Customer Reviews for

Blood and Silver (Deacon Chalk: Occult Bounty Hunter Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    I absolutely loved this book! I read thru it at an exceptioanl p

    I absolutely loved this book! I read thru it at an exceptioanl pace because I just couldn't put it down! I am in love with all of the characters and I love the way the author is able to keep us waiting on edge!! I think my favorite part is all of the personalization we get with Deacon, I know what he is thinking at all times. I absolutely cannot wait until the 3rd book is released! I have all publications from this author; completely hooked from the very first page of his very first published work. Keep it up, James! I need more Deacon Chalk in my life!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Read it!!

    A great new gritty hero, flawed and not perfect. Finally something fresh for readers of a more realistic take on the undead. If you love action, guns and violence... I mean who doesn't ? This book is for you!! I know I will read this series and hope the there are many more books. Awesome job!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Great Book !!!

    Love this book looking forward to the next one in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Deana Book provided by the publisher for review Revi

    Reviewed by Deana
    Book provided by the publisher for review
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

    This review contains some spoilers if you have not read the first book in the series.

    Deacon Chalk is not just your average tattooist turned bounty hunter. Deacon has been infused with Angel blood that gives him an amazing ability to hear and powers to fight the things that go bump in the night. In other words Deacon is a true bad ass. After the horrific slaying of his family, Deacon has made it his life’s work to be an occult bounty hunter and rid the world of evil monsters.

    The story picks up about a year from where Blood and Bullets lets off. Deacon and Tiff are having a good day until they stumble upon a Were-Lion beating a dog. Deacon will have none of this. He fights off the Were, saves the dog who in turn is a pregnant shifter. Turns out she is the advance part for Marcus’s campaign , another lion shifter, who is a pacifist and is encouraging both were predators and prey weres to live peacefully. Unfortunately, Marcus has a brother Leonidas who, along with his band of prey weres, comes along behind Marcus wreaking havoc. Deacon and the rest of his gang need to find a way to defeat Leonidas and the rest of the bad shifters.

    If you are looking for a fast paced, balls to the wall, graphic book this one is for you. Yes there is lots of valance and blood. The story is very descriptive from the clothes that are worn, to the guns that Deacon uses to the car he drives. The plot is well written and I do not feel that are any holes left. I love the different weres that we see in this book. The Were-Shark and Were-T-Rex were great touches for something new and different. James Tuck delivers some great one liners, where I had to put my book down and just laugh. There is a touch of romance to our story, I really liked that Deacon admitted that he does love Tiff. This book is urban fantasy all the way. I look forward to see what the authors has in store for Deacon next. I would recommend this read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Nazo

    Yawns

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Nebulas bio

    A pure black she cat with haunting purple eyes. She ha red stripws on her back. Rank. Leader...mate.none....kits...reaper and zap.....power is to transeform into a demon wolf
    ....closest companion..scarletrowan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    4.5 Great addition. Deacon Chalk is an Occult Bounty Hunter. E

    4.5

    Great addition.

    Deacon Chalk is an Occult Bounty Hunter. Ever since his family was killed by a Nephilim five years before he’s killed the monsters that needed killing. Ones that attack humans or are just plain evil end up on his radar and that’s one radar you don’t want to be on.

    One evening he’s out enjoying some time off at a street carnival with his friend Tiffany and they come across a guy beating a dog. Uh, oh…instant blip on Deacon’s radar. When Deacon discovers the guy is a shapeshifter and not just a crappy human all bets are off especially when the guy’s buddies show up and decide to kick Deacon’s ass for interfering in what they feel is none of his business. Deacon feels otherwise, a fight ensues and with some help from Tiffany he wins Round One and takes the dog with him. But we all know that’s not the end of things. Nope, it’s just the beginning.

    This book starts off with a bang and doesn’t stop until the end with lots of action interspersed with a few softer scenes. Deacon is learning more about what his angel blood can do and the power is not insignificant, but he doesn’t like using it. The most fun is learning how many different kinds of shapeshifters are in Deacon’s world. The weres are many and varied, some are even a tad ridiculous (a were-shark? Really? And I’m not going to spoil the surprise on that other one O.O) and make me wonder if they are natural or laboratory born. We learn in this book that there are unknown forces out there, so it’s a mystery still to be unraveled.

    All-in-all a suspenseful wild ride and I look forward to Blood and Magick to see what happens next.

    *Book source ~ Many thanks to Kensington for providing a review copy. Please see disclaimer page on my blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    In Blood and Bullets, there was a central theme of vampires.  In

    In Blood and Bullets, there was a central theme of vampires.  In this, we are taking a look at Mr. Tuck’s Were society.  All I can say is that I have never experienced a universe like this; it’s action packed and very unique.

    Deacon is back and he is out with a vengeance.  After saving a were-dog, he and his crew have taken it upon themselves to protect the innocent woman.  Pregnant and nearly beaten to death, they scramble to find out what is going on in their town.

    In Were society there are separate rules and laws.  The strong prey on the weak and the weaker just take it.  To make matters worse, there are two new factions are in town; one of peace and one of power.  Together they wreak havoc on Atlanta, and disturb the somewhat quiet calm that the crew has been enjoying for far too long.  Now they have to fight a good fight and protect the weaker Were community.  But something doesn’t seem right and Deacon is just the man to uncover the truth. 

    Mr. Tuck has done it again.  Wow!!  This was a very high octane ride.  It is fast, furious and well written.  He doesn’t hold anything back, so if you have problems with violence you will not enjoy this book.  But come on, look at the cover…Deacon ROCKS the violence.  The fighting isn’t sugarcoated and this universe is deadly and unpredictable.  The Deacon Chalk: Occult Bounty-Hunter series has found its stride.  This hero shoots first and asks questions later. No apologies, none what’s so ever. 

    I was drawn in.  His voice is very descriptive; from the characters clothing, their surroundings, and especially Deacon’s man toys.  I couldn’t help but get immersed into the story.  This is Urban Fantasy at its best.  This is raw, with only a slight romantic undercurrent.  He has even put a new spin on shifters.  I was constantly sitting there wondering; OK…I didn’t expect that.  I really enjoyed that aspect.  Blood and Silver is refreshing, but in a really bloody gritty way.

    I do have one note: While reading I did notice reference to prior battles.  They were written in a manner that made me wonder if I had missed something.  It turns out I did.  There are a couple novellas that have been written between the full novels.  Did I need them to enjoy the story?  No, but I can see how they would have enhanced my reading experience.  I can see me going back at a later date to enjoy them, but I have plans to just plow right into the next book, Blood and Magick.  I can’t wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Simply awesome..

    A mans book, hot women, big guns, and lots of action..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2012

    Loved it!

    I love this series and can't wait for the next book! This type of book is NOT what I usually read but I am glad that I discovered this author. His books are fun and exciting. I suppose that 16-20 something males would really like these books but have to admit that I am a 52 year old woman and am absolutely hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Bloodlust

    Does this mean we are through?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Deacon Rocks

    I have read every Deacon book/novella and plan on reading all that are to come (many I hope). A weredinosaur---who knew? The characters are wonderfully done with all of their flaws, weaknesses, fears and hopes. This gritty, rock and roll Urban Fantasy---no angst-filled romance drama to be found. I love the action, the gore, and the suspense in these books and love spending time in Deacon's world. I have read all of Mr. Tuck's work and he is definitely on my must-read list! I have already preordered the next two Deacon books and look forward to being in his world again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1