Customer Reviews for

Blood of the Wicked (Chief Inspector Mario Silva Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Read

I'm really not big on writing reviews, but I had to for this one. It was sooooooo good. Far beyond my expectations! I was looking for something different from my normal (drama filled) read and was completely satisfied. I'm looking into getting: Dying Gasp and Buried Str...
I'm really not big on writing reviews, but I had to for this one. It was sooooooo good. Far beyond my expectations! I was looking for something different from my normal (drama filled) read and was completely satisfied. I'm looking into getting: Dying Gasp and Buried Strangers: A Chief Inspector Mario Silva Investigation, both by him as well. I'm super excited ;)

posted by 4036455 on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Bloody Wicked Read

Author Leighton Cage offers a sometimes fascinating look at the underbelly, or perhaps it's really just the belly, of Brasilian police corruption. From Federal Police delegado Mario Silver down to the street urchins, the wicked have their day in his first novel There i...
Author Leighton Cage offers a sometimes fascinating look at the underbelly, or perhaps it's really just the belly, of Brasilian police corruption. From Federal Police delegado Mario Silver down to the street urchins, the wicked have their day in his first novel There is not a priest, politician, journalist, or cop who escapes his bloody tale of evil and human weakness. You must stomach so much gore to get through this book, including many lost digits, that it is not for the fainthearted. No one comes out very lovable, but Gage seems to save his worst rage for the homosexuals, who are nothing but evil, and pedophiles at that, in his telling. I got through it, but hit the showers immediately. Fortunately I was only covered in water, but it still felt like blood.

posted by KenCady on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2010

    Great Read

    I'm really not big on writing reviews, but I had to for this one. It was sooooooo good. Far beyond my expectations! I was looking for something different from my normal (drama filled) read and was completely satisfied. I'm looking into getting: Dying Gasp and Buried Strangers: A Chief Inspector Mario Silva Investigation, both by him as well. I'm super excited ;)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Bloody Wicked Read

    Author Leighton Cage offers a sometimes fascinating look at the underbelly, or perhaps it's really just the belly, of Brasilian police corruption. From Federal Police delegado Mario Silver down to the street urchins, the wicked have their day in his first novel There is not a priest, politician, journalist, or cop who escapes his bloody tale of evil and human weakness. You must stomach so much gore to get through this book, including many lost digits, that it is not for the fainthearted. No one comes out very lovable, but Gage seems to save his worst rage for the homosexuals, who are nothing but evil, and pedophiles at that, in his telling. I got through it, but hit the showers immediately. Fortunately I was only covered in water, but it still felt like blood.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Highly recommended. Have to read more from this author.

    A very good book, keeps you wanting to read until finished, nonstop!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating mystery

    In a classic sh*t rolls down hill, the Pope calls the Brazilian president twice in turn the president pressures the Director of the Brazilian Federal Police Nelson Sampaio to resolve the matter ASAP in turn Nelson orders Chief Inspector Mario Silva to uncover the identity of the person who assassinated Bishop Dom Felipe Antunes at a church mass in front of a crowd at Cascatas. Mario understands he is to drop everything else and personally handle the investigation in the remote town and capture the felon yesterday.------------- Silva travels immediately to Cascatas only to find angry townsfolk as the affluent landowners and the reform minded Landless Workers¿ League are in a brawl over sharing the wealth. Each side¿s leaders demand Silva investigates a local case that has raised tensions to a point that hostilities seem imminent if he wants any cooperation on the Bishop homicide. The son of a local landowner, Orlando Muniz Junior vanished without a trace. His father and his allies believe the league abducted and probably killed him. The League believes the lad is on holiday. --------------- Silva is a fascinating character as he has enough personal issues and a difficult case without getting involved in the local tsunami, but cannot keep out of it as more kidnappings and murders occur. He makes little progress on either investigation and what he does learn like the church is involved in protecting its own when pedophile accusations surface make him wonder if the Bishop¿s death is related. Although extremely violent as the title is not false advertising, fans who have a strong stomach for gore will enjoy this Brazilian police procedural.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Most excellent, a great addition to the series

    Leighton Gage has created a policeman who works in a world which desperately needs his best fforts. Mario Silva has a boss who cares the most about political advancement, while Mario works to achieve justice, often on his terms as much as in the system. Highly recommendedd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Too much torture not enough detecting

    In spite of their incompetence, the interesting personalities of the detectives in this Brazilian based story are the only reason that I did not rank this book lower. In fact I am actually going to read the next Inspector Silva book because I like the style and immersion in another culture. However, all the detectives actually did was a lot of running around while dozens of people were brutally murdered and they did very little to stop the chaos. I recommend this book for people who like a fast read and learning about other countries but it is not a typical mystery novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Great book

    Very inspiring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    Too grafic for my taste

    Why read about unpleasant people and unpleasant events

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    not a good intro to a series unless this kind of grafic

    Violence is what you like i do not but read some of the book from library unfortunately good writing makes it worse that he spent the time

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2