Customer Reviews for

Bloodfever (Fever Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 2833 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1846)

4 Star

(657)

3 Star

(177)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(106)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Great Book! First in the Fever Series by K.M. Moning. A MUST READ.

I have read this book several times after fist purchasing it in paperback. I enjoyed it so much, I decided to add it to my permanent personal library, along with each of the books in Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series. This way, I can re-read each book just before th...
I have read this book several times after fist purchasing it in paperback. I enjoyed it so much, I decided to add it to my permanent personal library, along with each of the books in Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series. This way, I can re-read each book just before the latest installment in the series is released. Definitely one of the best of the fantasy-style stories I have ever read. This book is chock-full of great characters, beginning with Mac, the heroine, through Barrons, the hero or villain?, among many other fully-fleshed characters. The line between reality and "faery" has never been thinner! Great read on a rainy day, busy day, dull day, or any other!

posted by TPW117 on September 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

THIS BOOK IS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!

I read the first book and loved it. This book had so little going on that I had to check to make sure who the author was. Yeah, it was Karen. What in the world happened? Too much sun in Florida? To say I was disappointed is putting it mildly. I bought the 3rd book...
I read the first book and loved it. This book had so little going on that I had to check to make sure who the author was. Yeah, it was Karen. What in the world happened? Too much sun in Florida? To say I was disappointed is putting it mildly. I bought the 3rd book and KMM is definitely on my don't buy list. She started to sink with this volume and I will not be recommending this series to anyone. I am so disappointed that I won't buy another hard back copy of her books. I'm on a limited budget now and she is on my Do-Not-Buy list. This book was slow, the characters were tedious and for all the action? Sheesh, she could have put it in 2 pages. I don't mind a series to tell a story. But I do mind when an author wastes my time on her ego and a bunch of words that should have been caught by an editor. My recommendation - muck out a barn instead of reading this book and the 3rd book of this series. It will be a lot more exciting and a lot more interesting. I read constantly. But, it took forever to get through this book. And I couldn't believe that I wasted anytime on her. She has lost her touch in this book

posted by Patokagwp on July 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1842 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 93
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    Great Book! First in the Fever Series by K.M. Moning. A MUST READ.

    I have read this book several times after fist purchasing it in paperback. I enjoyed it so much, I decided to add it to my permanent personal library, along with each of the books in Karen Marie Moning's Fever Series. This way, I can re-read each book just before the latest installment in the series is released. Definitely one of the best of the fantasy-style stories I have ever read. This book is chock-full of great characters, beginning with Mac, the heroine, through Barrons, the hero or villain?, among many other fully-fleshed characters. The line between reality and "faery" has never been thinner! Great read on a rainy day, busy day, dull day, or any other!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    Great Read

    Very Good Book Did Not See Some Of The Plots Coming At You

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    This is the 2nd book in the Fever Series and it is great! It picks up right where Darkfever left off, and it just gets better from there!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The second Fever paranormal thriller is a dark tale

    In Dublin the barriers that separate the realms of mankind and Faery is collapsing. Twenty-two years old MacKayla Lane left her native Georgia when her sister Alina was murdered in a Dublin alley (see DARK FEVER). What she learned has nuked her southern existence as she finds out she (and Alina) contain the DNA of ancient Celtic sidhe-seers who fight the Fae. Now she seeks vengeance against those otherworldly abominations that killed her sibling.--------------- Mac¿s objective is to kill the dark Lord Master, but needs the black magic tome, Sinsar Dubh. She distrusts her ally ancient books and other antiquities vendor Jericho Barrons, but has no choice if she is to prevent the Lord Master from totally destroying the barrier.----------- The second Fever paranormal thriller is a dark tale told mostly by the heroine, who paints a scary deadly Dublin otherworld. Mac is learning on the job, as she remains focused on her avenging mission although the mysterious Barrons is quite a distracter even as she wonders whose side he is on. The enemy Lord Master seems so much more powerful than our tyro champion however, fans will root for Mac who knows she better become proficient rather quickly or she will join her sister on the other side of the Moning mythological pantheon. P Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bloody Fabulous!

    After getting book 1 for free from ebooks I was hooked. So captivating you won't be able to put the book down finding when you do its 2 am. Moning weaves a fabulous plot of a naive girl who starts to change into a strong woman. Not to mention the men that enter Mac's life - trying to decifer if they are trustworthy or not. Secrets, intrigue, ancient myths and legends, throw in those mysterious men and the Fae Prince what more can you ask for. Leaves you just dying to find out where Moning will lead you to the final destination and outcome. Don't pass this Series up its fantastic you won't be disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2010

    Really Really good and addicting

    This series is very addictive! I loved all the books, because they kept me on my toes. Now I am waiting for the last book to come out in December. Just beware though, Karen is known for her cliff hangers. It will make you want to pull out your hair!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    A series that just won't let you go.

    A different twist in reading than my usual choice. Found this series to be one that I cannot put down as the author leaves you hanging at the end of each book. Although the storyline is a bit on the bizzare and unrealistic side I really loved reading this series of stories. Ms. Moning is definitely a talented writer because you are left wanting more.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Bloodfever is the second installment of the Fever series. I have not included any spoilers but there might be a few from the first installment, Darkfever.

    The Lord Master is freeing the darkest enemies imaginable. He is letting them roam free among humanity. MacKayla can see these creatures and with Jericho Barrons help they must discover how to close the portal. Since the first installment of the Fever series, MacKayla has grown and matured a lot. She is still coping with the death of her sister but that only fuels her passion for stopping the Lord Master. We still see a glimpse of the old MacKayla with her dreams of having a normal life with lots of pretty rainbows but now she has some harsher edges which helps her in the end.

    Jericho and MacKayla are still hunting for Fae artifacts. She has started to get use to Jericho's way of working but at times she still is very frustrated. The pull between the two of them is very palpable and we are always on the edge wondering if they will take the next step with each other. MacKayla comes upon others that are like her and now she sees that she has other options then Jericho. Seeds of doubt are placed in her mind from both sides leaving her conflicted. Should she continue her allegiance to Jericho or set out on a new path to learn more of what powers she possesses.

    Another blow against MacKayla, she has learned that her sister's ex-boyfriend and murderer, Malluce, is still alive (or as alive as one could be in his state). He is out for revenge and he is not going to hold back. And if that isn't enough, V'lane the Fae prince is still coming to her in all is sexual glory.

    Once again Moning has created a fast-paced gripping read. The reader is wrapped up in MacKayla's life and near death and when Bloodfever ends our fingers tingle to pick up the next installment, Faefever, with feverish anticipation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Too Amazing not to read

    What I love about Karen Marie Moning's Fever series is that she concludes most chapters with a cliffhanger. After reading about an hour one night, I told myself "as soon as I finish this chapter, I'm going to bed." Well, at the end of the chapter, Moning had a one-sentence cliffhanger. How am I supposed to fall asleep? So I continued reading. Another hour passed. "Last chapter," I kept telling myself as each chapter ended and another began. Moning has a way of drawing the reader into her world.
    In Bloodfever, Mac is set on revenge. She knows who killed her sister, and she wants him dead. Barrons on the other hand disappears quite often throughout the novel, leaving Mac to fend for herself. The other sidhe-seers are trying to recruit her, she is being followed by a "grim reaper," not to mention the hunters are out looking for her- it's a lot to handle. However, I will give Barrons credit, he is starting to show genuine concern for Mac's safety. There were some situations where Barrons really came through. I just wish he'd open up to her. Then, we, the readers, would know a little bit more about him. This sequel combined everything that I love in a book- paranormal, romance, comedy, adventure, danger, and suspense. My recommendation: read it. READ IT!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ***Another fantastic book from KMM****

    Karen Marie Moning style of writing is wonderfully unique. I couldn't put it down. The characters are alive and vivid, you can't help but love a hero and hate a villian. Can't wait to start the next Fever Series book (FAEFEVER).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Feel The Fever!

    I really enjoy reading Karen Marie Monings Fever series books. This book is enthralling. Anyone wanting to escape the daily grind with a promise of mystery, dark adventure & some promise of longing will enjoy reading this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Running a High Fever

    So okay, cheesy headline, but OMG!! The only thing I hated about this book was I had to wait almost a year to find out what happened next. Karen Marie Moning is doing a tremendous job slowly turning her rainbow Mac into a delicious dark cloud. More characters are introduced along with more questions. Raise your hands if you think it's Jericho under the garage making the ground shake with his howling. Dude, what is he?!?!? I need to know!! Obviously, I'm completely-head over heels-want to devour any information I can attain-in love with this series. I really want to hop on a plane, head to Dublin, post haste, and join the fight with Mac. There aren't enough stars in the world to give this book (and the entire series) a high enough rating. And, Karen, if you let them make a movie out of this, I have only one recommendation...don't mess it up. No pressure or anything, I'll still keep my fingers crossed for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    Amazing

    I am finding some of the other reviews for this book a bit appalling. Perhaps they should read what KMM herself has to say about the progression of the series. If you're looking for her old highlanders in these books, you aren't going to find them. This is an all NEW type of series, and people need to get into the frame of mind for it and not expect it to be what it's not. I started the series with an open mind, and I have NOT been disappointed AT ALL. It's amazing, engrossing, and fascinating. I could hardly tear myself away from reading this second book!!! I have been on the edge of my seat and I am in this series for the long haul. I am eagerly waiting to see what is going to happen next. I would really encourage people to read it and enjoy it for what it is -- not a romance novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Amazing!

    My my my, Karen has done it again! I loved it! Couldn't put it down. I was so disappointed when it ended! Can't wait for the other one! Need it! Need it now!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Must have more!

    These two books were great. I only hope that she releases the other three a lot faster than the first two.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2007

    Loved It

    I loved this book, I read Darkfever and thought it was great. I think Karen Marie Moning is a good writer. I have been on her website and read that her Fever Series wasn't going to be her typical Romance (Highlander Series) Bloodfever is the second book and I read it in one sitting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Awesome

    I love this series. Its not your basic HEA. It relates more to real life. I love this book. She shows how Mac is evolving and that she is getting stonger. I just love ALL of KMM's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    It just keeps getting better!

    KMM has done it again! After Darkfever, I was highly anticipating the release of Bloodfever, and a year later, it's finally here. It lived up to and exceeded all of my expectations. Now if only it were time for Faefever to be released. I'm dying to find out what happens next. You absolutely must pick up this book -- NOW!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    I could not put this down!!!

    I have always liked Karen Marie Moning's books, but after reading Blood Fever I have become an avid and HUGE fan! I could not put this book down. The story just keeeps getting better and better, and I am now in love with Barrons!!! One of the best reads I have had in a while! I cannot wait for the next book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Great series!

    So this book has me hooked!! cant't wait to read more about these characters......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1842 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 93