Customer Reviews for

Blood and Chocolate

Average Rating 4.5
( 752 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(505)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(64)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Chocolate...Defintely!

I can officially say that this is my all time favorite fiction book (so far). Vivian Gandillon is just an ordinary girl...kind of. You see, Vivian is part werewolf and she thinks her werewolf form is beautiful. Others would differ. Then Vivian meets Aiden and she thinks...
I can officially say that this is my all time favorite fiction book (so far). Vivian Gandillon is just an ordinary girl...kind of. You see, Vivian is part werewolf and she thinks her werewolf form is beautiful. Others would differ. Then Vivian meets Aiden and she thinks he will finally be the one to understand. Aiden is fascinated by magic and fictional characters but Vivian isn't fictional. As Vivian realizes that she's falling for Aiden that its best if she told him. Ha ha. Aiden apparently misinterprets what she meant by "Show him something beautiful.". After vivian shows him her true colors, well, Aiden freaks. Now that she showed him and that he didn't understand her pack was easily at risk. Of anything and everything. After Aiden says that he wants to talk to her she realizes he's in trouble, but as she tries to warn him, she realizes she's in even more trouble than Aiden.
I loved this book it was amazing. I don't expect the movie to live up to the book. After reading Blood and Chocolate I really want to read The Silver Kiss. Annette Klause is an amazing author because she fits how teens are with fiction and love and thrill and the whole package tucked into an amazing book.

posted by TeenReaderIL on March 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

great

This book kept me up until 3 am and I still had to read it over to get the full meaning behind it.

posted by luna123 on November 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Not a Fan

    I read this book because my friends loved it.<BR/><BR/>I, on the other hand, did not.<BR/><BR/>Annette Curtis Klause had a great premise and an interesting story, but her writing style was bland and unemotional, and her characters were impossible to connect to. Even (and especially) her main character, Vivian.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read the reviews and thought hmmmm sounds like a good read....that was a lie!!! This book is a waste of time and money.....i mean it wasnt that bad but it wasnt good enough to read......

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    All Blood No Chocolate

    Blood and Chocolate was an ok read.Nothing special.In fact I liked the movie better and that never happens(this is the second time,Tuck Everlasting was the first).Teenage girl werewolf falls for human.Human doesn't want scary monster.Becomes alpha female and mate to her mother's ex-boytoy.I was more then happy to give this book away and will not read Miss Annette Curtis Klause's work again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    Parents and Good Kids BEWARE

    This book is filthy in many areas. I cannot even begin to tell you how inadequate the B&N reveiw was. The in-store help was just as bad. I went into the store to return it and complain because I had purchased it for my 13 yr old after an in-store salesperson recommended it as being just fine for her age and my requirements. I'm sickened because she read it and didn't tell me how disgusting it was until after she'd finished it! Of course I had to read it to see what she'd been exposed to and I was horrified. I will NEVER trust the B&N reviews again.
    Chris Bel Air, MD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2007

    Morgan- Stephenie Meyer fan

    I agree with Jaime. After reading the Twilight and New Moon books, I became a vampire/werewolf/fantasy book fanatic. It's like a good craving that won't go away. I figured this would be a good book but when I finished it I was very disappointed. I didn't like the ending at all and was wondering if there was a sequel to the novel. I personally would never recommend this book to anyone, but then again people have different tastes in books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    After I read Twilight and New Moon I've been into the whole vampire/werewolf/fantasy thing even more than I was before. Some people who reviewed Twilight said to read this book, so, of course, I gave it a try. I did NOT ENJOY IT. It had a good concept, but the story plots pop up out of nowhere and the charcters are hollow sticks. After reading Twilight, which had excellent characters, story plots, twists and turns and everything else, Blood and Chocolate was not worth the read. I wasted an hour and a half on this book. I should have just read New Moon or Twilight again. Twilight had what you would call 'true love.' This book did not. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    I thought since a movie was being made out of this...

    ...that it would be good. But, I read it, and I was dissapointed. Most of the content was a bit boring to go through, and only the end seemed to spark my interest. The ending is not obvious, but a plot twister, and I respect the book for not resolving with the cliche ending. It was difficult to follow all the werewolf history and the characters were a bit irritating. But I don't know. That's just coming from one critic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Not expected

    I really didn't like this book. 'If your reading this and didn't read the book don't go on' The beginning and middle were ok but I hate how at the end adrien turned into such a wimp and how she went with the pack leader who supposdly hated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2006

    It was okay, but at the same time ridiculous.

    Werewolves are a topic of interest with me, but the book wasn't very good. It was okay, but definitely not what I was expecting. It's annoying how conceited Vivian is throught the ENTIRE book, thinking so highly of herself. Seriously, I think she was admiring her 'large, full breasts and beautiful, flowing thick hair' about every third page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    Overall a Good Book, But Not At All Compelling

    While the book was okay, I was extremely disappointed by it. While the characters are charming, they are a bit stereotypical and, in my opinion, don't seem to live up to the werewolf lore. While Klause's style of writing is great for casual reading, it would have been better if her writing was more sophisticated and went futher in depth. If your looking for a more engaging werewolf story, check out a more well written book. Also, the main character seemed conceited, and you might want to find a book with a stronger heroine. Also, in my opinion, the ending would have been infinitely better if it was just a bit stronger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2