Customer Reviews for

Blood and Bullets (Deacon Chalk: Occult Bounty Hunter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of the best urban fantasy books I've read in a long time!

Deacon Chalk is a monster hunter. Ever since vampires killed his family, he has made it his mission to kill all monsters that hunt on the innocents. He keeps his city safe and his hollow-point and back-from-the-dead abilities help him take out any kind of supernatural t...
Deacon Chalk is a monster hunter. Ever since vampires killed his family, he has made it his mission to kill all monsters that hunt on the innocents. He keeps his city safe and his hollow-point and back-from-the-dead abilities help him take out any kind of supernatural threat.

posted by 1647675 on February 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Bad

Out of 14 reviews 7 are plot spoilers. Why do you plot spoiling posters feel the need to ruin a book for others? We do not care that you got the book for free. Stop revealing every detail and dissecting every plot point. We can read and would actually prefer to read a b...
Out of 14 reviews 7 are plot spoilers. Why do you plot spoiling posters feel the need to ruin a book for others? We do not care that you got the book for free. Stop revealing every detail and dissecting every plot point. We can read and would actually prefer to read a book for ourselves, not have you ppl ruin it for us. If you want to write dissertations and dissect every sentence, join a web site, start a blog, but please stop ruining books for the rest of us.

posted by 8888649 on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    action packed excellence

    I would like to thank, as always, R2R and the author for giving me a copy to read for a review :)

    First I would like to say that if you like a great fantasy ride filled with action and fun weapons, this one is for you! Also, I have a thing for writing in the guys perspective. I love a strong female heroine but it's a rare treat when you hear from a dude :) now, on to the review...

    I liked this book, alot. First, you have a guy, who's big, bad, scary, kills things, but still has a conscience! Ohhh and he's got tattoos, lots of 'em!! That's hot! He is a bounty hunter to kill the things that go bump in the night, and he's good at what he does. And he's not a man-whore hahaha sorry, I should bleep that out :) his main hunt this time are vampires. And he has some awesome HUMAN backup :) I like this too. I also like that there are some non-human characters that are good at heart and he chooses to leave them be.

    The writing is done in a way that you can picture every shot, kick, punch, scream, smell. It flows very well, and it's like an action movie, you are excited and feel the tension. And I love the supporting characters that were created, they have as much of my heart as the main character does. And the bad guy(s), well you'll understand when you read :)

    The main character, Deacon, is strong both physically and mentally, but has his soft spots and I love this. He's willing to sacrifice his life to save others, and he is very adamant about that. He's also sometimes the typical man with protecting women, but he's cool about it :)

    I have only one negative thing, and it's not really negative, but sometimes it was a little long winded. I understand that some things need describing and if there isn't enough then it leaves the reader confused or lost or empty. However, it was just in a few cases and by the middle I was way too invested to care, and most of the details were already described. This did not have a negative effect on me wanting to continue reading.

    Overall, this is a really good book, especially if you are like me, with favoring fantasy, on the darker side, without much romantic activity :) its gets 4 PAWS from me :)

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    Fast and gritty! Deacon Chalk is a monster hunter. No, he doesn

    Fast and gritty!

    Deacon Chalk is a monster hunter. No, he doesn’t have a show on Animal Planet or Discovery Channel. He is an Occult Bounty Hunter and ever since a Nephilim killed his family, turning his life upside down, he’s been open for business. His first job was killing the Nephilim and for five years he’s been successful at his job. You can hire him to hunt down a monster and he’ll get the job done or die trying. And he’s not afraid to die because when he does he can be with his family again. The only thing is he’s kinda hard to kill. When he was hunting down the Nephilim he rescued an Angel and during that rescue he died only to have her save him with her essence. So…now he’s more than human, hard to kill and hates the monsters. Let the extermination begin.

    Fast-moving with a good plot and well-fleshed characters I very much enjoyed this first book in the Deacon Chalk series. The world building was smooth and the world is interesting. Very reminiscent of Anita Blake and I love that series. Yes, I still do even though it’s a very different series today than when it started. Anyway, it is like Anita Blake yet not. I liked this different angle of how the real world isn’t what we thought it was. There really are monsters and they don’t hang out under the bed. At least, none that I’ve noticed yet in the series. The monsters are out there mixing with the humans and almost all of them are up to no good.

    I can’t wait to read more of this series. I love fast-paced books that sweep me along with them and refuse to let me put them down.

    *The publisher provided a copy of this book to me for review. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    A straight forwarrd a urban Fantasy that had me wanting more...

    A straight forwarrd a urban Fantasy that had me wanting more... Our
    Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION's Pack Alpha, Michelle L. Olson: I am an
    Urban Fantasy lover. While I adore my Paranormal Romance and Eroticas,
    there is just something about a dark, gritty, Urban Fantasy series with
    a wicked arc, some snarky dialogue, and a bunch of kick a** characters
    that tweaks my inner Fangirl. With that said, when my blog partner
    found James R, Tuck, she immediately said "I really think you'll
    like this one, it sounds like it's right up your alley...". She was
    most definitely right! Blood and Bullets is actually the 2nd story of
    the Deacon Chalk, Occult Bounty Hunter series, with That Thing at the
    Zoo (a novella) being our introduction to the world. Deacon is an
    ex-tattoo artist who has lost his family to monsters and with it his
    will to live. Being a man of strong faith, however, he refuses to just
    lay down and die, and decides that the quickest way for him to be
    reunited with his loved ones is to throw himself into the fray with the
    monsters that ruined his life, and go out swingin', and the way he tells
    us his story is so 'real' and heartfelt, you get lost in the narrative
    immediately. A man who owns a strip club and has a deep seeded love for
    his weapons, music, and his car - yes, a real man's man - Deacon is a
    wonderful hero and you can't help but fall in love with him. He actually
    reminds me of my own tattoo artist, Uncle Johnny from A&E's Inked; a
    big ol' shaved headed teddy bear with a heart of gold and an iron will.
    :) Deacon's supporting cast is wonderful as well. He has an honest to
    goodness chain smoking, whiskey drinking priest, a petite little techno
    wiz chiquita who not only runs the strip club but organizes the hunts,
    and some 'others' who start out as allies, but end up as some great
    friends. In a battle to defeat a very old entity, Deacon and gang are
    thrown into one confrontation after another, and James takes the reader
    on an adrenaline fueled thrill ride full of danger, beautifully twisted
    and woven history, and oh yes... Plenty of blood and bullets. I was
    utterly engrossed in the story, and upon completion, couldn't wait to
    dig into Blood and Silver (the 2nd full length story of the series).
    LITERAL ADDICTION gives Blood and Bullets 4 Skulls and would recommend
    it to all book lovers who like their heroes 'balls to the wall', their
    fantasy dark, gritty, action packed, & thrilling, & their
    narrative sarcastic, acerbic and genuine.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Synopsis: He lives to kill monsters. He keeps his city safe. And

    Synopsis:
    He lives to kill monsters. He keeps his city safe. And his silver hollow-points and back-from-the-dead abilities help him take out any kind of supernatural threat. But now an immortal evil has this bad-ass bounty hunter dead in its sights. . .
    Ever since a monster murdered his family, Deacon Chalk hunts any creature that preys on the innocent. So when a pretty vampire girl "hires" him to eliminate a fellow slayer, Deacon goes to warn him—and barely escapes a vampire ambush. Now he's got a way-inexperienced newbie hunter to protect and everything from bloodsuckers to cursed immortals on his trail. There's also a malevolent force controlling the living and the undead, hellbent on turning Deacon's greatest loss into the one weapon that could destroy him. . .


    I've recently seen this book being promoted and advertised on a few different book blog sites I frequented, and I was intrigued. And not just the cover, (Deacon is a beast) the synopsis got my interest as well.


    Deacon Chalk had a normal life 5 years ago, he was a successful tattoo artist with a family, it was more or less perfect. Until his wife and daughter were killed, after that Deacon left the tattoo life and turned monster hunter. Not too much detail is given in the first book about what happened exactly, and I'm hoping that in later books we will be told more about this.


    Deacon seem to come across as a total bad-ass and could care less about those around him, but he's just the opposite. As the owner of a strip club called Polecats, he is fiercely protective of the girls that work there, most of whom are girls that he saved from demons, were creatures or vampires. He cares for the girls like a father dotes on his daughter (not in a creepy over-sexed kind of way). He looks out for them and makes sure that they are protected to the point that each girl has her own gun and cross for protection in case the club is ever under attack. Not to mention the bartender, who happens to be a priest, ready to lay the righteous smack-down on any offenders.


    The book starts off with Deacon being confronted by a young female vampire that reminds him of his dead daughter. She comes to Deacon asking for help against another vampire hunter called "Nyteblade". Deacon gets the info about Nyteblade and chooses to check it out, only to find out it was a trap. Deacon's not too happy about this and questions Nyteblade to see what he knows about this. Unfortunately Nyteblade has no idea either and Deacon sets off to find out who is behind this and why they want him dead. There is a lot of action and gun fights from this point on in the book.


    I found a few flaws with this book, which I'm hoping will be fixed by the time the second book is out. There were a few parts that I found highly repetitive in the course of only a few chapters. I don't think there really needs to be a full replay of all the guns and the types of bullets that are used two chapters apart from each other. Also the description of how Deacon looks with all his tattoos is not something that needs to be re-described two chapters apart either, you just need to look at the cover to get a basic idea of how he looks.


    At the end of Blood And Bullets there is a 9 page sneak peek into the next book Blood And Silver, I chose not to read it just yet, seeing as how the second book will be here in August.

    If you don't mind reading an Urban Fantasy that is more focused on muscle and gun-fire over magic and spells I highly recommend checking this book out.

    I'm giving Blood And Bullets 3.5 stars, hoping there will be less repetitive info in the next book. ~DD~

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    3.5 Stars for this new action packed series! Monsters need not

    3.5 Stars for this new action packed series!

    Monsters need not apply! Deacon Chalk lost everything the night his entire family was killed by your kind. Now with nothing left to lose, he lives to hunt you. He is a bounty hunter with a little extra, and that little extra is going to take you down.

    Deacon is one big strong scary looking man. Humans and monsters alike fear him. He is a no nonsense man that protects the innocent. After losing his family, he changed completely. He closed his tattoo parlor and opened a strip club. It’s not your normal strip club either. All employees have been touched by the evil of monsters and now they are a family. Brought together by circumstances that was out of their control. Deacon may be the head of this ragtag group, but he works alone.

    Now there is a new force in town; one that even has the monsters looking over their shoulders. From the first strike to the last, Deacon will not stop until it has been destroyed. Even if it the last thing he ever does.

    This is urban fantasy that takes no prisoners. The monsters are evil and must be stopped, PERIOD, and Deacon is the perfect hero to do it. Blood and Bullets is a story told in Deacon’s point of view. He has a very strong personality and voice, but you can feel his pain and commitment coming through. This is a man with a mission and you best stay the heck out of his way. My favorite line in the book is; “And vampires never sparkle unless they just ate a stripper.” I literally cracked up. It was just perfect.

    I enjoyed reading about Deacon and his kick-butt crew. These characters live in an ugly world, but they have each other and will die to protect it. The action is intense and messy. I like to get down and dirty and Blood and Bullets is just the book to take me there.

    I liked the gritty and dark feeling to the story and the razor sharp edge. While Mr. Tuck was repetitive at times in regards to explanations of guns, cars and such; I still found the overall story well written and exciting. Now that the world building is done, he can blow us away with his dark take of the underworld.

    Blood and Bullets is a great start to a new series. I can see great potential in this series and I can’t wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Good read

    This was a solid read. I liked the Deacon Chalk character and really liked the supporting cast. Fast read about 230 pages with shades of early Anita Blake. I am definately going to pick up book 2 to see where this series goes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    270 pages. Entertaining with a main cast that you will become at

    270 pages. Entertaining with a main cast that you will become attached to. Lots of action. Along the same lines as Dresden Files, but needs more work to have the wit and ease of writing that Butcher has. Worth the money. I am getting ready to read number two (or three if you could the prequel novella).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Fanasy Series Anyone?

    This is a good read with a well thought out main character. This is first in a series and deals mainly with vampires, but it is about an occult bounty hunter, so I am sure subsequent installments will be about other supernatural baddies. Read this if you like Sandman Slim, Iron Druid Chronicles or Dresden files.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Watch Out for the Deacon!

    Simply put, "Blood and Bullets" is one helluva ride! Mega action, mega thriller, mega suspense. This book reminded me of those old detective movies (i.e., Humphrey Bogart) from back in the day. You can picture everything in your mind as Deacon does first-person narrative on what's going on in his world; it's that descriptive. As I finished up the book, lyrics from a popular song from the 70's kept creeping into my mind:

    "You know this cat 'Chalk' is a bad mother...
    (shut your mouth!)
    Well, I'm talking 'bout 'Chalk'
    (and we can dig it!)"

    He's a complicated man,
    But no one understands him but his woman...
    'Deacon Chalk'!" LOL

    I swear, this book was cool! I thoroughly enjoyed the references to other series and movie/comic book characters (all of whom I've read in the past). Kudos to James Tuck (author) for the props he gave! The only reasons I didn't give it a 5-star rating are because:

    1. There were some font problems in the text. If you're going to have an action-packed book like this, ya gotta have your fonts (and vampires) straight. Excellent with the blood-suckers; not so much on the fonts.

    2. The book needed one more pass-through with proofreading. There were a few spelling errors that could probably be corrected with 1 more proofing of the book.

    3. Deacon was just a tad bit repetitious. Deacon is a serious dude...check. Deacon loves his family...check. Deacon is a thrilla vampire-killa...check and check. I got it; no need to beat me over the head with it. LOL

    Other than that, I'm waiting on the next book in the series, to see what happens in Deac's world next. If it's anything like this first one, I'm going to enjoy it immensely. Thanks Mr. Tuck, for creating one baaaaaaaad man!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1