Customer Reviews for

Blood of the Reich

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Good Read

    This a a thoroughly good read by William Dietrich. The plot is a bit far fetched but entertaining none the less.... Also read Ice Reich by the same author. His Ethan Gage books are "engaging" as well. The first book in that series is Napoleon's Pyramids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is one of Dietrich's better books and I enjoyed it quite a

    This is one of Dietrich's better books and I enjoyed it quite a bit. I really got caught up in the descriptions of Tibet but got a little lost at the end. Anyone for Joe Black as the down and out Tibetan guide?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    The author effectively flashes back and forth between the presen

    The author effectively flashes back and forth between the present day and pre-WWII events, which is a challenge but was well-handled. However, I agree with the review posted by The Alternative in that the ending was rushed and did not adequately tie together the sub-plots. The story was fine until the LHC events, which spoiled an otherwise well-written book; a more critical editor should have advised that the last part of the book should have been completely rewritten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Great book!!!

    I really enjoyed reading this book, tense exciting and thrilling at all times. A great book with an enjoyable story line I could not put this book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting and fun.

    Okay, who doesn't like a book with bad guy Nazis running around? I admit I kinda wanted to like this book when I bought it. The premise reminded me of Raiders of the Lost Ark, and I did like it, though I personally found the jumping back and forth timeline kinda off. But that may have been just me. All in all, a fun read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Amazing!

    AMAZING!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    If you like adventure, look no further!

    From the mountains of Washington, to the mountains of Tibet, from an aerie nunnery to a Nazi castle. Dietrich's latest book spans the generations from just before World War II to present day. Jump aboard and come along for an adventure filled with explosions, sex, treachery, and the ever elusive treasure of a lifetime.
    We begin in 1938 with zoologist and SS member Kurt Raeder, who is called to a meeting with Heinrich Himmler. The Nazis are gearing for war and the head of the German secret police wants Raeder to help assure Reich domination. Raeder is sent to Tibet to search for the legendary city of Shambhala and a power source that will give Germany guaranteed world conquest.
    Jump ahead to present day where publicist Rominy Pickett's life is narrowly saved by a mysterious man claiming to be an investigative reporter who knows about Pickett's ancestry. Apparently, her great-grandfather traveled to Tibet and may have brought home a secret so great people have and will kill to possess it. Together, they sort through clues, avoiding danger at every turn, in order to find what the fascists of yesterday (and their followers of today) sought in the mysterious land of Tibet.
    Are you ready to be immersed in the lush northwest then climb the highest peaks in the world? Are you ready to walk with Nazi loyalists and fly with a tomboy aviatrix? Oh, you know there's going to be lies and false-faces. You know there's going to be death-defying chases and heroism involved. This book doesn't drown you in scientific chaos, but stretches your imagination into 'what if' areas. If you like adventure, look no further than "Blood of the Reich."

    Reviewed by Stephen L. Brayton, author of "Beta" for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Taut and intriguing concept in a well-executed thriller.

    In Blood of the Reich, Anacortes based William Dietrich takes a peculiar true historical incident, in this case a Himmler sponsored expedition of German scientists to Tibet--the roof of the world--and combines it with a fictional power supposedly left by the ancients in a remote monastery awaiting the 'blood key' to unlock the secrets. Convinced of their Aryan superiority the Nazi expedition treks treacherously to the forbidden gates and discovers 'Vril' only to have its power denied them by the interdiction of an intrepid American archeologist and an adventurous lady pilot, presumably saving the world from Nazi domination--for now. Dietrich cleverly switches to and from pre-war German obsessions and a modern day thrill ride as destinies separated by seven decades race toward a breath-taking collision. Here the elements of history, fiction and the supernatural are blended seamlessly with the peculiar world of sub-atomic physics to produce an exciting page turning adventure that will keep you on the edge of your seat right till the last page. A great read, and I will note for the record, Bill's work is among my favorite reading. His scholarship is evident, but always serves the story well without distraction. When you finish this one, try Hadrian's Wall or the Ethan Gage series. I promise you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1