BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blood and Ice

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A+++ horror thriller!!!

Get out your credit card or make haste to your nearest library and get this book! It grabs you on the first page and doesn't let loose of you until the end. Where a lot of thrillers with adventure as a key element are written to appeal mainly to a male audience, Masel...
Get out your credit card or make haste to your nearest library and get this book! It grabs you on the first page and doesn't let loose of you until the end. Where a lot of thrillers with adventure as a key element are written to appeal mainly to a male audience, Masello's thriller will capture just as many women. There's adventure in an exotic and hostile environment, non-stop suspense, supernatural horror, riveting historical fiction, and even some romance. If you enjoyed the movie "The Thing" or the novel "The Ruins" by Scott Smith, or you like novels that take place in the Arctic or Antarctica, you'll love this one.

posted by isislibrarian on April 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

caution

After reading about halfway I was convinced it was another Clive Cussler shlock piece. Then the ice melted and I found it had thawed into another cold hearted vampire Cirque du Freak shlock piece.

When will someone drive a stake through the heart of this stuff and we...
After reading about halfway I was convinced it was another Clive Cussler shlock piece. Then the ice melted and I found it had thawed into another cold hearted vampire Cirque du Freak shlock piece.

When will someone drive a stake through the heart of this stuff and we get on to more engaging novels. One or two Vamp novels a year are more than enough. But when writers need $$$ they turn to Drac dreck.

I suppose readers are turned on by going through these things hunting for something new.

posted by limnerDM on September 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A+++ horror thriller!!!

    Get out your credit card or make haste to your nearest library and get this book! It grabs you on the first page and doesn't let loose of you until the end. Where a lot of thrillers with adventure as a key element are written to appeal mainly to a male audience, Masello's thriller will capture just as many women. There's adventure in an exotic and hostile environment, non-stop suspense, supernatural horror, riveting historical fiction, and even some romance. If you enjoyed the movie "The Thing" or the novel "The Ruins" by Scott Smith, or you like novels that take place in the Arctic or Antarctica, you'll love this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of the Best Books I've ever Read

    Blood and Ice just captured me from the 1st page to the last page. I basically read it in one sitting. What a totally awesome read. Part horror, part supernatural, do yourself a favor and read this book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    excellent paranormal thriller

    In 1856 British 17th Lancers Lieutenant Sinclair Copley and Florence Nightingale's Harley Street Hospital Nurse Eleanor Ames are in love. However, on the 28th of December the pair falls overboard from the HMS Coventry sloop in the icy waters of the Southern Ocean near Antarctica. Neither body is found.<BR/><BR/>In November of the present in Seattle, writer Michael Wilde needs time away from to escape a tragedy that haunts his sleep since he lost his beloved Kristin who lies in a coma; her residence being that ward of Tacoma General Hospital. Whereas her parents believe she will soon come home; he knows she is no longer there as in his mind her soul moved on. Thus he accepts an assignment from Eco-Travel Magazine to write an article on Point Adelie Research Station in Antarctica. Michael finds two bodies frozen in a block of ice; each chained. Shockingly once the ice is melted, Sinclair and Eleanor are alive.<BR/><BR/>This excellent paranormal thriller hooks the audience even before the rescue as both the present and past rotate somewhat perspective with each subplot fascinating. The story line is fast-paced and filled with chills; not all from the weather conditions as readers and Michael need to know the facts re the mysterious nineteenth century couple for personal reasons perhaps more than simple curiosity.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2014

    Having thoroughly enjoyed reading The Romanov Cross by this auth

    Having thoroughly enjoyed reading The Romanov Cross by this author, I was naturally looking forward to reading Blood and Ice. I was not in the least disappointed! While journalist, Michael Wild, is visiting an Antarctic research station in order to heal from a recent personal tragedy, he discovers two bodies frozen into a glacier. However, when the block of ice containing the bodies starts melting, the bodies disappear and what might have been a career making discovery for Michael turns into a nightmare for the entire research base.

    This captivating page-turner is most certainly going onto my favorite reads of 2014 list. The story of Michael in the present as well as that of Eleanor and Sinclair in the past unfolds methodically, never giving away too much at once, thus inspiring one to just continue reading. 
     
    A master of realistic description, Robert Masello makes the reader see the Antarctic with its storms, bleak but interesting landscape, and fascinating marine life in vivid detail. While telling the 19th century part of the tale, he describes Victorian England and the Crimean war with equal skill.

    The dialogue, especially that of the characters in Victorian England, is realistically adapted for that period. The characters, even the secondary ones, grew on me—not a good idea as some of them naturally have to fall by the way side. Even Sinclair Copley, whose personality became somewhat warped after his Crimean experience, is a likable, well fleshed out character.

    In the pages of this book you will travel on both 19th century and modern ships, experience life at an Antarctic research base, attend the very first Ascot Gold Cup and relive the fatal charge of the light brigade. Rooted in Turkish folk lore and filled with adventure, mystery and a bit of masterfully written romance, Blood and Ice is a must-read for anybody who loves a well-researched, suspense laden, yet heartwarming, thriller. (Ellen Fritz)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Awesome!

    This book is epic! Read it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    This is the second Robert Masello novel I've read, and he is now

    This is the second Robert Masello novel I've read, and he is now officially one of my favorite authors. A fun, easy read with a hero you can root for. Fast-paced but with enough internal monologue, emotional depth, and description to really draw you in, yet not bog down the story. Interesting characters with great back stories. A blending of science, history and the paranormal -- all the things I love! Highly recommended.... off to buy his backlist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Me

    One Of The Few Book I Enjoyed Reading This Year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1