Customer Reviews for

Bloodhound (Beka Cooper Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Where did our trust go?

I've read through "Bloodhound" twice now, and I just recently looked through the other reviews. I was surprised to see so many people upset that Ms. Pierce took this book in a new direction.

It's true: many of the characters in the first book of the series ("Terrier...
I've read through "Bloodhound" twice now, and I just recently looked through the other reviews. I was surprised to see so many people upset that Ms. Pierce took this book in a new direction.

It's true: many of the characters in the first book of the series ("Terrier") only make brief appearances in this book. But have faith, people! Tamora Pierce rarely introduces and names a character without making them an integral part of the series AS A WHOLE. The series isn't finished! Hold your horses!

I have faith that Rosto, Kora, Ersken, Aniki, and the rest will have plenty to say and do in "Mastiff", the next installment of this series. Many of you were angry at Ms. Pierce for neglecting the Beka-Rosto love story, but she often gives her characters multiple romantic interests before elaborating on the best option. Think Alanna-Jon-Liam-George here folks.

And besides, these aren't romance novels; they're adventure stories! The romance is certainly lovely, I'll admit. But as far as the Protector of the Small books being bad simply because Ms. Pierce didn't secure a life-long romance for Keladry? That's poppycock. You should be reading the Twilight series for that sort of romance.

"Bloodhound" is a great book with a lot to say about a lot of very relevant issues, including (but not limited to) homosexuality, the economy, torture methodology, and a woman's perceived "place" in the world. If you can't appreciate any of that simply because Beka and Rosto don't have a make-out session, you'd really better try a re-read.

posted by iamnotanelf on May 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment and What a long wait

If anyone else is a HUGE fan of the Tortallion quartets and Ms. Pierce's other Tortallian books, including Terrier, then you most definitely going to go out and buy Bloodhound.
Fans of Becca Cooper have eagerly been awaiting the arrival of this book since 2006 and can ...
If anyone else is a HUGE fan of the Tortallion quartets and Ms. Pierce's other Tortallian books, including Terrier, then you most definitely going to go out and buy Bloodhound.
Fans of Becca Cooper have eagerly been awaiting the arrival of this book since 2006 and can I say what a waste of time? Unlike the first one, this one has a very weak storyline. The characters are forgettable and some of the best ones are only in the beginning and the end.
Not to give away any spoilers, but Becca winds up "giving herself" to another guy. Things with Rosto have progressed no further, and he is only mentioned probably 6 times throughout the whole book.

All I can say is what happened? From such a talented author, comes this... 'novel'? There were no new elements of surprise, no twist in the plot, no witty dialogue or memorable lines.

Compared to her other books, this just didn't compare.

I also have to point out that Ms. Pierce brought homosexuality into it. Becca's cousin is gay and his "partner" is involved in the story. I am very disappointed in that as well. That was one of the main reasons I didn't like her Circle of Magic books. It almost felt like propaganda towards gays because she kept throwing it in...

So, for people like me who have been waiting since 2006, was it worth it? Absolutely 100% NOT.


Wow. What a disappointment.

posted by Antram_lover on May 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Where did our trust go?

    I've read through "Bloodhound" twice now, and I just recently looked through the other reviews. I was surprised to see so many people upset that Ms. Pierce took this book in a new direction.

    It's true: many of the characters in the first book of the series ("Terrier") only make brief appearances in this book. But have faith, people! Tamora Pierce rarely introduces and names a character without making them an integral part of the series AS A WHOLE. The series isn't finished! Hold your horses!

    I have faith that Rosto, Kora, Ersken, Aniki, and the rest will have plenty to say and do in "Mastiff", the next installment of this series. Many of you were angry at Ms. Pierce for neglecting the Beka-Rosto love story, but she often gives her characters multiple romantic interests before elaborating on the best option. Think Alanna-Jon-Liam-George here folks.

    And besides, these aren't romance novels; they're adventure stories! The romance is certainly lovely, I'll admit. But as far as the Protector of the Small books being bad simply because Ms. Pierce didn't secure a life-long romance for Keladry? That's poppycock. You should be reading the Twilight series for that sort of romance.

    "Bloodhound" is a great book with a lot to say about a lot of very relevant issues, including (but not limited to) homosexuality, the economy, torture methodology, and a woman's perceived "place" in the world. If you can't appreciate any of that simply because Beka and Rosto don't have a make-out session, you'd really better try a re-read.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What a disappointment and What a long wait

    If anyone else is a HUGE fan of the Tortallion quartets and Ms. Pierce's other Tortallian books, including Terrier, then you most definitely going to go out and buy Bloodhound.
    Fans of Becca Cooper have eagerly been awaiting the arrival of this book since 2006 and can I say what a waste of time? Unlike the first one, this one has a very weak storyline. The characters are forgettable and some of the best ones are only in the beginning and the end.
    Not to give away any spoilers, but Becca winds up "giving herself" to another guy. Things with Rosto have progressed no further, and he is only mentioned probably 6 times throughout the whole book.

    All I can say is what happened? From such a talented author, comes this... 'novel'? There were no new elements of surprise, no twist in the plot, no witty dialogue or memorable lines.

    Compared to her other books, this just didn't compare.

    I also have to point out that Ms. Pierce brought homosexuality into it. Becca's cousin is gay and his "partner" is involved in the story. I am very disappointed in that as well. That was one of the main reasons I didn't like her Circle of Magic books. It almost felt like propaganda towards gays because she kept throwing it in...

    So, for people like me who have been waiting since 2006, was it worth it? Absolutely 100% NOT.


    Wow. What a disappointment.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    Fantastically horrible

    I've been reading Pierce's books since 1998. I am very disappointed in the lack of quality writing that this book has. The plot of the story is so promising but Pierce does not deliver. Beka is completely different, the story does NOT flow, and Pierce tries way too hard to make the language sound genuine to the time period (it's painful reading it). I bought this book the day it came out and unlike any of the other books, I'm having a very hard time pushing myself to read this rubbish. I'm not even half way done! I can not connect with any of the characters. Beka's "shyness" seems like an after thought, Goodwin is COMPLETELY devoid of her previous character, and I can not see why sex has to ALWAYS be placed somewhere in Pierce's books weakening the heroine and making me want to throw up. Please Ms. Pierce, next time provide me with a better written book. As a loyal fan of yours I will continue to read your books, but I am very disappointed with this one.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pierce fan of 6+ years disappointed.

    **Warning, spoilers are below!**

    I have been reading Pierce's Tortallan series since I could understand the storyline. I've been waiting for Bloodhound for 2 1/2 years and I was seriously disappointed in Pierce. Not only does Pierce start out in a completely new setting, which was interesting, but it cut out the majority of characters that made the first book in the series so strong. The storyline itself is too slow paced to work for the conclusion of Beka's story and the romance is not tied up at the end, but rather left loose and open such as Pierce did with the Keladry series.

    I will commend Pierce for dating back and trying to write about a legend of present-day Tortall, but I would have loved to wait another year if it meant a stronger story line as well as a good chunk of the other characters. The mere fact that the spark between Rosto and Beka is completely not mentioned in the book was ridiculous. Why would you have a romance in the first book about to bloom and then avoid it in the second book? Also, I felt like the book itself was not believable in some parts. You cannot just place someone on the throne of the Rogue like they did when replacing Pearl. There are customs and there should have been a fight of some kind. I was also trying to figure out why Pierce didn't just put the counterfeiting into her original setting.

    For all of you avid Pierce readers, please do NOT waste your money on Bloodhound. I have never been so disappointed with a novel of hers since the Keladry series.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I CAN'T WAIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED the first book soooooooo much!! Beka is one of my favorite Tamora Pierce Characters (the other being Ally). I love the whole story sooo much. It made me laugh and cry at times, it was so suspenseful that i finished it in two days because i couldn't put it down. I really hope that Rosto and Beka get together in this book because they were so great in the first one, but i am kind of apprehensive because it isn't set in Corus and stuff and she's on a special mission or something and i just really hope i like it as much as the first one. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes to read fantasy, it will captivate you and leave you thirsting for more. I also recommend anything else by Tamora Pierce, Erin Hunter, Christopher Paolini, Rick Riordan, or Stephanie Meyer.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Mirkat 23, someone who's dying for another Tortall novel

    I can't wait for it its amazing and Beka is so awesome the way that when she gets her teeth in she never lets go. And doesn't it have to be Rosto because he doesn't have a last name and the family line is Cooper. I hope so it'll be interesting to see how a Dog could date the Rogue himself after all. Yay, i think i might go mad waiting for it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    WORTH THE WAIT!!!!!

    Tamora Pierce shines with another wonderful installment to the World of Tortall series! I waited forever for this book to come out!It was definately worth the wait! I can't wait for the next one and highly recommend it!

    Also recommend the rest of the World of Tortall series; Inheritance Cycle; Harry Potter series; House of Night series; Twilight series; and the Wicked Lovely series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    this was not up to par with the rest of her tortallan books

    the story moved very slowly, it wasnt as fast paced as her writing normally is. beka's relationship w/ dale felt forced. she doesnt trust people she doesnt know so why would she sleep w/ dale. he didnt sound fun he felt like he was using her. their whole relationship doesnt make sense to me. he was just obnoxious. i know tamora does many love interests in her books (George, Jonathan, George, Liam, George) but at least in those relationships we saw the realationship and we liked the characters. dale seems like tamora was forcing another love interest w/o building up the character and without showwing us much of hims so we didnt really end up liking him at all. she was just forcing another love interest. all the people we love from the first book arent in it and the end of the book was very anticlimactic. we dont even see rosto's reaction to her and dale which was something i was looking foreward to. the book ends suddenly w/o resolving any character problems. the best part of the book were the first 200 pages but nothing really happened in them they were just background info and setting up the new plot. this was no where as good as Terrier which i loved. the book is good, its by Tamora Pierce but compared to her usual stuff this is no where near it. and especially after waiting 3 years i expected something better. also the trilogy needs to be rapped up in the next book and i dont feel Beka really progressed that much in this book except when Dale broke it off and she had to deal with that but we dont even see her dealing with it. the next book better be a lot better and long so that beka ends the trilogy as an adult.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    Though somewhat darker then some of her earlier work. Bloodhound is a wonderful book full of suspense and action. You see Beka grow as a character and though she was all ready a compelling character from the first book Bloodhound see her developed more. Can't say enought about this book. Must read Terrier, the first in the series in order to get a full understanding of what is going on.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    Pierce delivers again!

    Bloodhound is an amazing, must read book for any Pierce fan. There's a little bit of everything: action, romance, mystery. I can't wait for another Beka Cooper story!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Terrior By: Tamora Pierce

    I think that this book is really great. I think this because the moment you open the book you are pulled into the story. I like how you can relate to her characters and you never want to stop reading her book and you can't put it down.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I can't wait!

    I loved Terrier and I can't wait until this book comes out. I want Beka and Rosto to get together. George has Beka's last name and Rosto does not have a last name so I think they get together and Rosto takes her last name or at least I hope so.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Confused

    I am confused why everybody hates this book. I thought it was very nice and I enjoyed Beka's romantic issues. I also enjoyed seeing a new place, because, we've seen so dang much of Corus, that I practically know the whole thing. (No, no jk) i also enjoyed Beka's work with Goodwin, and her struggle with Pounce not being around. I enjoyed meeting Achoo, and throughly enjoyed this book. So, people, I don't understand why you dislike it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    SCREAMING WITH ANTICIPATION!!!!!!!!!!

    I havent finished the book yet but I am dieng to know how it ends! I...well...sort of read the back of Mastiff in a book store. Ever since that awful and horrifying experiance, I hope that Beka doesnt end up with Rosto. Everytime a new cove enters the picture i say " please let him be the one!" But so far: disappears, too old, disappears, gay...the suspense is killing me!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    A suspenseful, action-packed sequel

    Tamora Pierce's Bloodhound includes a unique plot where Beka has to find the mastermind behind a colemongeling operation. During the story, Beka experiences romance, chases, and creates a greater bond with her partner, Goodwin. To succeed, Beka must be able to act, devise convincing lies, and, of course, defeat rats. Each page will keep you wanting to know what happens next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    tamora pierce

    have you read bloodhound? or are you wanting to buy the book. Ill give you some advice on that. if you want to buy it, go and buy it. if youve already read it, go ahead and read it again. thats how good this book is. I recommend it 100 percent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    What happened?

    I was so disappointed in this book! I loved the first book it was amazing, but Bloodhound fell short. The fact that most of the characters for the first book were completely out of the picture greatly weakened the book. The change in setting was also fairly disappointing Beka's connection to the lower city in the first book was a very strong component of the book and brought a lot to the story and Beka's character. The plot of book two was terrible compared to book one. Did anyone else notice that the cover of the book had to be changed due to changes in the plot? You can find pictures of what it originally was going to be online, it looks much better . This book did not live up to its full potential and pales in comparison to Terrier.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Does justice to Mrs. Tamora and the series!

    Couldn't put this book down from start to finish. I look Tamora"s books and with each one it gets better and better than I thought it even could. This is my favorite author and next to the Trickster's Choice series this is one of my favorite series of hers. Must read for young girls, young women, older women, just women in general and mabe men you like strong women. ;p

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love Ms. Pierce's books!

    I loved this book even more than the first book. It was thrilling and a fun read. I recommend every book By Tamora Pierce, though reading them in the order they were written is best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Tamora Pierce's best

    Bloodhound is one of those books you can't put down until you're done, and when you finish, you're satisfied. And yet...I can't wait for the next one.

    Beka has grown as a woman and a Dog since the last book ended, and yet she still acts as though she's an overeager Puppy. When she loses yet another partner and is sent back to Goodwin and Tunstall, she begins to get more and more frustrated with the work of the Dogs. She begins to understand that not all Dogs love the work as she does, and her nickname, "Terrier", can often be turned against her.

    She and Goodwin have to go on a Hunt to Port Caynn, to sniff out a colesmithing (counterfitter's) ring. When Goodwin goes back to Corus to report, all hell breaks loose, and Beka is left to fend for herself.

    A fantastic read, Bloodhound is full of the fun we have come to associate with Tamora Pierce and her characters. Pounce is back, along with Slapper and all of our loved people of the Rouge, along with new aquantances who will make every page an excellent adventure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 296 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15