Customer Reviews for

Blood and Chocolate

Average Rating 4.5
( 750 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(504)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Chocolate...Defintely!

I can officially say that this is my all time favorite fiction book (so far). Vivian Gandillon is just an ordinary girl...kind of. You see, Vivian is part werewolf and she thinks her werewolf form is beautiful. Others would differ. Then Vivian meets Aiden and she thinks...
I can officially say that this is my all time favorite fiction book (so far). Vivian Gandillon is just an ordinary girl...kind of. You see, Vivian is part werewolf and she thinks her werewolf form is beautiful. Others would differ. Then Vivian meets Aiden and she thinks he will finally be the one to understand. Aiden is fascinated by magic and fictional characters but Vivian isn't fictional. As Vivian realizes that she's falling for Aiden that its best if she told him. Ha ha. Aiden apparently misinterprets what she meant by "Show him something beautiful.". After vivian shows him her true colors, well, Aiden freaks. Now that she showed him and that he didn't understand her pack was easily at risk. Of anything and everything. After Aiden says that he wants to talk to her she realizes he's in trouble, but as she tries to warn him, she realizes she's in even more trouble than Aiden.
I loved this book it was amazing. I don't expect the movie to live up to the book. After reading Blood and Chocolate I really want to read The Silver Kiss. Annette Klause is an amazing author because she fits how teens are with fiction and love and thrill and the whole package tucked into an amazing book.

posted by TeenReaderIL on March 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

What...?

This has to be one of the most shallow books I've ever read. The main character wasn't likeable at all, and every other character was totally inconsistant. One second she is disgusted with her mom, the next they're both going to get a beer at the bar. And Aiden turns in...
This has to be one of the most shallow books I've ever read. The main character wasn't likeable at all, and every other character was totally inconsistant. One second she is disgusted with her mom, the next they're both going to get a beer at the bar. And Aiden turns into a complete wimp...I mean, what gives? Also, it seems like the author was trying to use as many cuss words as possible--not to mention everything else. In all, this book was an absolute flop, and I'd recommend you read something from the better urban fantasy writers, like Charles de Lint.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 752 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Chocolate...Defintely!

    I can officially say that this is my all time favorite fiction book (so far). Vivian Gandillon is just an ordinary girl...kind of. You see, Vivian is part werewolf and she thinks her werewolf form is beautiful. Others would differ. Then Vivian meets Aiden and she thinks he will finally be the one to understand. Aiden is fascinated by magic and fictional characters but Vivian isn't fictional. As Vivian realizes that she's falling for Aiden that its best if she told him. Ha ha. Aiden apparently misinterprets what she meant by "Show him something beautiful.". After vivian shows him her true colors, well, Aiden freaks. Now that she showed him and that he didn't understand her pack was easily at risk. Of anything and everything. After Aiden says that he wants to talk to her she realizes he's in trouble, but as she tries to warn him, she realizes she's in even more trouble than Aiden.
    I loved this book it was amazing. I don't expect the movie to live up to the book. After reading Blood and Chocolate I really want to read The Silver Kiss. Annette Klause is an amazing author because she fits how teens are with fiction and love and thrill and the whole package tucked into an amazing book.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WONDERFUL!

    this book kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time. my favorite character was Gabriel. even though it didnt seem like it he really cared about Vivian. he stuck through with her until the end. werewolves dont exist, but Vivian's teenage character is relatable for all girls. it didnt end how i wanted it to but i would definitely read it again =]

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    This book kept me up until 3 am and I still had to read it over to get the full meaning behind it.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    What...?

    This has to be one of the most shallow books I've ever read. The main character wasn't likeable at all, and every other character was totally inconsistant. One second she is disgusted with her mom, the next they're both going to get a beer at the bar. And Aiden turns into a complete wimp...I mean, what gives? Also, it seems like the author was trying to use as many cuss words as possible--not to mention everything else. In all, this book was an absolute flop, and I'd recommend you read something from the better urban fantasy writers, like Charles de Lint.

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yummy Read!

    This book is so good it's delicious! The perfect combination of fantasy, horror and romance!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Pleasantly Surprised!

    I really liked Blood & Chocolate. This book immediately drew me in within the first few pages (which doesn't happen to me often). A nice short read with a love story, danger, and unexpected conclusions. The pack dynamic is intriquing with all of its various kinds of competition. Good read!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Like Twilight? Then you'll love this book.

    This book took me about 3 days to read. I never wanted to put it down by the 2nd day, (but I had to for school reasons). It's packed with romance and action. Just think of Twilight, but instead of vampires, think of werewolfs. I seriously think Stephanie Meyers probably picked up this book and read it herself, then wrote Twilight. This book is just so amazing, I wish there was a sequel. This book also almost made me cry! And when a book makes you cry, you know it's a good once. I had my moments with the characters, hating them then loving them. The book is just so amazing, I guarantee you will LOVE this book if you're into the whole Twilight thing.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AN EXCELLENT READ!

    This book has one of the best story lines that I have ever read. The characters are complex enough to make you want to know more about them but not so complex that you get frustrated while reading the book and end up putting it down. The storyline was great through-and-through. It answered all questions by the end and made you desire to read the book the entire time you had it in your hands. I have read many books and this is one of the best books I have read in while. This book is a page-turner that is highly addictive.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    The book was fantastic, captivating and addictive. I read it twice in one weekend. I still keep it on my bedside table with several other extremely well worn novels for perusal of my favorite parts. I recommend this for any fan other the supernatural.

    The book portrays a young girl and her struggle to accept who she is, and what that means.

    Just a note, while the movie is vastly different, and not even on the same plot line, I recommend it as well. Just watch it objectively and don't try to compare to the book or expect what happens next. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    completely and utterly AMAZING!

    this book is definitely one of my favorites right now! when i read about it i was like "sure. i guess i need something else to read so i don't read the twilight series for the 4th time in a row..." so i read it and i honestly couldn't put it down until it ended up being past midnight! :] i like it as much as i like twilight....almost! if you are a huge fan of twilight like i am, believe me, you will fall in love with the descriptive language, hardships, and impossible love. yes, it is a quick read, but it is very pleasurable! i hope you enjoy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not a Fan

    I read this book because my friends loved it.<BR/><BR/>I, on the other hand, did not.<BR/><BR/>Annette Curtis Klause had a great premise and an interesting story, but her writing style was bland and unemotional, and her characters were impossible to connect to. Even (and especially) her main character, Vivian.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing like the movie

    If you have seen the movie, and just want to read the book, looking for more detail. Don't. This book is nothing like the movie. I liked the movie and wanted to read the book but got a whole new surprise when I read it. Personally, I prefer the book. So if your looking for the best werewolf book, read this!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    Awesome

    I LOVED it! When I bought, I have to admit I was worried it was a waste of money. Boy, was I wrong. It rocked. My only complaint was that it has no sequal.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Never gets old

    Ive read this book about 18 times since it came out! Its a must read if ur a fiction fan:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    COOLYO

    I luv dis book !!! I hav read dis book over a million times and it still makes my heart race. I recommend dis book 6th grade up. When u read tha book sometimes u would ether scream,squeal,cry (doubt it), go bullistic, and etc. I could go on and type tha rest but there is over 20 more and my fingas hurt so ya. Ur welcome or thx for read, most peps r to stupid or lazy to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Blood and Chocolate

    Best. Book. Ever!!!! It's so sad and full of romance!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    I really enjoyed it. It moves fast, is pretty dark and sensual at times, and has characters that you love to hate. It kept me reading until I finished it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing

    I absolutely love this book! I couldnt put it down and finished it in one day. I definitely recommend... but do not watch the movie after you readthe book. The movie is absolutely horrible!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Very good

    This book was very good but only teens should read it! It does have a few parts that children should not read. Over all great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    Thoroughly Enjoyed this Book...AGAIN

    I read this book a while back and had not read it in several years, but was thinking about it and decided to read it again. It was almost better the second time (ALMOST)! If you love vampires and werewolves and such I think you will really enjoy this romantic journey of a young werewolf girl.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 752 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 38