Customer Reviews for

Bloodlines (Bloodlines Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 863 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(622)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

137 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

Review Of Bloodlines (Bloodlines Series Book #1) By Richelle Mead

When The Vampire Academy series ended I was sad because I really LOVED those books and got really invested in Rose and Dimitri. When I found out there was a spin-off series I was so excited and couldn't wait to get to read it. Now, I am not going to lie, at first, when ...
When The Vampire Academy series ended I was sad because I really LOVED those books and got really invested in Rose and Dimitri. When I found out there was a spin-off series I was so excited and couldn't wait to get to read it. Now, I am not going to lie, at first, when I found out the series was focused on the Alchemist Sydney Sage I was a bit disappointed because I was hoping for maybe a story about Lissa and Christian or maybe a book about Adrian Ivashkov and his soul mate. Disappointment soon turned to enrapture, not only did I get my wish (in a way) by having Adrian in this new series but we also got to see some familiar faces like Eddie Castile, Jill "jailbait" Dragomir, Abe Mazur, Rose Hathaway, Dimitri Belikov, and Sonya Karp. This book kept me glued from beginning to end. It was actually kool seeing things from Sydney's perspective and getting to know what it is like for her to be an alchemist. I loved how this book had a touch of the Moroi/Dhampir dynamic that I was used to, as well as, a new setting and new situations that kept this book new and familiar all at the same time. Sydney really comes into her own and starts to find her voice in this book. She starts to learn that not everything has to be so regimental and strict. There can be a grey area which can leave her some leeway to be the kind of person she wants to be and not the kind she is expected to be. She always feels she has to walk a fine line between the alchemist way of life and the Vampire world. We also get to see how what Rose did, affects Adrian in this book. The last series all we really saw was the devil may care side of Adrian, but in Bloodlines, we get to see his tortured soul and how he copes with losing his love Rose to another guy. We get some more time with Jill and Eddie which is great too. We get a glimpse into the life of the reluctant princess Jill a.k.a. jailbait (to Adrian). Eddie gets to show us more of his guardian side. So many things happen in this book but I am so afraid to spoil it for anyone who hasn't read this book or The Vampire Academy Series. This book has it all: redemption, danger, death(s), a mystery, first love, unrequited love, enemies, magic, Vampires, mean girls, jocks, etc.... You name it and I bet this book has it....^_^. On a scale from 1-10 I give Bloodlines a 20. Yes, it is off my scale but it is such a great start to this new spin-off series. Richelle really has another runaway hit on her hands, in my opinion. If you are a fan of The Vampire Academy Series you NEED to get this book. If you are new to Richelle Mead you NEED to get to know her Vampires. On your way to picking up Bloodlines you should also pick up Vampire Academy (book #1), Frostbite (book #2), Shadow Kiss (book #3), Blood Promise (book #4), Spirit Bound (book #5), and Last Sacrifice (book #6) in The Vampire Academy Series. Trust me that series and this book will not disappoint.

posted by skyla11377 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Download Bloodlines (Bloodlines Series #1) For Free

Download Bloodlines (Bloodlines Series #1) For Free From Here goo.gl/pdZ70

posted by 9792619 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    A Good Start

    A good start. Enough to make me want to get the second book. There was a lot of set up and some highly predictable moments but otherwise a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    It was ok, not what id expect from meade

    I had a hard time getting into it. I loved rose so much that with a book with the same characters and setting, it was hard to get used to a new main character-- especilly one that i dont like. I think dimitri should have been more involved and i definitly think meade should make a 7th vampire academy about what happened to adrian and mabey somthing involving lissa or dimitri and roses relashonship. Please make another one. If you are reading this meade then i have to complement you on your last 6 books, i absolutly loved them, and if you were creative enough to make the other books, then i think you could come up with another one, or two, or six. I just loved the vampire academy so much that i never want it to stop. The only thing that kept me reading this one is rose and hopes of dimitri showing up.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    i love vampire academy and although rose and dimitri are my favo

    i love vampire academy and although rose and dimitri are my favorite characters i also adored abe , adrian, eddie mason, jill and all the rest of the supporting cast. i said all of that to say that i like the bloodline book but had it not been for adrian and eddie i might not have moved on to the next book. sydney is no rose and i know she can never be but there was just no excitement to hold my interest and the chemistry between adrian and sydney for those who are hoping for romance didn't appear on the pages. i love adrian and hoped that he would fine love but i don't see it wth sydney or jill. maybe dimitri's sister couls eventually come in the picture for him. but back to the book i truly hope golden lily is a little more exciting and have more zmey in it,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Bloodlines was... aggravating. Even though I’ve tried look

    Bloodlines was... aggravating. Even though I’ve tried looking at it objectively, I can’t help comparing it to the Vampire Academy series and how much it falls short in terms of quality, story and enjoyment.

    Firstly: Sydney. I went into the story knowing she wasn’t Rose so naturally her voice would be different. But after a few pages I found myself disliking the writing style and, therefore, Sydney. I couldn’t connect with her on any level, even when supposedly her life was in danger. I tried (a little), but I honestly just couldn’t care.

    This is largely because she described and analyzed everything in excruciating detail. Too many times, this distracted from the story and had me shout-thinking at her, “Did you swallow a radio in your head? There is no need to explain that which is blindingly OBVIOUS, Sydney dear. Get on with the story please and—sigh. There you go again.”

    She also gets no kudos for character development. Does she evolve as a character? Yes, but the way it’s bashed over our heads scores no points for me. This is one of the few things I also didn’t like about VA; what makes Rose tolerable is her quirkiness, while Sydney never hesitates to show off that she’s so uppity. Explain to me in what world does character development need to be described? “Oh, before I was like this and this but then this really shocking thing happened and now I’m that and all that.”

    Show and do not tell, Ms Mead.
    (It might not have been exactly in those words, but it was pretty darn close.)

    Secondly: the point of view. It seems to me that the story flows more naturally in the VA series because Rose’s voice is more suited to Richelle Mead’s writing style. But, after reading the first chapter in Adrian’s point of view, I can’t say I wouldn’t have been disappointed reading the series from rotating characters’ perspectives. The story suffered because too many new characters and their actions were central to the story and there wasn’t enough background to make them interesting. Getting into the head of someone different every now and then would have been a refreshing and very welcome change. Because after being stuck in Sydney’s head for so long? It was nauseating.

    Bloodlines wasn’t all that bad. If you take out Sydney’s voice—hard as it seems—it was pretty OK. I thought the idea with the tattoos was pretty ingenious and I’m wondering what direction that story will go now that we know Abe’s involved. I’m sure the royals won’t approve of his actions when they find out (or most likely they already know and have done nothing). I’m also curious how his blackmail relationship with Sydney will change now that she’s—supposedly—more brave and courageous and mature and amazing and you know, just totally awesome.

    Throwing Dimitri in at the end was a nice twist, but now I’m really afraid of what kind of interaction he’ll have with Adrian. I hope there’s an epic showdown or silent understanding between them or something at some point to get closure for Adrian. I just hope Richelle Mead doesn’t go down the path of two grown men discussing their love for one women, because this does NOT, I repeat does NOT HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    ?????

    Is this a video

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Continuation of the vampire academy series

    Good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Hm

    This book is amazing but 1 problem. Jill is an air user, not water as said in vampire academy.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Ok

    Alot going on but hey adrains in it :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Alright

    Not as good as VA

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    It wont 't let me just rate it...

    Not bad... but in a time where every other young adult book is a vampire book, not truly unique, either. Nonetheless, I'd like to finish the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Okay

    It was terribly boring at the beginning. I thought that i was going to have to get rid of on my nook but i gave it a chance and it finally pulled through a little past half way. In my opinion vampire academy was better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very average book, not a high recommendation

    I was really excited about this book because I loved the Vampire Academy series so much, but I have to say I was pretty disappointed. I usually read a book in under a few day, but it took me around three weeks to read this one because I just wasn't very into it. There wasn't much action, it was just kind of a set-up for the story I guess. Sydney, the main character, did have the spunk I'd come to expect from Richelle Mead's main character. In Vampire Academy, you've got a very noteworthy character in Rose, someone who doesn't back down from a fight and does what it takes to help those she loves. In this seris, Syndey just kind of takes what's dished out to her and only fights back very subtly, then in the end when all of the threat and action comes in to play, she mostly waits for someone else to do the big fighting for her. I was just frustrated with this book... there didn't seem to be a lot of plot, things moved very slowly, and I was just trying to get through it. I had already decided I wouldn't be reading the next installment of this series until I read the last line. I'll only end up reading it because of the person that appears at the very end of this book. Hopefully it'll redeam this series. If you're interested in this series because you want more from the characters from Vampire Academy, save your time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Good

    I thought the book could of been a little better. But overall it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    A Good Way to Start the Series

    I am one of the biggest Vampire Academy fan and I was super excited just like the rest of the VA fans to find out that there was going to be a spinoff. Let me start out by saying I love Richelle Mead's characters, but this book was a bit SO SO for me. On the one hand, I was thrilled when there was a Rose cameo and I really like Sydeny's perspective. I'm also in love with Adrian so I adored his snarkiness throughout the book. I like the characters a lot, I just thought the plot fell a bit short. There were parts that dragged on and weren't very entertaining, but there is SO much potential. I have a feeling that these series will be very good. I just wish the first book had been incredible like Vampire Academy. But believe me when I say this, I will read the rest of the series because the (SPOILER) Sydeny/Adrian twist at the end of the first book is very promising and I love how protective Eddie is towards Jill...so I'm very excited to see where this goes....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Omfg

    OMFG OMFG OMFG I LOVE THE VA SERIES THIS HAS TO BE A GREAT BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ????????

    I Havent finished the last sacrifice yet because deep within me i know its the last book for the series, i dont want rose's story to end, even though it makes sense after six books.....i wonder who else is on the cover?? im betting it's dimitri....uhmmm......i'll probably end up buying the book when it comes out, im just pissed that i'll never be able to hear another one of rose's interesting adventures.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3