Customer Reviews for

Blood Work (Terry McCaleb Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(60)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Blood Work

There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to ...
There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to say that Blood Work, so far, is my least favorite of Connelly's novels. Not that it was bad, because on a suspense and mystery level, my interests were always piqued. However, I found the character of McCaleb to be too much like Harry Bosch, even though Bosch is more developed because there are so much more books about him. Despite this one problem that I have about the book, I would recommend this book to all of those who love Connelly and mystery itself.

posted by McCarthy92 on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I normally like this genre and this author, but I found myself bored and skimming through the book early on. I finally just gave up. What a disappointment! Mad Cricket

posted by Madcricket on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood Work

    There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to say that Blood Work, so far, is my least favorite of Connelly's novels. Not that it was bad, because on a suspense and mystery level, my interests were always piqued. However, I found the character of McCaleb to be too much like Harry Bosch, even though Bosch is more developed because there are so much more books about him. Despite this one problem that I have about the book, I would recommend this book to all of those who love Connelly and mystery itself.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Good read

    It was fun and worth the money and time, but I kept remembering the movie and expected the book to end the same way.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Another Classic Connelly Tale

    If you've seen the Clint Eastwood movie, the book is different. Early on it reads so similar to the movie (in fact often line for line), but it goes off in another direction with a different ending. I loved both the book and the movie. If you like Connelly, don't pass this one by.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Exciting

    I absoultely love anything Michael Connelly writes. I think my favorite was Lincoln Lawyer. This was not a disappointment. FBI agent McCaleb's character kept me glued to this book. I just love that guy. I sure would not have expected the ending to be what it was. Who would have tought of this plot. I am thinking, could this really happen out there in the "real world"? With the right contacts, maybe. This is one exciting book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    The Book is Great - Stay Away From the Movie

    I loved 'Blood Work' - my first introduction to Terry McCaleb after spending the last year or so following the adventures of Connelly's other main man, Harry Borsch. But I need to warn anyone thinking of seeing the movie version. The liberties that Clint Eastwood took with this great story were totally inexcusable and downright painful to watch. On second thought, since misery does love company, go see it!!! You will not believe which of Connelly's characters the screenwriter decided to make the killer - I'm still annoyed thinking about it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Very good read!

    I truly enjoyed Blood Work by Michael Connelly. Cool twists and turns in the plot. Interesting. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I had a hard time putting this book down. So happy that Michael

    I had a hard time putting this book down. So happy that Michael Connelly had started another character who puts you right into the suspense and mystery that Terry McCaleb has to get involved with. I highly recommend it and hope there are more Terry McCaleb books to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Worth the read!

    Started slow, but picked up and ended up being a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    good story, nice twists

    nice beach read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Grabbed my interest from the beginning

    I enjoyed reading this book from the very beginning. I liked the characters and was invested to see how it turned out. I did feel like it was just a little bit too long. I thought everything was winding up and then there would be a twist and the story would continue. Will probably get the next book to see where Terry goes from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    The story seemed to be a little watered down.

    I enjoyed the story enough so that I would read the next book in that series but if it didn't improve, I would probably not bother getting number 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    terrific

    A great read. Keeps you interested all the way through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Recommend

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Very Good so far

    I am really enjoying this book, haven't finish it yet, but so far has kept me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Great new series

    Lookinf forward to next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Its ok

    Its ok but it gets boring sometimes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Recommend

    I would like to see more Terry McCaleb books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Terrific reading - it's definitely a page turner!

    Another Michael Connelly work that is well written and keeps you turning the pages. A mystery to be solved with a few light moments.
    Entertaining for the mystery lovers and fans of Michael Connelly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    Meeting Terry McCaleb

    I love Harry Bosch, and in one of the Harry books, Terry was introduced.
    I was very pleased to get introduced to Terry via this book. I am a Michael Connelly fan and addict. Since I discovered him via a gift, I've gobbled up all his books except two. And now I'm waiting for the new book due in May. The actual "blood work" in the story is fascinating.
    A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    Blood Work

    Blood Work<BR/><BR/>Terrell McCaleb is a famous detective, but a massive heart attack just as he is about to catch a crazed serial killer forces him to an early retirement. Fast-forward a bit and McCaleb has received a new heart from a woman who has recently passed away. Slowly, but surely McCaleb's body is accepting the new organ and it appears that a healthy recovery is imminent. Things change though as Graciella Rivers pays McCaleb a visit one day and explains that his new heart come has from her younger sister, a woman who was killed in a convenient store. Quickly it becomes crystal clear that the killer in the store is in fact the same man who eluded McCaleb earlier. Now McCaleb is back one last time with a score to settle. Through McCaleb¿s journey he has to indulge a pesky neighbor who wants to assist in the case, dodge cops, and convince doctor that he can help. This story has its twists and turns along the way but in the end it all becomes clear.<BR/><BR/>Overall this book is a very good murder mystery/thriller and keeps the reader engaged almost the whole time. There is some dead spots but that is expected and for the most part the book is well written. I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a good read and even to someone who does not enjoy this particular genre. I think that the characters are well created and developed well and there is more to it than your typical murder mystery. There are components to this story that give the reader a complete sense of what is going on and what the characters feel and at the end a complete sense of fufuillment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3