BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blood of the Fold (Sword of Truth Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 268 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Fantasy

People had told me that this book isn't nearly as good as the first two. I have to disagree. I loved it just as much! It has the same level of continuous action while building excellent characters along the way. I loved the Prelate story line. It was a very intricate we...
People had told me that this book isn't nearly as good as the first two. I have to disagree. I loved it just as much! It has the same level of continuous action while building excellent characters along the way. I loved the Prelate story line. It was a very intricate web of mystery. Verna's character is more confident and I like her so much more in this book! If this is supposed to be one of the low points in the series then I'm definitely reading all of them! There's always a hidden danger lurking about. I wonder what guise that will take in the next one.

posted by Oneira on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

over explanation

This book was a real disappointment to me after the last two. Goodkind seemed to feel the need to explain things that happened not only in previous books, but also earlier in this book, over and over again. He explained and reiterated so many times that I bet the book...
This book was a real disappointment to me after the last two. Goodkind seemed to feel the need to explain things that happened not only in previous books, but also earlier in this book, over and over again. He explained and reiterated so many times that I bet the book could have been 3/4 the length and better because of it. I felt I was being treated like a child who could not remember what happened five minutes ago. I hope that the rest of the books are not like this. I do not need to be reminded of what everything means or their relationships over and over again. It insults my intelligence and bogs down the story. What a letdown.

posted by nalani on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    over explanation

    This book was a real disappointment to me after the last two. Goodkind seemed to feel the need to explain things that happened not only in previous books, but also earlier in this book, over and over again. He explained and reiterated so many times that I bet the book could have been 3/4 the length and better because of it. I felt I was being treated like a child who could not remember what happened five minutes ago. I hope that the rest of the books are not like this. I do not need to be reminded of what everything means or their relationships over and over again. It insults my intelligence and bogs down the story. What a letdown.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    ?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

    My dad likes it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow going...

    So far this seems to be the slowest of the series, and pretty uneventful in my opinion. A lot shorter than the first and second book as well. It's said that the series takes a turn after the first and second books, but this really seemed like a continuation of the second book really. And how many people are gonna wear a Rada'Han in this book? It seemed like everyone... Anyway, it's obvious that if you want to read the entire series that you'll have to read this one as well, just wish it would have been a bit more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2001

    Disappointing

    I'm a severely critical fantasy reader. The first two books in the series are beautifully written and only Stephen Donaldson (Thomas Covenant Series) and ER Eddison (The Worm Ouroboros) can equal Goodkind at his best. Tolkien is, of course, beyond compare. There are many rather poor attempts are writing that enjoy success: Feist, Eddings, Jordan, and Brooks to name a few. Goodkinds books are superior to any of these. I must say, that while the first two were heartbreakingly good, this third book was very disappointing. As was the case with Jordan (who was exceptionally bad to bein with), as the saga continues, there's a great deal of time spent 'filling the reader in' regarding what happened before that takes a great deal away from plot development and character growth. I was on page 180 before anything 'new' happened in the third book. I hope this is a temporary issue, and one that won't continue as I attempt the fourth book in the series. I fear the worst. However, the author is well worth investigating and I highly recommend the first two. You won't be able to help from reading the third. As an aside, I often wonder that for the trend of very long books and seemingly interminable series (cf, Wheel of Time) if the named author is even writing these books anymore. Given the wide disparity in the Wheel of Time and the same to a lesser extent in The Sword of Truth, I begin to suspect several different authors at work unified by an editor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2001

    Not exactly the best but...

    Wizard's First Rule and Stone of Tears were much better. Oh, Blood of the Fold had its moments, but still... it didn't grab my attention the way the first two did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2000

    When the Great gets Good.

    Volume 3 of the Sword of Truth series continues what is a rousing story with great characters. However, though there is a lot of good imagery here, some of it seems a little 'disjointed'. Things aren't connected very clearly in some cases and it led this reader to wonder ' did I miss something here?' in a few places in the novel. I must admit that I am reading the series slowly ( about 1 book per year )with other subjects in between, and therefore lose some continuity between titles, but, I found book 2 easier to follow, even after a year, than I did book 3. Nonetheless, I fully intend to continue reading this unfolding saga and recommend it to fans of the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2