Customer Reviews for

Blood Of My Brother

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

fast-paced thriller

Fast-paced murder mystery. A good read. A little graphic at times.

posted by grateful65 on July 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Too many characters

It was a good book but in my opinion there were too many characters to keep up with.

posted by AlanNJ on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Ugh!

    Poorly done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    fast-paced thriller

    Fast-paced murder mystery. A good read. A little graphic at times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Had+a+great+ending

    I+enjoyed+reading+this+book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    Too many characters

    It was a good book but in my opinion there were too many characters to keep up with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Blood Of My Brother

    Jay Casio's childhood friend Dan Del Colliano is murdered execution style. Since Dan is Jay's best friend he vows vengeance. In another part of the world, Isabel Perez is trained to be a prostitute for Mexico's' elite. Somehow these two chacaters are connected and as we read the story we found out why. Told in flashbacks and present tense, we learn about the individuals and what makes them who there are. This suspenseful novel has corruption, some action and some character development; a little slow at first but picks up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2011

    Must Read for Suspense Lovers!

    Cover

    I've been trying to figure out if the picture on the cover is a depiction of a lady in the throes of passion, which would represent Isabel, or if it is a depiction of a person murdered, which would represent any number of people.

    Plot

    This book is definitely engaging and was one I did not want to put down once I started it. The relationship between Jay and Dan was realistic and, in the end, sad. There was some back-and-forth, at the beginning of book, between present day and the past, but that ended once you got the necessary background information to help you understand the story.

    Main Characters

    Jay - A deeply rooted Italian-American lawyer who cannot follow in his grandfather's and father's footsteps ... So, he decides to become a lawyer and, when we meet the adult version, has his own practice. He has become emotionally closed off ever since the death of his parents.

    Dan - Jay's best friend since pre-K. He is a private investigator and enjoys the attentions of ladies. He has a self-destructive side which, ultimately, causes him to meet an untimely death.

    Isabel - Raised an orphan not knowing who her parents were. She gets adopted by "Uncle" Herman who turns her into a prostitute for his own gain. She is resourceful, strong-willed and determined to escape from Herman any way possible.

    Overall

    This was a well-written story with enough twist and turns to keep a reader guessing and wanting to know more. This is the third James LePore book that I have read and he has become one of my "must-read" authors. His work has been consistent and is an author that I recommend to all suspense lovers

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    GOOD BOOK

    I enjoyed this, the only thing i didnt like was too many characters that were never really needed in the first place, but i plan to read his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Well written

    This is the second book by James Lepore. It was well written, as was his first, "A World I Never Made". The only downside for me was the number of characters that were woven in and out of the story. I thought that was a weakness in his book, but an excellent read nevertheless.
    MGH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Really Great Novel!

    LePore says it best in regards to his novel as it "explore[s] many things: the child shaping the man, the loss of loved ones, human cruelty, and the forces that compel us to either live or die in the face of despair." This is a wonderful read with many different twists and turns.

    I highly enjoyed the parallel stories entwined within the novel. LePore has a gift for bringing together two seemingly unrelated stories, and I love reading about two separate instances and contemplating their connection. The characters in this novel are very strong, and LePore does a wonderful job fleshing them out, starting from their early childhood to the present. I'll admit that it took a few pages for me to get into the story, as I wasn't sure where the background information was going (Jay as a five year old). However, the story quickly picked up and I saw the connection, which helps solidify the relationships between the characters within the novel-so, if you're anything like me, don't let the first few pages deter you. LePore is an exceptional writer, and his novel will have you on the edge of your seat before long!

    Blood of My Brother is another testament to LePore's refined writing ability; he is a wonderful suspense novelist. I've read all of his novels, and I've greatly enjoyed every one of them; they have character. His style is a cross between John Grisham and Harlan Coben, two of my favorite authors, and LePore has quickly endeared himself to me; I love his writing! Four stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best Friends Forever - No Matter What!!!

    Jay Cassio and Dan Del Colliano have been best friends since childhood, years consisting of having to be tougher than the brutal neighbors surrounding them in their Newark, New Jersey home. After Jay's parents die in a plane crash, it is Danny who inspires him to rise above despair and enjoy life as it is. Jay immerses himself in law and Danny becomes a private investigator. Danny, however, is always living on the edge, constantly just staying afloat of huge debt and wheeling and dealing with unsavory characters that put him in the path of threats to his life and well-being.

    Then Jay represents a woman in a divorce case who is found beheaded and her husband is killed as well. It's a pretty high profile case and all of a sudden Jay is supposed to stay out of it because the FBI is handling the investigation. Jay, however, is at first curious why this is important to the government and then determined to get to the root of it all when Danny is found murdered in Florida.

    Isabel Perez is an orphan who is suddenly adopted by an "Uncle" who immediately turns her world into one where every order, including those involving satisfying other men's sexual needs, must be obeyed. After years of assisting in money laundering for drug dealers and others involved in financial schemes, Isabel is beginning to realize her own value and asking herself questions about such a dire future. Only with a sudden liaison and its consequent deaths does she realize that she is next for the elimination list, not so much for betrayal as simply for knowing too much.

    Meanwhile, anyone connected to the murders is winding up either dead or proclaiming absolute silence, but that doesn't stop Danny from going to Florida and getting closer and closer to not only the top man behind the crimes but also an even larger criminal and political element.

    Isabel's discovery of her real father's identity comes after her electric collision with Danny. The ending is more than a surprise about revenge and how even the worst of possible circumstances can have a somewhat satisfactory ending.

    Blood of My Brothers is a fast-paced thriller with twists and turns that defy reason. James LePore has again written a novel of suspense showing his maturing style is in even better form. A best seller for sure for those who love thrillers and a good mystery!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The aptly titled Blood of My Brother is a tense thriller

    In 1967 at the St. Lucy's School in Newark, New Jersey, five year old Jay Cassio and Danny Del Collinao met while each were watching the nearby street riots. They became best friends being there for one another although their personalities were opposites with Jay being cautious and Danny a risk taker. Helping each other survive the mean streets, Jay became a lawyer while Danny ended up as a private investigator.

    In 2004, Danny tells Jay that Donna Kelly hired him to deliver 500,000 dollars to her in Miami. Apparently the now deceased Bryce Powers, husband to Jay's late client Kate, gave it to her to hold for one month. With both Powers dead from what the cops insist was a murder-suicide, Donna wants the loot. However, not long afterward, Dan is found tortured and dead in the South Miami Beach Motor Hotel. Out of character for the conservative Jay, he needs to know why. The Florida and New Jersey roads lead to Isabel Perez in Mexico where Bryce lived for five years.

    Moving back and forth between 2004 and the past, fans obtain a taste of the two best buddies who have each other's back. Thus when his friend his murdered, Jay, seemingly out of character, but in search of closure must know who killed Danny and why. Fans will accompany Jay who for the first time takes a major dangerous risk without Danny coaxing him. The aptly titled Blood of My Brother is a tense thriller as the hero will learn whether the truth shall set him free or kill him.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2