Customer Reviews for

Blood on Silk: An Awakened By Blood Novel

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Totally Freaking Awesome

When it comes to any book, I am an extremely picky person. I usually start a book, but then sometimes not even half way through it, I'm searching for another one to read. This one I could not even put down. Some people said the book was slow and that Soloman's charac...
When it comes to any book, I am an extremely picky person. I usually start a book, but then sometimes not even half way through it, I'm searching for another one to read. This one I could not even put down. Some people said the book was slow and that Soloman's character wasn't thought out, well I disagree. I love the way the characters interacted and the dynamic between them, along with the dark tone that most vampire novels take on and the mythology and history that was weaved into it. I would suggest this one to anyone who truly wants to be lost in a book.

posted by wyntermoon on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blech!

This book had so much potential, but never delivers. I could not connect to the characters at all. They were one dimensional and just boring. Too many things were said that made absolutely no sense in context to what was going on at the time. Big waste of $9.99...sh...
This book had so much potential, but never delivers. I could not connect to the characters at all. They were one dimensional and just boring. Too many things were said that made absolutely no sense in context to what was going on at the time. Big waste of $9.99...should have just flushed it down the toilet & saved myself the time wasted reading this book.

posted by blueyedirishgrl on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Chemistry

    Blood on Silk
    (Awakened by Blood, Book #1)
    by Marie Treanor

    Genre: Paranormal Romance | Fantasy

    Scottish academic Elizabeth Silk is spending the summer in Romania researching historical superstitions for her PhD. While she is tracing local foktales, one subject in particular sparks her imagination. His name is Saloman, legend's most powerful vampire, a seductive prince staked centuries ago. Now, in the ruins of a castle crypt, Elizabeth discovers the legends are real. Her blood has awakened him. Her innocence has aroused him. But Elizabeth unleashes more than Saloman's hunger.

    An army of vampire hunters has amassed to send Saloman back to hell. Sworn to help - yet fearing Saloman's deadly blood lust - Elizabeth seeks to entrap him, offering her body as bait. But something stronger than dread, more powerful than revenge, is uniting Elizabeth to her prey. Caught between desire and rage, Elizabeth must decide where her loyalties lie...and what the limits are to a yearning she can no longer control.

    Elizabeth is finishing up research in Budapest when she gets a tip about a historic castle tale that would be a great contribution for the historic superstition thesis she is working on for her doctorate. Upon her visit, she discovers a secret tomb and accidentally awakens that last ancient vampire. While vampire rules decree that Elizabeth's blood upon death will fully strengthen the ancient Soloman back to full power, she becomes equally frightened and tempted by his mocking and lustful ways. Thus, as the two wickedly banter back and forth, Elizabeth pursues other options in hope to remain alive and joins a local vampire hunter organizations to learn techniques in taking down the undead. Yet, while the vampire world around them is all abuzz with the new arisen ancient and as her feelings for Soloman grow deeper as well as her mental bond with him develops new shocking abilities for herself, Elizabeth must decide just which side she should choose.

    I had delayed reading this series for awhile now and am kicking myself for it, since it was a wonderfully enjoyable book that I should have read long ago. I quickly bonded with Elizabeth and relished in the fact that she was a strong, likeable female lead by solely being studious and brave without coming off as overly cocky or too fragile. On the flip side, Soloman was very charismatic and amusing and their interactions together really complemented each other and created an easily believable love-hate relationship that kept me, as a reader, turning the pages late into the night. The silly mockery between Soloman and Elizabeth really kept the story alive for me and seeing that relationship evolve throughout the story while each were being torn away due to being different added much spark to the tale and had me jumping right into book #2 of the series as soon as I finished. So, if you're wanting a juicy paranormal romance with a bit of a comedic twist, you won't miss out with Blood on Silk.

    Likes: As a cultural/superstition history buff, I was easily fascinated by Elizabeth's work.

    Dislikes: I wasn't really a fan of the vampire hunters, but can understand how their presence in Elizabeth's life added much tension to the story due to the fact that she had to keep her attraction to Soloman secret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Blood on Silk (Awakened by Blood, Book #1) by Marie Treanor Gen

    Blood on Silk
    (Awakened by Blood, Book #1)
    by Marie Treanor

    Genre: Paranormal Romance | Fantasy

    Scottish academic Elizabeth Silk is spending the summer in Romania researching historical superstitions for her PhD. While she is tracing local foktales, one subject in particular sparks her imagination. His name is Saloman, legend's most powerful vampire, a seductive prince staked centuries ago. Now, in the ruins of a castle crypt, Elizabeth discovers the legends are real. Her blood has awakened him. Her innocence has aroused him. But Elizabeth unleashes more than Saloman's hunger.

    An army of vampire hunters has amassed to send Saloman back to hell. Sworn to help - yet fearing Saloman's deadly blood lust - Elizabeth seeks to entrap him, offering her body as bait. But something stronger than dread, more powerful than revenge, is uniting Elizabeth to her prey. Caught between desire and rage, Elizabeth must decide where her loyalties lie...and what the limits are to a yearning she can no longer control.

    Elizabeth is finishing up research in Budapest when she gets a tip about a historic castle tale that would be a great contribution for the historic superstition thesis she is working on for her doctorate. Upon her visit, she discovers a secret tomb and accidentally awakens that last ancient vampire. While vampire rules decree that Elizabeth's blood upon death will fully strengthen the ancient Soloman back to full power, she becomes equally frightened and tempted by his mocking and lustful ways. Thus, as the two wickedly banter back and forth, Elizabeth pursues other options in hope to remain alive and joins a local vampire hunter organizations to learn techniques in taking down the undead. Yet, while the vampire world around them is all abuzz with the new arisen ancient and as her feelings for Soloman grow deeper as well as her mental bond with him develops new shocking abilities for herself, Elizabeth must decide just which side she should choose.

    I had delayed reading this series for awhile now and am kicking myself for it, since it was a wonderfully enjoyable book that I should have read long ago. I quickly bonded with Elizabeth and relished in the fact that she was a strong, likeable female lead by solely being studious and brave without coming off as overly cocky or too fragile. On the flip side, Soloman was very charismatic and amusing and their interactions together really complemented each other and created an easily believable love-hate relationship that kept me, as a reader, turning the pages late into the night. The silly mockery between Soloman and Elizabeth really kept the story alive for me and seeing that relationship evolve throughout the story while each were being torn away due to being different added much spark to the tale and had me jumping right into book #2 of the series as soon as I finished. So, if you're wanting a juicy paranormal romance with a bit of a comedic twist, you won't miss out with Blood on Silk.

    Likes: As a cultural/superstition history buff, I was easily fascinated by Elizabeth's work.

    Dislikes: I wasn't really a fan of the vampire hunters, but can understand how their presence in Elizabeth's life added much tension to the story due to the fact that she had to keep her attraction to Soloman secret.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Sensual vampire novel

    Blood on Silk is the first book in the Awakened by Blood series. It starts off with Elizabeth doing research in Romania for her thesis. After accidentally awakening an ancient vampire, Elizabeth finds out how right - and wrong - superstitions can be. Elizabeth was never one to believe in such folklore, and she even tries to convince herself it wasn't real when she has this well-known vampire awaken right in front of her.

    Saloman wakes up 312 years after having a stake driven through his heart by those closest to him. He feels betrayed and is determined for revenge. Saloman is the last of the ancient, powerful vampires. However, when he awakens, he is weak. He needs to take the life of his Awakener, Elizabeth, in order for his full power to be restored. Unfortunately for him, he is drawn to her and struggles with ending her life.

    Elizabeth is quite drawn to Saloman as well. She knows that he intends to kill her, but she also knows that something is holding him back. She is pulled into the world of the vampire hunters and knows that Saloman must die before he kills her first, and takes over the world. It was very interesting to see 2 individuals who intend to kill each other, but can't seem to get away from the attraction they feel for one another. I also liked reading about Saloman seeing the world for the first time in centuries. A lot has changed since he last remembered, and that brings in a little humor to the story.

    This book is very well written. The author builds a very complex and interesting world. I found the book to be a bit slow-moving though. I would have enjoyed this more if there was a quicker pace to it, and a little less of descriptive paragraphs. Also, I didn't really enjoy the secondary characters - though I understand why they are there. The thing I liked most is the attraction between the two main characters. There are some really steamy sex scenes. They had more of a sensual feel to them rather than being pornographic, in my opinion. The author does an awesome job at making you feel their attraction. The book doesn't really end with a cliffhanger, but it's not exactly a happily-ever-after either. It definitely makes you want to read the next book in the series to see how Elizabeth and Saloman's relationship will play out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1