Customer Reviews for

Blood of the Fold (Sword of Truth Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 267 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(176)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Fantasy

People had told me that this book isn't nearly as good as the first two. I have to disagree. I loved it just as much! It has the same level of continuous action while building excellent characters along the way. I loved the Prelate story line. It was a very intricate we...
People had told me that this book isn't nearly as good as the first two. I have to disagree. I loved it just as much! It has the same level of continuous action while building excellent characters along the way. I loved the Prelate story line. It was a very intricate web of mystery. Verna's character is more confident and I like her so much more in this book! If this is supposed to be one of the low points in the series then I'm definitely reading all of them! There's always a hidden danger lurking about. I wonder what guise that will take in the next one.

posted by Oneira on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

over explanation

This book was a real disappointment to me after the last two. Goodkind seemed to feel the need to explain things that happened not only in previous books, but also earlier in this book, over and over again. He explained and reiterated so many times that I bet the book...
This book was a real disappointment to me after the last two. Goodkind seemed to feel the need to explain things that happened not only in previous books, but also earlier in this book, over and over again. He explained and reiterated so many times that I bet the book could have been 3/4 the length and better because of it. I felt I was being treated like a child who could not remember what happened five minutes ago. I hope that the rest of the books are not like this. I do not need to be reminded of what everything means or their relationships over and over again. It insults my intelligence and bogs down the story. What a letdown.

posted by nalani on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Fantasy

    People had told me that this book isn't nearly as good as the first two. I have to disagree. I loved it just as much! It has the same level of continuous action while building excellent characters along the way. I loved the Prelate story line. It was a very intricate web of mystery. Verna's character is more confident and I like her so much more in this book! If this is supposed to be one of the low points in the series then I'm definitely reading all of them! There's always a hidden danger lurking about. I wonder what guise that will take in the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    Spellbinding writer

    I do not have a lot of time to read. Some in the morning and again in the evening. This novel has caused my to be late for work, twice. Only about half way through. Find my self waiting for my work day to end so I can see what is going to happen next. If you are a fan of Terry Goodkind you will not be disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    Great Book Need TO Read

    This book by far surpasses the others when it comes the the action and depth of characters u get a new perspective on old characters all around great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Incredible.

    Another win for Goodkind. I love following Richard and this series is spell binding!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Good one

    This one starts of slower than some of the others. Some familiar characters do not show up until over half way through the book. Then so much is going all it makes you wonder how everything could possibly get rapped up in the number of pages left.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love it, read it, gotta have it

    Love it, read it, gotta have it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    I stayed up till three in the morning, just so I could finish th

    I stayed up till three in the morning, just so I could finish this book. Not because it was a bad book, but because it was too good to put down.

    Terry Goodkind has done it again with his best selling series, The Sword of Truth. The Blood of the Fold is the perfect third book. A compelling army, The Imperial Order, threatening to take over the Old World, which was introduced, aka, the Palace of the Prophets, in the second book, The Stone of Tears, where Richard was made to wear a color to control his Han.

    Now, Richard must save his bride to me Kalan, The Mother Confessor, from the clutches of the Blood of The Blood of the Fold, which has sides with the Imperial Order.

    A dream walker causes nightmares that are not really nightmares with people who have the gift.

    Can Richard save his bride to be from The Blood of the Fold, before it is too late? Where did this dream walker come from?

    Find out in the compelling fantasy/adventure The Blood of the Fold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Lend me

    Len

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Hfh

    Vtvfvf

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Epic

    I dont normally write reviews but this series has me captivated. I'm on book 4 of the sword of truth series and am .completly hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Wonderful!

    A little slow starting out but picked up and then I couldn't finish it fast enough. Those wicked Sisters of the Dark! I hope they get what they deserve, at some point. Great story and I like that the author retells enough that I can remember what happened in previous books, as I don't continually read the series. I am now though...on to #4!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Awesome series

    I'm not much of a reader...but thirds series had got me spending most of my off time reading...out pulls you in and is always keeping you on your tours...i suggest reading it you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Great series

    Excellent book. Lots of action & twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Terry Goodkind's "Blood of The Fold" A Dream Walker Evil Among Us! Spellbinding!

    In the aftermath to "Stone Of Tears" Richard Cypher has defeated The Keeper and closed the veil to the Underworld. However; following the bloodshed of Ebinissia, a new threath has surfaced. "The Imperial Order, A group of fanatical preaching on the evil of magic, and those who have it. Made up of men of many nations who called themselves the Blood of The Fold" In the third installment of The Sword Of Thruth, Goodkind takes readers back one last time into the magical lands of the Old World, The Palace of the Prophets,The New World, Galea, Ebinissia and concluding in Aydindril " The home of The Confessors" Now Richard Rahl the Master of D'Hara must decide whether to flee to be with Khalan,or stay in Aydidndril and protect the Confessors' Palace and the Wizard's Keep from the Imperial Order. "Blood Of The Fold" is the journey of Richard, as Lord Rahl in a magical world surrounded by Sorcery, The Sisters Of The Light, Wizards, The Sisters Of The Dark, Mriswiths, Banelings, Mord-Siths and the powerful magic of the Palace of The Prophets. Goodkind's follow up to "Stone of Tears" is spellbinding. Given the fact, he doesn't introduce the mother confessor until late in the book. However; he does an outstanding job in describing the Sisters of The Dark, and their struggle to survive against the evil emperor Jagang, "The Dream Walker." Even the most evil soul meet their maker eventually. Goodkind's strength is the magic in which he presents all his characters in every novel. "Blood of The Fold" is no exception. Sister Verna makes an exceptional second appearance, He also goes deeper in the characters of Sister Nicci, Sister Melissa, Sister ulicia, And Cara. In the previous novels we were given unforgettable characters, in this third installment he repeated by introducing "Berdine" One of the Mord-siths, her wit and intelligence is exceptional. In addition, there is some nobility and sinisterness that Goodkinds adds to the Sisters of the Dark that makes them likable. "Blood Of The Fold" will immerse readers in the magical world of Terry Goodkind. The author does an encore in all the graphical atrocities. The battles, the bloodbath, the heinousness, and the cruelty in previous instalments is nothing compared to "Blood of The Fold" An excellent page turner again. Another triumph for Goodkind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    Summer Reading!! 2010

    The book that I chose for my first summer reading book of the year was titled Blood of the Fold by Terry Goodkind. Terry Goodkind is a fairly well-known author, and by far one of the best writers whose books I have read. His writing style is unique, descriptive, extensive, and rich in high-level vocabulary. Once you begin to read the very beginning of one of his thrilling novels, you cannot help yourself but to continue until you finish it. There were many events in the book which captured my full attention and simply astounded me with the detail and thought that went into conceiving it. One of my favorite parts, however, was Richard's fight against the mriswith outside of the palace of Aydindril. Richard found out that Gratch, Richard's friend of a short-tailed gar, could sense the prescence of the mriswith despite their invisibility. Another of my favorite parts in the book was near the end of the book. Richard used the sliph for the very first time to get to the Palace of the Prophets in the Old World to rescue Kahlan, Richard's love, from the Sisters of the Dark. He got to the palace in time to run into her before she left and rescued herself. They met up in a hallway where Richard nearly killed her because it was dark and he mistook her for a guard. However, my favorite part in the entire book came after that, even. Richard and Kahlan were down in the vaults, and Zedd, a wizard of the first order and Richard's grandfather, had set many traps for anyone who tried to go in. this included a light web-a wizard's web that is very dangerous-along with numerous other traps. Richard and Kahlan nearly got their heads chopped off in order to retrieve a book full of prophecies about Richard. After they had sprung all of those traps, the whole Palace of the Prophets was blown apart by the intensity of Zedd's light web. The entire book was full of thrilling events and characters that fully engaged the reader and left them wanting more. Due to all of the above reasons and more, this book was a jackpot to any avid fantasy reader. I would rate this book at the highest level on any scale. Five out of five, or ten out of ten, this book is simply aces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    A Turning Point in the Sword of Truth Series

    So far the Sword of Truth Series has followed a pretty standard set up. The main character has to save the world from destruction and usually he is the one who as caused the problem in the first place. The Blood of the Fold starts off that way but takes the reader through more twists and turns and keeps plot interesting.

    The new characters introduced have deep backgrounds that leak throughout the book. The reader can easily identify the archetypes that Goodkind writes. I personally enjoy it better if I can put a name over the characters head and put them into a general category.

    As I mentioned this is a turning point in the series, its changing the typical format from the last two books and the fight between the Old World and the New World is the main focus of the books. You will want to read the next book in the series after you finish this one.

    The history of Goodkinds world starts to really unfold in this book and in his next book "The Temple of Winds" The reader will start to see many of the plot lines tie together throughout both books over the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Great addition to the series.

    As seems the trend with this series it takes awhile to really grab the reader, took about half the book for me, but after that it grabs and keeps the reader interested and pleased. I loved the surprises at the end and the character developments. I cant wait to read the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Blood of the Fold

    I am a fan of the Sword of Truth Series and of the TV Legend of the Seeker. I enjoy using the books (though loosely based) to add depth and more story to the TV version. I look forward to reading the balance of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sword of Truth Series(Blood of the Fold)

    One of the Best Series I've read!! Once you start, you're in for the whole ride

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9