Customer Reviews for

Blood Work (Terry McCaleb Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 173 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Blood Work

There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to ...
There are two things that I feel about Michael Connelly (1) he's my favorite mystery writer and (2) it's impossible for me to pick a favorite of his (I have been reading his books in chronological order and I just finished Blood Work, obviously). However, it's safe to say that Blood Work, so far, is my least favorite of Connelly's novels. Not that it was bad, because on a suspense and mystery level, my interests were always piqued. However, I found the character of McCaleb to be too much like Harry Bosch, even though Bosch is more developed because there are so much more books about him. Despite this one problem that I have about the book, I would recommend this book to all of those who love Connelly and mystery itself.

posted by McCarthy92 on September 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I normally like this genre and this author, but I found myself bored and skimming through the book early on. I finally just gave up. What a disappointment! Mad Cricket

posted by Madcricket on April 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I had a hard time putting this book down. So happy that Michael

    I had a hard time putting this book down. So happy that Michael Connelly had started another character who puts you right into the suspense and mystery that Terry McCaleb has to get involved with. I highly recommend it and hope there are more Terry McCaleb books to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Outstanding, interesting. Very good.

    Michael Connelly writes a very interesting story. I don't read much, but can't put the book down.
    My wife read the book first and now I mention different things and she can relate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    One of Connelly's Best Books.

    I have enjoyed reading Michael Connelly's recent books, but I had not read any of his earlier works. I started reading all of his novels in order, beginning with the Harry Bosch books. Blood Work introduces a new character, Terry McCaleb, and I found the story to be suspenseful and very believable, which has been true of the Harry Bosch and Mickey Haller novels. I look forward to seeing Terry McCaleb in future works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Worth the read!

    Started slow, but picked up and ended up being a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    A man

    Lucas come to family result 1 sorry that the one message doesmt say your name but your included

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Read!!

    "Really liked this book! (Terry McCaleb Series). I missed the movie with Clint Eastwood (my favorite actor), so plan on viewing it as well! When Graciella Rivers steps onto his boat, ex-FBI agent Terrell McCaleb has no idea he's about to come out of retirement. He's recuperating from a heart transplant and avoiding anything stressful. But when Graciella tells him the way her sister Gloria was murdered, it leaves Terry no choice. Now the man with the new heart vows to take down a predator without a soul. For Gloria's killer shatters every rule that McCaleb ever learned in his years with the Bureau--as McCaleb gets no more second chances at life...and just one shot at the truth."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Wolfeh

    Fangeh.......hai......*he appears behind her and kisses her neck*

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    good story, nice twists

    nice beach read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2012

    Grabbed my interest from the beginning

    I enjoyed reading this book from the very beginning. I liked the characters and was invested to see how it turned out. I did feel like it was just a little bit too long. I thought everything was winding up and then there would be a twist and the story would continue. Will probably get the next book to see where Terry goes from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Slow paced

    This book seemed to drag on and on. I would not recommend to anyone who enjoys fast paced suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Recommended highly, as I recommend all Michael Connelly's books!

    I vote for Michael Connelly every time. He writes a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    The story seemed to be a little watered down.

    I enjoyed the story enough so that I would read the next book in that series but if it didn't improve, I would probably not bother getting number 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    terrific

    A great read. Keeps you interested all the way through

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Excellent Choice

    Exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Recommend

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Very Good so far

    I am really enjoying this book, haven't finish it yet, but so far has kept me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    CD/abridged/thriller: The first book of the Terry McCaleb serie

    CD/abridged/thriller: The first book of the Terry McCaleb series. Clint Eastwood played McCaleb in the movie. It’s the story of a former FBI profiler who has recently had a heart transplant. The sister of the donor comes to him wanting McCaleb to find her murderer. I had my doubts at first, but it ended up being okay.
    Dick Hill narrated the story. I was weary about that too because I had just finished a Dick Hill audio last week and I didn’t know if I could stand it. But this was done years ago before he became over melodramatic. Three stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Excellent as always

    Connelly is the most genious author there is. I love every one of his books. Blood Work was excellent, a real "edge of your seat" book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Another great book!

    You can't go wrong with a Michael Connolly book! He is definitely one of my favorite authors, and should be one of yours if you like great cop stories!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    A mystery with a unique motive

    Blood Work by Michael Connelly has one of the more unique premises I have come across for a mystery story -- a former FBI agent looking who received a heart transplant looking to find the killer of his heart donor. Though I had a hunch who the killer was, I had no idea about the motive and had several surprises along the way in discovering the motive and seeing if I was right in my initial guess. Overall, a good read for anyone who loves a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 173 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9