Customer Reviews for

Blood and Gold (Vampire Chronicles Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted December 30, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Continuation to the Lestat Story

    This is a great add on to the Lestat story without focusing so much on Lestat. I enjoyed it very much.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting Vampire chronicle

    Marius was very happy living as a patrician in Ancient Rome. However, he becomes disheartened when a Druid priest kidnaps him insisting that Marius will be the God of the Grove. He is turned into a vampire, but manages to escape. Marius journeys to Egypt to find the Divine Parents of the Vampires and bring them back to his hometown. For most of his life, he was the guardian of Those Who Must Be Kept, paying homage to them on a consistent basis. <P>Throughout his long life, Marius observed many world events including the fall of the Roman Empire. He found mortals that he loved and converted them, but none ever remained with him for long after changing. Marius made many enemies with one nearly killing him, causing centuries of healing before recovering. However, the ruler of the vampires stymies his efforts for vengeance by forbidding Marius vengeance. <P> Anne Rice has created another brilliant installment in her vampire chronicles that seem to have been running at a top quality level for as long as Marius¿ life span. Readers see the events of history through the eyes of the protagonist and understand what it is like to live in each era depicted in BLOOD AND GOLD. The characters are deep and complex and the tale is enhanced by action that occurs throughout the novel. Vampire lovers, paranormal fans, and Rice readers will enjoy this saga. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best books ever

    This has to be one of my favorites in the VC series! The storyline is compelling and it just sucks you into a world all it's own, it's just so easy to feel like you're part of the story yourself.

    I would definatly recomend this to anyone who loves a deep storyline!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Gotta Love Marius

    What a sweet character! I really enjoyed this novel, after reading IWTV, TV, and QTD, I was immensly curious about Marius and his shaped personality through the years. The cool thing is, if you don't want to read the books before it (can't imagine why you wouldn't!) Blood and Gold gives a nice review of what happened in QTD and a little of TL.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2006

    My best Love: Mariuuus!!!!!!

    ok I fall in love with Marius with Arman's book but now...God! Marius you have my heart and some more!!!I am simply crazy for you!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Exhilerating

    Once again Rice will keep you on the edge with the long awaited tale of Marius. A true child of the millenia. I can't wait to see where she will take us next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2002

    Whooooo!!

    I must say that I truley and deepley love this book. I mean it was just written so well. I loved all the detail. This was my second Anne Rice book, my first being 'Interveiw with the vampire' and while this may not be as good as that, this one still shines through. The only thing that holds thi back from being excellent is the slow beggining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    It was ok

    It was ok. Not the best in her series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Threw it across the room when I finished it.

    I LOVE Anne Rice. I've devoured all her books, reading most many times. I loved Marius until I read his story. Now free of the burden of Those Who Must Be Kept, he claims the boring role of caretaker of the now insane Daniel. Really? Marius, get a life!! In my opinion, by far the most interesting character in this story is the elusive stranger to which Marius imparts his history. If you want to know more about Marius, buy Pandora instead!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Anne Rice!

    Rice paints the most beautiful visual imagery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    It's Anne Rice for god's sake! Of course it highly recommended!

    I rest my case!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text

    Xctybvhni

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Brilliant!

    This is possibly her best book in the entire series. The characters were so vivid and and the ending was absolutely amazing. Anne Rice did an amazing job giving a new perspective through the eyes of Marius. I couldn't help but fall in love with his lost love. I recommend to any, and every, fan of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    really cool

    i like anne rice's chronicles. marius is one of my favorite characters. in a way, he's got motown in him. really cool read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    Has Merit

    I believe I've read most of Anne Rice's work prior to this book and I think it's safe to say that the later Vampire Chronicles weren't as exciting as the first ones. I admit that it's been many years between my reading the last one and this one.

    In my opinion, her skill as a story teller isn't what it once was (perhaps she lacks her earlier passion?), but she's still a good writer. Marius' tale is richer in this telling than in previous ones. I wasn't pleased with the ending, but that doesn't mean you won't be. I don't expect HEAs from AR (no matter how much I prefer them).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the the best books in the series

    This is the story I was waiting for. The story of Marius, guardian of Those who must be kept.
    It is a compelling story that covers the history of a great vampire through the millennia, starting from the ages of the early Roman empire, going through the spread of Christianity, the dark and middle ages, and all the way to present time. Anne Rice's writing style combines history with fiction in ways that sometimes it's difficult to separate them, making the story all the more compelling. It's a great story of love, loss, magic and mystery. This book can work as a way to tie in many of the stories in the previous books, or as preview of what the other books have to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Anne Rice's best of Vampire Chronicles Series

    Marius is one of my favorite vamp in Anne Rice's vampire chronicles. I loved this story so much. It literally had me fall in love with Marius. His beginning during Ancient Rome and it's fall out of the Roman Empire was fasinating, also his sweet & passionate romances, and pain. Which showed me his human side that he never lost.

    Rice does genuine writing when it comes to creating these great & unforgettable characters. I so wish she could go back to this kind of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood and Gold, the Vampire Chronicles, Book 8

    Coming soon.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Great beach read

    If you are a fan of her Vampire books, then this is a must. Was not as compelling to me as some of her other books, but not as bad as some of her books either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12