Customer Reviews for

Bloodfever (Fever Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2829 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1843)

4 Star

(657)

3 Star

(176)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Book! First in the Fever Series by K.M. Moning. A MUST READ.

I have read this book several times after fist purchasing it in paperback. I enjoyed it so much, I decided to add it to my permanent personal library, along with each of the books in Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series. This way, I can re-read each book just before th...
I have read this book several times after fist purchasing it in paperback. I enjoyed it so much, I decided to add it to my permanent personal library, along with each of the books in Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series. This way, I can re-read each book just before the latest installment in the series is released. Definitely one of the best of the fantasy-style stories I have ever read. This book is chock-full of great characters, beginning with Mac, the heroine, through Barrons, the hero or villain?, among many other fully-fleshed characters. The line between reality and "faery" has never been thinner! Great read on a rainy day, busy day, dull day, or any other!

posted by TPW117 on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

THIS BOOK IS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!

I read the first book and loved it. This book had so little going on that I had to check to make sure who the author was. Yeah, it was Karen. What in the world happened? Too much sun in Florida? To say I was disappointed is putting it mildly. I bought the 3rd book...
I read the first book and loved it. This book had so little going on that I had to check to make sure who the author was. Yeah, it was Karen. What in the world happened? Too much sun in Florida? To say I was disappointed is putting it mildly. I bought the 3rd book and KMM is definitely on my don't buy list. She started to sink with this volume and I will not be recommending this series to anyone. I am so disappointed that I won't buy another hard back copy of her books. I'm on a limited budget now and she is on my Do-Not-Buy list. This book was slow, the characters were tedious and for all the action? Sheesh, she could have put it in 2 pages. I don't mind a series to tell a story. But I do mind when an author wastes my time on her ego and a bunch of words that should have been caught by an editor. My recommendation - muck out a barn instead of reading this book and the 3rd book of this series. It will be a lot more exciting and a lot more interesting. I read constantly. But, it took forever to get through this book. And I couldn't believe that I wasted anytime on her. She has lost her touch in this book

posted by Patokagwp on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 657 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    Is the eBook abridged ?

    I noticed the trade paperback is listed at 368 pages. The ebook has 243. The ebook has transition problems in the flow of the story - there seem to be missing passages. I find it unlikely that a change of font can account for a pagination difference of over 120 pages. Has anyone else noticed this? Adds for the ebook say nothing about it being abridged. If the ebook has been abridged, then the lower price is not really such a good deal.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the first!

    I enjoyed the second book ten times better than the first. The thoughts were more complete and the story seemed better developed. I am glad I kept with reading the series. I am looking forward to the third book now!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the first

    I'm glad that I continued reading this series cause I was really turned off by the first one. I feel the charater has grown a little balls in this one and now I really enjoyed it. I will say this though she left it on a cliff hanger and I always hate that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    An awesome series (and book) full of hilarious commentary and romantic tension in the midst of chilling, supernatural circumstances. This is a darker setting than I expected, but I could NOT put the books down. Moning definitely sucks the reader into the storyline.The only complaint is that once you finish the last book, you have to wait for the next to learn what happens ! They all definitely end with cliff-hangers! If you haven't read the first book in the series, you should definitely start there. However, you can (like I did) read this one first...but you miss out on the plot and character development started in book 1 (darkfever).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    It gets better ...

    DarkFever established the dark world of the Fae in Ireland, and Mac searches out her sister's murderer only to stumble on this other world that is encroaching into this one. She is aided by the irascible Jericho Barrons. They hate each other. In this the second book, they're working more closely together, and, yes, they still hate each other. And yet ... I'm willing to wait for the payoff in this, and applaud Ms. Moning's wisdom in allowing the relationship to progress at a 'realistic' pace, given the complex and dangerous situations the two main characters must face. I'd characterize this book as being very like a thriller. And even though Mac is young, she is maturing before our very eyes in a believable way. She's also funny, which serves as a good foil to Barrons' darkness. I'll be waiting for book number 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Cant stop!

    What I love about this author and this series is the two main characters don't just fall in love with each other in 100 pages. They have this undeniable chemistry and so full of mystery and suspense. Just great storytelling!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    i like this book

    i like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Better than book one

    Enjoyed this one more than book one. Still a little frustrated at the slow pace of storytelling but still worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Why oh why did I wait so long to read this? I enjoyed the fir

    Why oh why did I wait so long to read this? I enjoyed the first one so one would think that the next in the series would be read as soon as possible. Such was not the case. I'm glad to finally get to it.

    With so long between books, I once again was afraid of missing information. But, I never once felt lost with the story line. The author does a fantastic job feeling in the gaps when bridging the two books. The events build off what has already occurred. Jericho covets Mac's special ability to locate objects of power. Things that shouldn't be in human hands (and maybe not in the hand of the Fae either). I find it interesting how these objects give off vibes that Mac can sense. And the Sinsar Dubh give off a vibe so powerful that it knocks Mac unconscious just to be near it. How can they every locate it if she can't get near it? And who has it? Those are two questions that I'm dieing to know.

    Mac has changed a lot since we meet her in book one. Gone is the carefree spoiled little girl. She's harded a lot by the events that she has been forced to witness. I think it's evident by the way she handles the detective (who is bound a determined to pin something on her) and the brother of a man she killed (who is determined to extract revenge on whoever was responsible for his brother's death). Ever a surprise visit for her father doesn't crumble her determination to punish the one who caused her sisters death.

    There's less V'lane in this story. Something I wasn't quite sure about. He seems to be struggling with his own feelings towards Mac. He has a hard time understanding why is advances to work on Mac the way they normally do. And then he does something that totally surprises me. He's definitely not your typical Seelie prince. There is lots of Jericho in this story. The tension between Mac and Jericho you can cut with a knife. I'm begging to understand a little bit about him and can't wait to find out more.

    A bit slower than the first book, but still an great read. I'll have to make sure that the next one doesn't take so long to get to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    This is book 2 in the ┬┐Fever┬┐ series, and kicks off where the fi

    This is book 2 in the ‘Fever’ series, and kicks off where the first book left off.
    Mac is recovering from the beating she took at the end of Darkfever, and now she has even more problems. The detective covering her sister’s case has been murdered, and now another police detective is watching her every move, her father is desperate to get her home safely, possibly desperate enough to even chase her to Dublin, and it seems that the unseelies (in particular the shades) are still very much out to get her. Then there’s the grim reaper who appears to be following her (although no one else seems to be able to see him), as well as the matter of the person who murdered her sister still at large.

    As it stands she’s still being used as Barron’s very own OOP (object of power) detector, and whilst she is currently taking the spear everywhere with her, still has no idea where the Sinsar Dubh is. She’s also still got the strange old woman seer to deal with, the worry of what really happened to the vampire Malluce, and Barrons to figure out on top of it all!

    Just how many people are looking for the Sinsar Dubh though? How far will they go to get it? And will she ever get revenge on her sister’s murderer?

    I enjoyed this book, although it did seem very slow in places, but then fast-paced in others, which was a little irritaring. Thankfully the last 20% of this book saved it for me!
    Mac was her same sweet southern self, even after all she’d been through, and Barrons continued to be a bit of an enigma. There were plenty of nasties about, and some seriously disgusting choices that Mac had to make in order to stay alive. There were also some intruiging events right at the end which make me curious to see what lies in store for Mac in the next book.
    7.5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Really Good Series

    Started with book #1 as a free Nook book, and I was hooked. Luckily the whole series is out now, so I didn't have to wait for the next installment. Enjoyed the fantasy and the descriptions of the characters. More sex, or talk about sex than I expected, just be prepared if this is an issue. I like getting to know the characters more deeply than you can in just one book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Great

    Mmm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Great read

    enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting 2nd book to series

    Mac is still figuring out her powers while staying in Barrons' bookstore. Barrons is still the same except towards the end you start to see him get a bit possessive over Mac. This book pretty much picks up where Darkfever left off.

    However, in this book there are new characters added into the story. Mac finds other Sidhe-seer's who have congregated together in an abbey. She makes a visit with them to figure out who/what she is.

    Barrons is still the same. However, he is starting to show feelings towards Mac. He doesn't try to woo her but he has started to view her more as the woman Mac than as his OOP detector. When she disappears with V'lane he is incredibly jealous and pissed. However, no matter what happens in this book he still maintains his distant cool and acts like she doesn't matter to him.

    This book didn't really progress storywise, it was more like a build up for the next book. You find out the Mac cannot be near the book without passing out because she is too pure. She finds other sidhe-seer's like her and plans to get answers from them. She meets up with a guy who knew her sister before she died. All of these go unanswered with promises that the next book will fill you in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    Its a good read I keep buying the series.

    I like the books, because I like reading these kind of Mythical books. Its a little strange with the creatures, but I do want to keep reading them and buying them. I would read this - if you like these kinds of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Good addition to series.

    Good addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRST BOOK

    This book is much better than the first in this series. But once again, the book ends with out warning and you have to read the next in the series to get any answers. Kind of irritates me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Good Book Good Read

    By the time you get to the second one in the series you can hardly wait to read the third. Keeps you interested. Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read!

    I would have given this series four stars, but the protagonist tends to get a little long-winded. I enjoy hearing her thoughts and feelings, but sometimes she spends too much time explaining her thoughts and feelings. Other than that, the story is enjoyable and quick to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 657 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 33