Customer Reviews for

The Blood of Lambs: A Former Terrorist's Memoir of Death and Redemption

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Gripping Read

"The Blood of Lambs" byy Kamal Saleem is an amazing, must read book from start to finish. It is a memoir about a former terrorist's life. Since it is a memoir, everything contained in the book must be taken with a grain of salt because the author will be inherantly some...
"The Blood of Lambs" byy Kamal Saleem is an amazing, must read book from start to finish. It is a memoir about a former terrorist's life. Since it is a memoir, everything contained in the book must be taken with a grain of salt because the author will be inherantly somewhat biased. However, that being said, I believe the author does try to provide the reader with an honest view of what being a terrorist was like. The purpose of this book is to inform the reader and open up their eyes that the danger to America is not gone but in fact real and present.

The chapters in this book are short, exactly like "The DaVinci Code", which makes the book an even faster read. I could not put this book down once I began it. It grabs the reader immediately and they are drawn into this dangerous world. Since the purpose of this book was not just to tell the story of one former terrorist's life but to inform and warn the readers, it succeeded. The reader cannot finish this book without feeling a little chill in their spine about the future. This book definitely provides a wakeup call for all of those who have become complacent since the 9/11 terrorist attacks in America.

This is an amazing memoir and I highly recommend it to everyone. It is one of those books you can't put down once you begin. Also this book has a good point it's trying to make which makes this book even more worth the read.

posted by AngelicBlonde on May 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nothing new

As a security professional, the "inside" story concept revealed nothing new. To the "non-security" minded, it is enlightening to discover the conviction these religous groups have to infiltrate and spread their message.

posted by SVAS81 on October 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Gripping Read

    "The Blood of Lambs" byy Kamal Saleem is an amazing, must read book from start to finish. It is a memoir about a former terrorist's life. Since it is a memoir, everything contained in the book must be taken with a grain of salt because the author will be inherantly somewhat biased. However, that being said, I believe the author does try to provide the reader with an honest view of what being a terrorist was like. The purpose of this book is to inform the reader and open up their eyes that the danger to America is not gone but in fact real and present.

    The chapters in this book are short, exactly like "The DaVinci Code", which makes the book an even faster read. I could not put this book down once I began it. It grabs the reader immediately and they are drawn into this dangerous world. Since the purpose of this book was not just to tell the story of one former terrorist's life but to inform and warn the readers, it succeeded. The reader cannot finish this book without feeling a little chill in their spine about the future. This book definitely provides a wakeup call for all of those who have become complacent since the 9/11 terrorist attacks in America.

    This is an amazing memoir and I highly recommend it to everyone. It is one of those books you can't put down once you begin. Also this book has a good point it's trying to make which makes this book even more worth the read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Blood of Lambs, by Kamal Saleem

    This is truly the best book I have ever read. Kamal's story gripped me from the very beginning and I simply could not stop reading the book once I started. I had alot of my own personal questions regarding Islam and Muslims before I started reading it and Kamal answered alot of these questions that actually brought me a peace of mind, but at the same time validated my fears regarding our war on terrorism. I believe considering the times we live in, every person should read this book if for no other reason but to have a better understanding. I wish I could thank him personally for having the courage to write about it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lost some serious sleep over this one!

    I literally was not able to put this book down until I had finished it. It is fascinating and enlightening. I like the way the author includes passages from the Qu'ran. For an American, with absolutely no understanding of Muslim culture, this book is a wake-up call!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    Nothing new

    As a security professional, the "inside" story concept revealed nothing new. To the "non-security" minded, it is enlightening to discover the conviction these religous groups have to infiltrate and spread their message.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Excellent book that should cause all to reevaluate their view of the threats that western/christian/jewish traditions face in the coming decades.

    A personal story of a devout muslem and his journey from being a terrorist devoted to killing in the name of Allah to a man of peace. A true story unadorned by rabid pro-western bias. The book provides a keen insight and perspective in to the inner thinking/workings of some muslem families and some muslem organizations. Well worth the read, but it will likely cause the casual student of international affairs to think and perhaps reevaluate his/her opinions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    WAKE UP AMERICA!!!!

    I heard Mr. Saleem in a radio interview after missing him speak at my church. This book is so very well written and the message is clear. Buy it! Read it! Pass it on!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Love can prevail

    This man's life story is about sin and redemption. It shows how love is needed to complete your heart - love by the people here on Earth but that the love of God is needed most of all. It is inspiring that the people who think like this can be changed by understanding what Jesus truly did and continues to do. It was hard to read in some places for the violence but is necessary in the book to make us understand what jihad is about. I would not say this is a Christian read for those interested in the life of a terrorist, that is just what I took from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Riveting Read

    Kamal's tale of growing up in the middle east and how he became involved with terrorist factions is hard to put down. The formula he describes for assimilation into the US culture is truly a must read. People need to be aware of what is going on around them and the frightening possibilities that are outlined in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

    For all Americans wanting to know the truth regarding HAMAS and what this terrorist group is all about, you MUST read this book. The chapters are short and it reads quickly because you simply cannot put it down!!! The Palestinians have been highjacked by these evil terrorists - they MUST be stopped!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Insightful and thought-provoking read!

    After hearing a former Muslim pastor speak at my church, I became interested in trying to find out more on how some extremist Muslims come to hate Amercians/Christians and how one might make the journey from this viewpoint to becoming a Christian themselves. So when my Christian book club was looking for a biography to read, I found this memoir online.
    The memoir was easy to read switching back and forth between memories and past experiences of the author as he became more and more involved with Muslim terrorism and between current times when he has converted to Christianity and is living in America speaking about his experiences and how if affects America.
    I did get insight that I did not have before on the kind of teachings and viewpoints that are indoctrinated in the Muslim culture from an early age. And how easy it is to get involved in terrorism from an early age. The author was only 7 when he was participating in his first mission. I could have done without as much detail on the earlier missions and attacks as I was more interested in the personal aspect of the author's feelings/viewpoints and how they were changing. I would have liked to see more on that line pertaning to the religious aspect and to his relationship with his wife who did not even know about his past until well into their marriage.
    But it was very interesting. Of course, the part referencing 9/11 was espceially poignant. And the description of how he is in constant danger even now from other extremmist Muslims when speaking on terrorism shows that this issue has not gone away. America should not be paranoid but we cannot afford to let our guard down too much either. Let's not have history repeat itself witn another 9/11. Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I think every American should read this book & I would be happy to lend it to anyone with a Nook. It explains so much about why radical Muslims hate anyone that is not a Muslim and why there is nothing we can do to change the way they think except pray that they will find the light of Christianity before they take over our world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    very interesting and for us scary

    This book sheds light on some very bad things going on in the US. We need to be aware and not listen to the down play of the Media and our leaders. It is real, and this man had a horrible child hood and brain washing. Praise the Lord he is not out there still, plotting and killing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Eye Opener

    This was a truly inspirational conversion story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1