Customer Reviews for

Blood of Elves

Average Rating 4.5
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Finaly in U.S.!

I remember 1-st publication of Witcher in Poland,I was only 18.I've spend almost 20 years in U.S.and Witcher saga was my best friend;when I miss my Homeland.Total escape from troubled reality of emigrant life.I told my new American friends about this books,and now they ...
I remember 1-st publication of Witcher in Poland,I was only 18.I've spend almost 20 years in U.S.and Witcher saga was my best friend;when I miss my Homeland.Total escape from troubled reality of emigrant life.I told my new American friends about this books,and now they can enjoy them...
I just hope translation gonna be able to bring the wonders of slavic mitology and language to english reader.
Geralt rulles!

posted by Jaskier on August 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

and it could have been so much more...

I've read both The Witcher and The Blood of Elves. I really want to like them. The mythology is interesting, the plot lines quite good. I believe that they suffer from poor translation. The characters, other than Geralt, are not terribly well defined. I've read other tr...
I've read both The Witcher and The Blood of Elves. I really want to like them. The mythology is interesting, the plot lines quite good. I believe that they suffer from poor translation. The characters, other than Geralt, are not terribly well defined. I've read other translated series (the Day Watch / Night Watch books by Sergei Lukyanenko)and have seen how the translations improve, as does the publicity. After reading The Blood of Elves, I'm not sure if there are any more books to come (even though these were originally published some time ago). The book is great as a start to a series of books, but in the book jacket or notes, there is no mention of further adventures to come. The book is currently sitting on my bookshelf, but I'm not sure that I'm personally invested enough to continue the series.

posted by Jimbo2e371 on June 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Finaly in U.S.!

    I remember 1-st publication of Witcher in Poland,I was only 18.I've spend almost 20 years in U.S.and Witcher saga was my best friend;when I miss my Homeland.Total escape from troubled reality of emigrant life.I told my new American friends about this books,and now they can enjoy them...
    I just hope translation gonna be able to bring the wonders of slavic mitology and language to english reader.
    Geralt rulles!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    and it could have been so much more...

    I've read both The Witcher and The Blood of Elves. I really want to like them. The mythology is interesting, the plot lines quite good. I believe that they suffer from poor translation. The characters, other than Geralt, are not terribly well defined. I've read other translated series (the Day Watch / Night Watch books by Sergei Lukyanenko)and have seen how the translations improve, as does the publicity. After reading The Blood of Elves, I'm not sure if there are any more books to come (even though these were originally published some time ago). The book is great as a start to a series of books, but in the book jacket or notes, there is no mention of further adventures to come. The book is currently sitting on my bookshelf, but I'm not sure that I'm personally invested enough to continue the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    2nd book different from first

    Somewhat disappointed with 2nd book involving geralt the witcher. The book definetly sets the stage for the continuation of the story. However, after a decent start, it slows down and tries to build up the next story. I enjoyed the short stories and adventures in the1st book, so I missed that element here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    Another book in The Witcher series...

    After reading the collection of short stories written by the same author, I picked up this book to continue in that world. It feels like there should be more to the story and as a novel, I would have expected a little more character depth on characters other than Geralt.

    Perhaps it is a translation issue as has been stated in other reviews. I found it still to be a fun and interesting read; especially as it gives a nice break from American fantasy. I am not sure if there are more in this series, but if there are, it would be great to see them translated.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've just finished re-reading this book, and I still enjoy it ve

    I've just finished re-reading this book, and I still enjoy it very much. It focuses less on Geralt than "The Last Wish", and is written in an entirely different way. This is not a short story collection. It is a single novel that focuses on a young girl named Ciri who is a ward to the witcher Geralt. She is a fascinating character, and I look forward to reading more about her in future novels. In this story, we are presented with more of Geralt's history, including his love/hate relationship with a sorceress named Yennefer. Yennefer eventually becomes a mentor for Ciri, and assists her in honing her magical talents. There are some spots of this novel where I think the translation has caused some awkwardness. It is easily overlooked, however, and the enjoyment of the story is not inhibited. I highly recommend this story to those who enjoy magic and adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    An interesting world

    Blood of Elves is very good in terms of creating a living world. This is done in terms of establishing characters and cultures (and relationships between them). The primary story line for a series is setup, but not necessarily taken that far. The world itself seems to be informed by the having a Polish writer, who draws on different traditions than the average fantasy author.

    That said, momentum was un-even at some points over the course of the book. Not necessarily the largest issue in the world, but something to keep in mind of pacing is the utmost consideration. The ending occurs as the story line hits a crescendo, which makes it a bit of a cliff hanger.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    One very impressive novel

    Simply a must read for any dark fantsy reader.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read book.

    Every bit as good as the first. There is a 6 year gap in the story line, I hope the next book doesn't have that. I have alot of questions about what happened between the two books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Ash's Bio

    Name: Ash/Age: 13/Gender: &female/Race: elven/history: will reveal it bit by bit/Personality: intelligent, not exactly talkitive, caring, does not really like battles as solutions, but is an extremly powerful warrior in battle/Description: tall, slender figure, walks with the grace of a cat, yet as strong as a lion. Waist length jet black hair was usually left loose, but when she hunts, she braids it. Her angled features are sharpened by her jay blue eyes. She wears a black suit of leather armor with iron plates imbedded. Her boots lace up tightly/best friend: probably Ember:Other/ ask me!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Ember's bio

    Name: Ember Hiddenblade/ Personality: fun-loving, confident, not over talkitive/ Apperance: copperish red hair that is almost always pulled back out of her face, startlingly green eyes, walks with a cat-like grace from years of hunting/ Crush: none/ Other: uses a bow with deadly accuracy, comes from the elven line of the Lyrians, doesn't care about looks, cooks well

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Flint's Biography

    Tall, muscular, agile, and somewhat handsome. He will always be seen wearing gloves. The gloves have claws that can dig into rock or dig into his opponent. Easy to approach, but not easy to keep a conversation going on with him for longer than two minutes. Only speaks when needed, and often resorts to hiding in the canopy of the thick forest trees that surrond the camp. He looks either way when up there, towards the camp, or lookibg out at the world. Has a long straight scar going down his left cheek that is very faint. He is extremely good with the bow and arrow. Pretty good with sword.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    Good read

    The second book, as good as the first

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Blood of Elves

    A great continuation of the saga of Geralt de Rivia, the Witcher. Definitely worth a read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3