Customer Reviews for

Blood of Tyrants: George Washington & the Forging of the Presidency

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    Blood of Tyrants is scandalous and exciting, full of sensational

    Blood of Tyrants is scandalous and exciting, full of sensational Founding Era stories you've never heard before--all painting George Washington in a new light. Any reader with an interest in the Founding Fathers, or war powers and the role of the President, will be very glad to read this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Logan Beirne has a wonderful felicity with language, as is fitti

    Logan Beirne has a wonderful felicity with language, as is fitting for a book studying an era known for its florid prose.  Each paragraph in BLOOD OF TYRANTS springs to life with vivid vocabulary and an energetic attitude.  Yet at the same time, Logan's language and his selection of colorful anecdotes all illustrate important points about Washington's style as a leader and general.  Moreover, legal scholars will find the book a useful reference point for a founding-era vision of the "Commander in Chief" concept and clause.  Aficionados of the Revolution, members of the George Washington fan club, and national-security originalists will all find the book a worthwhile and entertaining read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    Well written, clearly presented, fascinating view of the history

    Well written, clearly presented, fascinating view of the history of our founding. This is not your usual boring and dry history book. The events come to life, but more importantly they illuminate the answers to the very questions we are continuing to ask today as the country continue to face both internal and external threats. A treat both for serious scholars and anyone simply interested in a gripping true story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    A must-read for anyone who savors history or modern politics. An

    A must-read for anyone who savors history or modern politics. And this well-written book is so funny and engaging, it will hold the interest of someone who doesn't typically read history (think juicy tales of torture, scandal and political intrigue with none of the dryness that too often accompanies such serious topics). The revelations in this book are highly relevant to contemporary debate and will surely have a major impact on the way we view the presidency.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Logan Beirne's masterful work Blood of Tyrants first raises and

    Logan Beirne's masterful work Blood of Tyrants first raises and then answers a crucially important question for understanding the nature of presidential authority -- What Would George Washington Do? Relying on a rich stock of primary source materials, Logan takes his readers on a thought-provoking and highly relevant journey back to the American Founding. George Washington was undoubtedly the model of presidential authority at the time the Constitution was drafted. The precedents he set -- both politically and militarily -- are pertinent to many of the challenges we face today. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in fully grasping the lasting legacy of George Washington's tenure as commander-in-chief.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Every once in, a book comes along that challenges the reader or

    Every once in, a book comes along that challenges the reader or scholar to think beyond the confined years of the subject and consider its lasting impact. Logan Beirne has presented us with such a book in Blood of Tyrants: George Washington & the Forging of the Presidency. Washington has had a well examined life, if one considers the sheer amount of volumes on his life and Presidency. And one could be forgiven if they have begun to become wearisome at the many pedestrian biographies that fill the bookstore shelves.

    This is definitely not your usual book on Washington- this is so much more. Beirne is not giving the reader a chronological biography or even an overview of Washington at war. What he does is provide a much needed volume that connects Washington’s experiences and growth during the Revolutionary War and connects them not only to the creation of the office of Presidency (the Founders had modeled the office on GW), but also underlines how Washington is still relevant today. Beirne presents Washington’s experiences (and in some cases inexperience) as our first military commander-in-chief in a different and candid way. The author strips away the marble from the statuesque Washington that most people are familiar with- distant and cold, a kind of demi-god who helped to shape our country. Within the pages of the book we have a more realistic and immediate man, a man of duty and character, but of heart and passion. We see Washington as he dealt with bickering civic leaders, troubling bureaucracies, spies and even betrayal. We are able to observe him deal with the real problems and tragedies of war. The readers witness the messy problems, the impossible choices, the tragedies of the Revolution as well as the triumphs. We learn more about how Washington navigated both the politics and the realities of “boots-on-the-ground” warfare and how it impacted the people of the country.

    Then the book presents how Washington shaped the office of the President and established precedents that still have ramifications today. Beirne makes an excellent case for considering not just the intent, but the actual experiences and decisions of Washington and the Founders in terms of better understanding the Constitution. Ultimately, Beirne challenges the reader to consider today’s violent and difficult world in light of the world of the Founders – and to see that perhaps we not only seek the same answers and solutions, but also the same quality and character of our leaders.

    As a History instructor, I was intrigued by the nature of the organization of the book – as it took Washington and his experiences topically. It would be an asset to include several chapters, if not the whole book, as reading for an American Revolution, Constitutional History or even Political Science course. In my experience, I assigned a segment of the book for one evening’s class that sparked a long discussion on the nature of the Presidency, precedents in office, Washington’s experiences and his farewell advice to the American people. It isn’t often that I am able to do that with a segment of a book as the average non-history major doesn’t often like navigating texts or dry academic history. The secret is that no one really enjoys the banalities of dry academic writing- students and instructors prefer excellent and engaging academic writing. And Beirne’s style is just that; engaging, crisp and enjoyable just to read. This book is a worthy addition to any library and is a must for the shelf of any historian, history buff, constitutional scholar, or anyone with an interest not only in American history, but also those with an interest in America’s future. Blood of Tyrants: George Washington & the Forging of the Presidency is highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Blood of Tyrants is truly a fantastic read. The depth and detail

    Blood of Tyrants is truly a fantastic read. The depth and detail with which Beirne describes everything from the battle scenes to the mistresses of the British generals is terrific, and the chapter takeaways comparing key issues to what Americans are experiencing today were outstanding. A must read of any American History buff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Logan Beirne's book Blood of Tyrant paints a vivid and refreshin

    Logan Beirne's book Blood of Tyrant paints a vivid and refreshing picture of the American Revolution. He ask an obvious, yet often
    overlooked, question of what would our founding father's do? And not just any founding father, but the father of our country, the
    commanding general of the revolutionary army and our first president... Mr. Beirne frames the question along modern day events and
     forces the reader to think of the precedents George Washington established that have continue to shape presidential war powers today.

    The book is well written and researched and provides a long list of amazing sources. 1400 Footnotes!

    I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anybody interested in George Washington, presidential war powers, the American
    Revolution or if you just want to read a book on the beach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    "Bloody of Tyrants" is a fantastic and timely study of

    "Bloody of Tyrants" is a fantastic and timely study of the first Commander in Chief, George Washington. While new and interesting books about the Founders seem to appear with some frequency, this is the first one I have read that focuses exclusively on Washington--not just the General, but--the Commander in Chief. Given the importance and, frankly, vagueness of that term in Article II of the Constitution, Beirne's study is invaluable for those who seek a fuller understanding what the Framers themselves meant by that term when included it in the Constitution, and how the American people at the Founding understood it when they voted to ratify it.
    What really makes "Blood of Tyrants" a great read, though, is the fact that it's actually a great read. Beirne doesn't just serve up a dry helping of originalist history: he tells a compelling story about the first President. Fascinating historical color is peppered throughout the book. In turn he revises and augments the historical legends we've come to know about Washington. This is the rare book that is both highly informative and a lot of fun. I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Great read!  This book really delves into the history of our nat

    Great read!  This book really delves into the history of our nation in a way most other books do not. It gives one a better understanding of the principles and tenets on which our nation was built. Very entertaining.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Required nonfiction book for every American! Excellent writing!

    Required nonfiction book for every American!
    Excellent writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    Blood of Tyrants tells of our Founding Fathers' government and h

    Blood of Tyrants tells of our Founding Fathers' government and how it relates to our government today. I admire the author's research he had to do for this book. I did find it to be interesting, eye opening, and educating. If you want to know more about our Founding Fathers, this is the book for you. 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Such a good read!  

    Such a good read!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    What a read! I bought this book as a Christmas present for my br

    What a read! I bought this book as a Christmas present for my brother and started flipping through it before wrapping. I could not put it down! I am not typically into history, but this book made serious topics into a compelling narrative! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    This is an excellent read.  A must read.  Historic, full of fact

    This is an excellent read.  A must read.  Historic, full of facts, and entertaining. I definitely  enjoyed tis book and recommended.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    This is a book to be reckoned with. Reading this stirs up all on

    This is a book to be reckoned with. Reading this stirs up all one's lost interest in governmental history without the boredom that went with it. His writing style is lively, fluid and factual without being sterile. His descriptions draw vivid images of our forefathers hard at work freeing themselves from British rule, but not in the way our high school textbooks describe it. This Revolutionary War is fraught with unique and interesting descriptive anecdotes and side notes. It's like going back to History class but with a twist - this history is fun, relevant, and has a direct impact on modern day politics.

    Blood of Tyrants shows you why George Washington is often referred to as the "Father of Our Country." Without George Washington, there would be no Constitution, no independence from British rule, no Union. Additionally important, what does it really mean to be "Commander in Chief?" How it began with the election of George Washington to the Presidency and how it relates in our contemporary government today. Interestingly enough, General Howe's concubine was responsible for George Washington's eventual success in battle, and Mary's wine helped save Army troops from slaughter. There is a real significance at West Point in the making of history as the first fort. While these are all unique reasons to read Beirne's Blood of Tyrants, more than that, the reader will get a new education from his "inside looking out" version of the founding of America.

    I particularly found interesting his description of George Washington, along with our other forefathers, both physically and intellectually. It changed my opinion of what I had previously understood about them. You will also enjoy reading about the formation of the Continental Congress and the "fly on the wall" look at their approach to drafting the first Constitution of the United States of America. The description of the sacrificial lamb that provided the parchment for the first drafting of the Supreme Law of the Land, the Constitution that the initial Delegates signed, really brings home the importance of what our Constitution truly stands for. When and why was it really drafted? What you thought you knew will quickly fade and a new found knowledge will take its place.

    I truly enjoyed this book, and for those who enjoy historical reading, this is it! And, even if you think you don't, it will change your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    I have read nearly every book about the Founding Fathers, and th

    I have read nearly every book about the Founding Fathers, and this book stands out. Beirne has a unique talent of weaving together a gripping narrative, while offering the reader a treasure trove of knowledge. I would highly recommend this book to all students of history, and those who want to know how our Republic was establshed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Every historical text book should read like this. The in depth h

    Every historical text book should read like this. The in depth historical value brings forth lesser known facts of our nations first leader. This book makes young understand why the American People wanted George Washington to be that leader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Excellent book, USA citizen must read.

    Excellent book, USA citizen must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

    No text was provided for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2