and skimming through the book early on. I finally just gave up. What a disappointment! Mad Cricket

posted by Madcricket on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Work

    There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to say that Blood Work, so far, is my least favorite of Connelly's novels. Not that it was bad, because on a suspense and mystery level, my interests were always piqued. However, I found the character of McCaleb to be too much like Harry Bosch, even though Bosch is more developed because there are so much more books about him. Despite this one problem that I have about the book, I would recommend this book to all of those who love Connelly and mystery itself.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Good read

    It was fun and worth the money and time, but I kept remembering the movie and expected the book to end the same way.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Another Classic Connelly Tale

    If you've seen the Clint Eastwood movie, the book is different. Early on it reads so similar to the movie (in fact often line for line), but it goes off in another direction with a different ending. I loved both the book and the movie. If you like Connelly, don't pass this one by.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Loved this book. Caught my attention from page one and hated to

    Loved this book. Caught my attention from page one and hated to see it end. I found myself actually wanting to know the characters. If you like mystery, you should definitely read this.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    Love all of Michael Connelly - This book was no exception

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Love Michael Connelly's work

    Saw the movie first and then read the book. Movie wasn't close to the book's full intent. Must have made the author a bit gun shy of allowing another of his works hit the big screen, although they did a much better job with The Lincoln Lawyer than I would have expected. Please Michael, protect Heironymus for all you are worth!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Connelly is one of the best.

    Read this after having read some of the Harry Bosch novels. Connelly has the ability to create different heroes with distinct personalities and maintain that distinction as he weaves them in and out of successive stories. The intersection of the characters' lives in various books adds interest and credibility to the series. Enjoyed this and am looking forward to more. So far, have never been disappointed with any of Connelly's books. I'd also recommend the Jack Reacher series by Lee Child.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MICHAEL CONNELLY'S BOOKS ARE LIKE RIDING A ROLLER COASTER!

    You're cautious about jumping on any new book, but when you open a Michael Connelly story, you hold on tight, take a deep breath, and forget to exhale until the ride is finished! I only have his first two books to find and read, I'm already rereading most of the others while I wait for the local library to get to me on a very long wait list for the 9th Dragon! If I had a job I would buy every one of his books and keep as prized possessions. In a personal life that is sometimes sadly overwhelming, his books keep me going, and going. BLOODWORK is gripping!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2004

    Mind-Blowing Thriller

    I can't believe how much I enjoyed this book. I was riveted to it from start to finish. I finished it in only two sittings because I couldn't stop turning the pages. You are constantly trying to guess whodunit, but when you reach the end...I won't spoil anything for you, but let me tell you this one-word, UNBELIEVABLE! This book is one heck of a ride.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2003

    Justice Delivered

    Michael Connelly delivers a riveting story of vengeance in BLOOD WORK. Connelly successfully puts the reader into the mind of the main protagonist, ex-FBI agent and profiler Terrell McCaleb, as McCaleb goes methodically through his investigative paces to uncover clues to solve three brutal cold-blooded murders by a souless, evil killer. Though slowed by his recent heart transplant surgery, McCaleb turns relentless in his quest to hunt down a murderer that he considers the embodiment of evil. McCaleb understandably re-enters crimefighting with some initial trepidations, despite his connection to one of the victims, but caution gives way to accelerating action when he discovers that he also has a macabre link to the villian. If you found vicarious satisfaction in John "Lilly" Lelankevitch's merciless crime-fighting spree in the novel, EVIL, BE GONE, then you'll also get caught up in Connelly's BLOOD WORK!---Robert John Estko, the author of EVIL, BE GONE

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Second Half of the Book is a Page Turner

    Connelly's books are genuinely good. As with all of his books (and some other authors) the first half is establishing the character. The second half is taut and captivating. This one followed the same suit. It took me several weeks to go through the first half. It is not as quick as patterson or cornwell. But it gradually built steam until it reached a crescendo. The ending was very good. Did not see it coming, at least the "first" ending. The conclusion was a bit predictable.
    Loved the premise of the flawed protagonist. A former FBI agent who had his heart replacement surgery via a donated from a woman who was tragically killed in a store hold up. He is guilted by the victim's sister in to looking in to her murder. After just having his surgery months before he is guilted in to accepting. Along the way we find the typical characters: the arrogant and uncooperative police, The bulldozing FBI., The sympathetic insider, the potential love interest and the side kick for comic relief.
    So far read three of his introductions for his characters, Terry McCaleb the FBI agent, Harry Bosch, the cop and Mickey Haller the defense attorney (who gets a nod in this book). I liked the Mickey Haller initial outing better. But I like this author enough to continue. His books that introduce his characters can be long winded but it allows for character development. So as they grow we see the growth and see them maturing fleshing them out.
    His characters are a bit grittier than Patterson's. They do not read as quickly as Patterson's. But they are just as enjoyable.
    Looking forward to the second books for each character.

    -JReed2430

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Fang

    Nodds

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Boring

    I normally like this genre and this author, but I found myself bored and skimming through the book early on. I finally just gave up. What a disappointment!
    Mad Cricket

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    my 1st M.Connelly book

    I really liked this thriller (wasnt scarey} just kept ya guessing and my husband told me this was made into a movie and Clint Eastwood was Terry McCaleb (in which I havent seen the movie) but it so fits a Clint Eastwood charactor. I cant wait to read the next one in this series.and see the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Exciting

    I absoultely love anything Michael Connelly writes. I think my favorite was Lincoln Lawyer. This was not a disappointment. FBI agent McCaleb's character kept me glued to this book. I just love that guy. I sure would not have expected the ending to be what it was. Who would have tought of this plot. I am thinking, could this really happen out there in the "real world"? With the right contacts, maybe. This is one exciting book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    The Book is Great - Stay Away From the Movie

    I loved 'Blood Work' - my first introduction to Terry McCaleb after spending the last year or so following the adventures of Connelly's other main man, Harry Borsch. But I need to warn anyone thinking of seeing the movie version. The liberties that Clint Eastwood took with this great story were totally inexcusable and downright painful to watch. On second thought, since misery does love company, go see it!!! You will not believe which of Connelly's characters the screenwriter decided to make the killer - I'm still annoyed thinking about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Great read as always!

    I love all Michael Connelly's work. This book is no exception. He always leaves me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    I love all of Michael Connelly's books!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Very good read!

    I truly enjoyed Blood Work by Michael Connelly. Cool twists and turns in the plot. Interesting. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I had a hard time putting this book down. So happy that Michael

    I had a hard time putting this book down. So happy that Michael Connelly had started another character who puts you right into the suspense and mystery that Terry McCaleb has to get involved with. I highly recommend it and hope there are more Terry McCaleb books to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9