Customer Reviews for

Blood on Silk: An Awakened By Blood Novel

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Totally Freaking Awesome

When it comes to any book, I am an extremely picky person. I usually start a book, but then sometimes not even half way through it, I'm searching for another one to read. This one I could not even put down. Some people said the book was slow and that Soloman's charac...
When it comes to any book, I am an extremely picky person. I usually start a book, but then sometimes not even half way through it, I'm searching for another one to read. This one I could not even put down. Some people said the book was slow and that Soloman's character wasn't thought out, well I disagree. I love the way the characters interacted and the dynamic between them, along with the dark tone that most vampire novels take on and the mythology and history that was weaved into it. I would suggest this one to anyone who truly wants to be lost in a book.

posted by wyntermoon on April 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Blech!

This book had so much potential, but never delivers. I could not connect to the characters at all. They were one dimensional and just boring. Too many things were said that made absolutely no sense in context to what was going on at the time. Big waste of $9.99...sh...
This book had so much potential, but never delivers. I could not connect to the characters at all. They were one dimensional and just boring. Too many things were said that made absolutely no sense in context to what was going on at the time. Big waste of $9.99...should have just flushed it down the toilet & saved myself the time wasted reading this book.

posted by blueyedirishgrl on May 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Totally Freaking Awesome

    When it comes to any book, I am an extremely picky person. I usually start a book, but then sometimes not even half way through it, I'm searching for another one to read. This one I could not even put down. Some people said the book was slow and that Soloman's character wasn't thought out, well I disagree. I love the way the characters interacted and the dynamic between them, along with the dark tone that most vampire novels take on and the mythology and history that was weaved into it. I would suggest this one to anyone who truly wants to be lost in a book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Elizabeth, a captive of academia, is a no-nonsense woman whose t

    Elizabeth, a captive of academia, is a no-nonsense woman whose trip to Romania is solely for the completion of her thesis. Elizabeth is wickedly smart—sometimes too smart for her own good—but it is the solid head on her shoulders that has gotten her so far in life. And yet, devastatingly, it is Elizabeth, whom, in the first of Marie Treanor's thrilling Awakened by Blood series, accidentally but fatefully brings Saloman, the last of the Ancient vampires, back from his grave. And this is when her safe, sensible life goes perfectly, disastrously awry.

    There are so many things about this book that I love—I'm not even sure where to start! The plot is gripping and fast-paced, and the history of vampires in its wake, fascinating. The premise involving Elizabeth's attraction to Saloman is tragic, but absolutely absorbing. As Saloman's Awakener, especially as an Awakener who is a descendent of one of Saloman's original slayers three-hundred years previously, Elizabeth is a powerhouse waiting to be bitten, and yet, an initial spark of attraction—a desperate plea for affection—prevents him from killing her. Lust-crazed, he may be—in his past life, he always got what he wanted: sex and blood—but there's just something about her that keeps him from delaying the prophesied. 

    The dynamic between Saloman and Elizabeth is charming, witty, and absolutely smoldering! In their first catastrophic encounter, Elizabeth escapes from his clutches by sweet-talking him, and even making him laugh. But after that, it's no longer fun and games; it's power, sweet, succulent power... but in the end, it's desire that consumes them both.

    Saloman's quest to take revenge against Zoltán, the evil vampire who has been in rule during his rest, is severely hindered by the distraction that is the naïve and beautiful Elizabeth Silk. During his unpeaceful rest, Saloman had no choice but to be patient, to be dead with his eyes open, but even he knows now it is time for vengeance. Yet the startlingly tender Elizabeth—the surprisingly hilarious and clever girl who's smart in all areas, except for those of herself—prevents him from leading a direct path to Zoltán. To me, this was the typical forbidden love story, nothing original, but I loved it nonetheless. What I didn't really favor was how vampires seem really idealized: all of them are attractive, all of the powerful ones have the same clichéd paranormal powers (telepathy, inhuman speed, etc.), which is a bit annoying. But if that's what it takes to create a character like Saloman, a girl can dream, right? LOL.

    The fine lines between love and hate, good and evil, and loyalty and betrayal are crossed, then crossed back in Blood on Silk, and the ride itself will leave you squirming in arousal and panting for breath. Treanor's eloquent, sensual writing style definitely enhances the story. This book was hard to put down and definitely hard to let go of.

    As for characters, Treanor does a splendid job fleshing them out really well, both primary and supporting. Elizabeth is extremely relatable, in that she's a quiet sort of beauty, who is still insecure in identity and desire. She is contradictory in herself: lonely but self-sufficient, innocent but cynical, solemn but witty, fearful but unexpectedly bold, reserved but entirely passionate. She's torn between the well-researched, highly driven vampire hunters who only want to help her, and the beckoning of true desire and obscured evil; I think any reader will be able to sympathize with her frustratingly mixed feelings. Having brought Saloman back to "life" (because he's still technically dead... or undead), she has the self-determined obligation to save humanity and put him back to rest, but her unbearable attraction to him tampers with her emotions and he in parallel, prevents her from fulfilling her duties as well.

    Saloman, on the other hand, is the exact opposite: sexually experienced, mysterious, and quite shady, but an enchantingly complex and deep character. Not much is revealed to readers about him, aside from what he tells Elizabeth, but he's the most powerful vampire in the world—who are we readers to trust him? I obviously swooned over him... he's such a perfect evil hero! Marie Treanor cunningly and delicately shapes a lovable, devastating vampire, one who's more human than we think. His struggle and greed for power fuels his passion, evil, and destruction, which I think is perfectly portrayed. Saloman is all of alluring, magnetic, and dangerous, and throughout the book, is someone Elizabeth gets to know by heart, but then again, not really much at all. I'm looking forward to discovering more of him in the next book, Blood Sin (review to come!).

    Both Elizabeth and Saloman fall for the monster in each other—he, for the enemy and she, for the evil—and in between the throes of passion, both will commit the ultimate act of surrender out of lust. But the question is raised: is it really only lust?

    From both characters' perspectives, the shame, humiliation, and lingering insecurity of being in love with someone who may have ulterior motives is so true to life. The torture of Saloman's ever-presence that remains in Elizabeth's mind causes her to behave recklessly, and drives her into an emotional mess... but no one ever said love would be easy. And so readers recognize, love in Saloman was something she did not expect, but to be fair, love in Elizabeth was not Saloman expected, either.

    The unworldly and rather reclusive Elizabeth helplessly opens her heart up to Saloman, and he, even more tragically, does the same to her. Treanor magically and precariously sheds light upon the importance of living in the moment, in the name of love, while weaving a heart-pounding, steamy love story about two lost individuals who find each other even under the most extenuating of circumstances. 

    Pros:
    Saloman is a perfectly evil, dangerous, provocative, swoon-worthy, marvelous character // Elizabeth is extremely relatable and likable // Witty, sexy banter // Explosive love scenes // Awesome secondary characters that are also well-developed // Forbidden love is heart-wrenching and equally hot // Plot is well-formed, with many facets explored and still unrevealed // Stylistically smooth

    Cons:
    Elizabeth reacts lustily every time Saloman remotely comes near her and Saloman has an erection every time she comes remotely near him // Vampires are way too glamorized

    Love:
    "You really are a bit of a bastard, aren't you, Saloman?"
    "Oh no. I'm a complete and utter bastard. One can perfect these things over the millennia."

    Verdict:
    The pages of Blood on Silk are absolutely scorching hot. From the chemistry between the main characters, to the heartbreaking storyline involving a star-crossed encounter and fate, this modern vampire tale combines the mystique of the world's oldest paranormals, with the enamoring backdrop of Scotland, and it's one you don't want to miss. The characterization is strong, the sex hot, and the love powerful in Marie Treanor's Awakened by Blood debut. False hopes, unconquerable desires, and the repercussions of unspoken longings convey a powerful message in Blood on Silk: that when it comes to love, sometimes doing the right thing, isn't always the best thing 

    9 hearts: Loved it! This book has a spot on my favorites shelf 

    Source: Complimentary copy provided by publisher, via Bewitching Book Tours, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review (thank you both!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    G

    Hhhjj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bring on more Silk!

    Elizabeth Silk is a Scottish academic working on her thesis about the lore of vampirism and what conditions fostered the "myths." While in Romania, she is manipulated into awakening an ancient vampire, Saloman, who has been stilled in a crypt for over 300 years. The story takes off at this juncture as Saloman seeks to avenge those who caused him to be in repose and to reassume the power he once had. Elizabeth becomes a pawn for so many who have a stake in the matter. I fell in love with the story, Elizabeth and Saloman and had a hard time putting it aside. Elizabeth and Saloman have an unusual relationship to say the least and Treanor has crafted some of the most seductive writing I've come across in quite awhile. The interplay between them is written brilliantly and on point with the characters. The writing is really good, the pace is perfect, the characters are well defined and the leads are erotically sexy in a GOOD way:) The story is extremely interesting and unpredictable without being absurd. The vampire world is reminiscent of those of old so there are no gimmicks here, simply greed, jealousy, revenge and power struggles at play in a fascinating way.  It's great that this is a series because I want more. Ironically, Elizabeth is called the Awakener but you can assert that Saloman served the same role for her just in a different way. Only someone as guileless as Elizabeth  could have intrigued Saloman so completely.  Be forewarned...for fans of the Night Huntress series, this book has a scene in the Angel Club to rival Chapter 32. Enough said. I'm ready for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    If you like Twilight you will love this.

    This book was absolutely awesome!!! I loved Salomon's character and can't wait for the next book in this series to come out. As a humongous Twilight fan I have been searching endlessly for some good reads that will keep me interested like Mrs. Meyers 4 novels did. This one is a definate keeper. The female character was also really intreaging. The only disapointment was that I wanted more and still do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fans will enjoy Marie Treanor's entertaining tale

    Elizabeth Silk researches the vampire mythos for her dissertation in the Romanian village of Dmitriu. Speaking Romanian with the locals, several mention a nearby castle ruin where they insist Saloman the vampire was staked. She visits the site and accidentally falls into a hidden crypt. Inadvertently Elizabeth opens up a sealed sarcophagus.

    The moment the lid falls off, Prince Saloman steps out from the sarcophagus prison that held him captive since he was staked three hundred years ago. Being an ancient vampire, Saloman is extremely powerful. He and his "savior" are bound by her rescuing him and their mutual desire as he craves her innocent blood and she yearns for his touch especially his teeth. However, she must decide if her attraction should tie them through the bond of blood or sacrifice her love to the encroaching vampire hunter horde coming to kill him.

    Although nothing new is added to the sub-genre, Blood on Silk is an entertaining vampire romance. Whereas Saloman is a typical; arrogant vampire right out of the casting, the key to the fine story line is Elizabeth who has readers wondering if she will be his eternal love or his Judas. Fans will enjoy Marie Treanor's entertaining tale

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1