Customer Reviews for

Blood of the Demon (Kara Gillian Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The second Gillian police procedural Bayou fantasy is a great thriller

    Beaulac, Louisiana police detective Kara Gillian fears for the life of her beloved Aunt Tessa who remains comatose as the cop's othersight showed her a part of her "essence" has vanished. Having once before summoned demon Lord Rhyzkahl (see the Mark of the Demon) and survived the mystical calling, she considers doing it again to ask for his help with her aunt. Rhyzkahl has reasons for wanting the mortal to summon him again.

    Kara realizes the suicide of police officer Brian Roth who apparently murdered his wife was caused by the arcane as her oversight sees evidence that something dined on his essence. She vows to learn what committed this atrocity, but her inquiry leads to FBI agent Ryan Kristoff who does not want her to ask Rhyzkahl for help.

    The second Gillian police procedural Bayou fantasy is a great thriller that grips the audience the moment the heroine stops at Roth's house to wake him up and never slows down as she works the case of the essence eater. Kara holds the arcane investigation together while her convoluted relationships with the demon and the fed enhance the strong saga in which forensics takes quite a paranormal twist.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    To kara

    Next result?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    I discovered the Kara Gillian series by Diana Rowland about 3 ye

    I discovered the Kara Gillian series by Diana Rowland about 3 years ago and I was hooked! When I finally picked up book two I was so excited to finally read it. Unfortunately it's taken me 9 months to sit down and write my review but thankfully I've got a good memory.

    This second book in the series was even better than the first one which I absolutely loved. In this one we become more familiar with Kara, her demon summoning abilities and the characters of FBI agent Ryan and demon Lord Rhyzkahl and this is one of the few instances where I really like the idea of a love triangle happening in a book.

    What I love most about this series is that while they are paranormal/urban fantasy novels they also great mysteries as well. Since the author herself has a police officer and a police detective I think her experiences as well as her training has been a real asset to her writing Kara's series so well because the crime and detective elements are well detailed and thought out.

    I really enjoyed the plot of this book in the series and while I enjoyed the first book in the series a lot I thought that the author really hit her stride and I felt that this one flowed much better than the first. The characters were written very well and even though I still don't really get Rhyzkhal's character I do like his brooding nature and I really hope to get to know him better as the series goes on. I also really want to see where the story line with Ryan goes because there was a pretty big cliffhanger when it came to him at the end of the book.

    There was lots of action, violence, gore, mystery and a hell of a lot of sexual tension in this one and I loved how well thought out the mystery element was because I honestly had no clue where it was going and I love when an author can keep guessing. Overall, I loved this book and am glad to see that Kara is still just as smart, funny, strong and kickass as she was in the first book and that she has a growing support system of people who know more about her gift. The story was well thought out, fast paced and had it's share of lighter moments to offset the killings. I can't wait to read the rest of the books in this series and hope to read them soon.

    I would highly recommend this book to everyone who loves a good paranormal/urban fantasy detective series with demons, murder and a love triangle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    A Good Read

    The second book in the Kara Gillian series continues where the first left off. Kara Gillian is a police detective with a difference; she can summon demons. However, that's not the most complicated facet of her life. Diana Rowland (the author) tends to focus on the relationships between her characters, as well as the developing storyline. So we have a murder mystery with a lot of police procedure reminiscent of an episode of CSI, but we also have a set of competing (and sometimes conflicting) relationships between Kara and the various other people in her world.

    The main character (Kara) is very sympathetic. At once tough and vulnerable, she moves through her professional and personal lives with self-deprecating humor and occasionally poignant insight.

    My only 'complaint' about this novel is its pacing. The "A-ha" moment seems too late, and the subsequent wrap-up too hurried.

    If you're the sort who loves an action-oriented thriller, this may not be the book for you. But if you enjoy stories about people, their quirks, and how they overcome them -- and a healthy dose of wry humor,then this should be an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Highly Recommended--a must read!

    In Rowland's urban fantasy novel, Kara Gillian is a cop with a secret gift. Not only does she possess "othersight" and can see what others can't, but she is also a summoner. She summons a demon lord to help her with two unsolved cases. She works side-by-side with a sexy FBI agent but these cases can't be solved by him or her without help because they weren't just murdered, their souls were stolen. A case with roots in the arcane, the case is also rooted deep among the rich, powerful, and corrupt in Beaulac, Louisiana. As the killings continue, Kara realizes she has a lot to learn about humans, demons, and all things that kill in the darkness. A riveting, suspenseful combination of police procedural and urban fantasy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series!

    Again I was shocked by who the murderer is--thats 2 for 2! I also love how Kara is evolving and bringing more people into her secret world. I like Rhy, but I think he is using Kara-for what Im not sure. Maybe something as inocent as gaining knowledge about our world or something more sinister. Now Ryan on the other hand, I believes he loves her. Together they remind me of two akward dorky teens at a school dance too shy to even talk with eachother. Its refreshing and sweet, hope those two hook up soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    keep them coming

    trust me and buy all the books in this series! diana rowland is a commanding voice that needs to be heard! if you love jenna black, kim harrison or caitlin kittredge youll love these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    Excellent-another Great One Diana!!!

    Diana, You are so creative! Another winner!! I had a tough time putting this one down too-there are many twists-just when you think you figure it out...I have ordered the Secrets of the Demon & cannot wait for the Zombie book to release! When these are made into a movie-who gets selected to play Rhyzkahl--I would like to sit in on the casting! Keep the talent & unbelieveable stories coming!!! Great successes to you in 2011!!!!!! Sassygirl99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait to read more by her.

    Diana Rowland has done a good job in this book making it as realistic as you can when talking about demonic powers in my opinion. It has just the right amount of political intrigue, demonic powers, and murder and mayhem.

    Detective Kara Gillian working with special agent Ryan Kristoff from the FBI is on a case looking for a killer who steals the essence from there bodies. With her attempted murder the pieces start to fall in to place.

    Her arcane abilites make this case more then just a murder/suicide. It indicates some type of arcane magic involved. Kara follows the lead to a Demon Lord for her answers. One that agent Kristoff seems to have strong feelings about.

    Can't wait to read her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    good

    really enjoy her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Blood of the Demon

    The real strengths of this series and this book in particular are the police procedural elements to it. Looking at the background of the author from her back jacket biography, it is no surprise that it reads a lot like a crime drama. Kara Gillian has a distinctive voice, as does Ryan and the other characters is the book. Much of the dialog between the characters reminds me of a rated R version of the show Castle. The chemistry and banter between them not only keeps you interested in them but also makes them feel like friends.

    The arcane elements of the book feels less like a sore thumb that sticks out but a normal tool and element of the world. It seems very natural that the arcane is part of the world as does the concept of portals between this world and the one that the demons are summoned from. Definitions given throughout this book even open things up to the possibility of other arcane elements as potentially existing. It is rather subdued though, more of a flavor in the world and not really the focus of the story.

    Blood of the Demon has a little bit for everybody. Mystery elements for the mystery lover, demon summoning for the urban fantasy lover and police procedural elements for the crime drama fan. It even revolves around a love triangle between three characters that is a subplot with similarities to the paranormal romance genre. Definitely a more adult book, it is an entrancing read and held my attention through the end.

    I would definitely give this one a 4.5 stars out of 5. Being a fan of the police procedural and the urban fantasy that might have colored my opinion, but in those aspects it really shone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6