Customer Reviews for

Blood and Beauty: The Borgias

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

I am reading this book now. I only wish I didn't work so I could stay home and just read. It is fabulous. I have read many of Sarah Dunant's books and liked them very much.

posted by 17581710 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

The two 5 star ratings on 7/16 were from nookie/texters. So sad

The two 5 star ratings on 7/16 were from nookie/texters. So sad. They have no life-can't seem to talk to each other in real time. Quit giving ratings - you are throwing the entire book review process into the trash. Everyone else - please flag all texting postings -...
The two 5 star ratings on 7/16 were from nookie/texters. So sad. They have no life-can't seem to talk to each other in real time. Quit giving ratings - you are throwing the entire book review process into the trash. Everyone else - please flag all texting postings - report as inappropriate on every book review you look at - report as not helpful so the review goes to the bottom of the page - do something - notify Barnes & Noble. Get their attention that the review process is warped - most of the books reviewed are not equal to the 5 star or 1 star rating the texters give out. Nook people - at least read the book or even an excerpt and then give a rating.

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Historical Facts are Interesting

    This book was selected by a member of my book club. Due to the various and foreign aspects coupled with a lot of unusual names it makes for a rather hard read. So far most of my book club members don't care for it as much as I do. If you're looking for light easy reading I wouldn't recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    More great historical fiction by Sarah Dunant

    Have thoroughly enjoyed all of her books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Love this book!

    I am reading this book now. I only wish I didn't work so I could stay home and just read. It is fabulous. I have read many of Sarah Dunant's books and liked them very much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Marissa || Aphrodite Cabin

    She woke up, exhausted. She changed into sperri's, shorts, and a CHB T-Shirt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rodrigo Borgia, a noble of Spanish descent, in 1492 wins a major

    Rodrigo Borgia, a noble of Spanish descent, in 1492 wins a majority of votes carefully cultivated among the College of Cardinals, the vote that would mandate the rest of his life be spent as Pope Alexander VI.  Totally besotted with his own children, Juan, Cesare, and Lucrezia, and endeared to his former and present lover, Alexander will spend the remainder of his life manipulating, severing and unifying the bonds of these faithless and troubled children.  One can imagine what it was like to technically not exist as the children of a Pope and yet to live in the opulent lifestyle of what seemed like limitless power of the Borgia clan. 
    The Borgias have as many enemies as supporters and it’s Alexander’s job to keep his finger on the pulse of the yet to be enacted secret plots.  While this is happening, Juan and Cesare barely tolerate each other and Juan’s amorous escapades are the talk of Rome.  Cesare has received a church position but yearns for the life of a military strategist and campaigner.  Alexander is trying to secure marriage betrothals for his children, all meant to secure the loyalty of both friends and enemies.  For Italy is divided as city-states war with each other, and France has its eye on exploiting the divisions for its own gain.  
    A violent death and a serious illness temporarily devastates Alexander and gradually Lucrezia inwardly despises her family for using her as a marital tool and a not very effective one at heading off future conflicts within and outside of Rome.  Revenge must wait while the all-out war Cesare wages for his father occurs.  The outcome is devastating for so many and stifles all doubts of the strength of the Borgia clan, including another female warrior leader formerly respected for her indomitable fierceness and military successes.  Yes, there is blood, beauty, lust, violence, murder, disease and enough verbal altercations to keep the reader rapidly flipping the pages to the very last word.  
    Blood and Beauty is a classic work of historical fiction written in the style of an embellished, thrilling account.  The novel also includes vivid descriptions of the gorgeous art and architecture of Rome, especially within Vatican City.  The unique quality of this story lies in changes wrought by Pope Alexander VI and his Borgia family in an extremely troubled time in Italian history.  Rome at this time was a dirty, dangerous city that slowly evolved into the magnificent cultural and sacred icon.  The author presents the immorality of the Borgias without commentary which this reader finds leads to some interesting reflection on how the Catholic Church operated in the 15th and 16th centuries.  The writing is handled so deftly that one almost unconsciously dismisses the “right/wrong” issues because one is so caught up with the machinations of Alexander and Cesare Borgia, not knowing how each scenario will unfold!  
    Sarah Dunant is a superb author of historical fiction.  Blood and Beauty is a memorable, phenomenal account of one of the most notable and infamous families in world history.  Highly, highly recommended – and there is more Borgia impact to come which this reviewer eagerly anticipates!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Bloodstar

    Here

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    I really enjoyed this historical fiction. It was well-researched

    I really enjoyed this historical fiction. It was well-researched and really brought the Borgia Italy to life with flourish while maintaining an almost biographical tone. The prose is gorgeous and the intermixing of present and past tenses is seamless and easy. This was my first novel by Sarah Dunant, and I'm excited to pick up her other novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Cc to ice

    May i join?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Darcy

    Can i join?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Ice

    Yes. Main camp is res 2.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    This book was exquisitely written, with historical characters th

    This book was exquisitely written, with historical characters the Borgias, who were brought to life vividly. This is not a light book to read in an afternoon, it  requires that the reader read every word and every sentence. The pictures created by those words were superb. One of the richest historical novels I have read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Midnight

    She froze then dissapereaed

    0 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1