Customer Reviews for

Bloodlines (Bloodlines Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 870 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(628)

4 Star

(163)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

140 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

Review Of Bloodlines (Bloodlines Series Book #1) By Richelle Mead

When The Vampire Academy series ended I was sad because I really LOVED those books and got really invested in Rose and Dimitri. When I found out there was a spin-off series I was so excited and couldn't wait to get to read it. Now, I am not going to lie, at first, when ...
When The Vampire Academy series ended I was sad because I really LOVED those books and got really invested in Rose and Dimitri. When I found out there was a spin-off series I was so excited and couldn't wait to get to read it. Now, I am not going to lie, at first, when I found out the series was focused on the Alchemist Sydney Sage I was a bit disappointed because I was hoping for maybe a story about Lissa and Christian or maybe a book about Adrian Ivashkov and his soul mate. Disappointment soon turned to enrapture, not only did I get my wish (in a way) by having Adrian in this new series but we also got to see some familiar faces like Eddie Castile, Jill "jailbait" Dragomir, Abe Mazur, Rose Hathaway, Dimitri Belikov, and Sonya Karp. This book kept me glued from beginning to end. It was actually kool seeing things from Sydney's perspective and getting to know what it is like for her to be an alchemist. I loved how this book had a touch of the Moroi/Dhampir dynamic that I was used to, as well as, a new setting and new situations that kept this book new and familiar all at the same time. Sydney really comes into her own and starts to find her voice in this book. She starts to learn that not everything has to be so regimental and strict. There can be a grey area which can leave her some leeway to be the kind of person she wants to be and not the kind she is expected to be. She always feels she has to walk a fine line between the alchemist way of life and the Vampire world. We also get to see how what Rose did, affects Adrian in this book. The last series all we really saw was the devil may care side of Adrian, but in Bloodlines, we get to see his tortured soul and how he copes with losing his love Rose to another guy. We get some more time with Jill and Eddie which is great too. We get a glimpse into the life of the reluctant princess Jill a.k.a. jailbait (to Adrian). Eddie gets to show us more of his guardian side. So many things happen in this book but I am so afraid to spoil it for anyone who hasn't read this book or The Vampire Academy Series. This book has it all: redemption, danger, death(s), a mystery, first love, unrequited love, enemies, magic, Vampires, mean girls, jocks, etc.... You name it and I bet this book has it....^_^. On a scale from 1-10 I give Bloodlines a 20. Yes, it is off my scale but it is such a great start to this new spin-off series. Richelle really has another runaway hit on her hands, in my opinion. If you are a fan of The Vampire Academy Series you NEED to get this book. If you are new to Richelle Mead you NEED to get to know her Vampires. On your way to picking up Bloodlines you should also pick up Vampire Academy (book #1), Frostbite (book #2), Shadow Kiss (book #3), Blood Promise (book #4), Spirit Bound (book #5), and Last Sacrifice (book #6) in The Vampire Academy Series. Trust me that series and this book will not disappoint.

posted by skyla11377 on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

29 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

Download Bloodlines (Bloodlines Series #1) For Free

Download Bloodlines (Bloodlines Series #1) For Free From Here goo.gl/pdZ70

posted by 9792619 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great spin off

    I held off for so long on reading this book. I pre ordered a copy and then was nervous to read it when it finally came in the mail. Would I like it as much as VA? Even though I am not 100% in love with it, it has potential to steal my heart with the books to come.

    Instead of sassy outspoken Rose as a narrator, you have timid, sheltered Sydney. She is sort of a pushover at first but gets her bearings as the story progresses. She is ordered to go into hiding with Jill, to keep her safe from further attacks on her life. Since Lissa needs one family member to remain queen and Jill is all the family she has left, the attacks have been directed at Jill, so that Lissa will be removed from the thrown. Eddie and Adrian join the ranks in this book and take the adventure to hot and sunny Palm Springs. (Which by the way is literally right around the corner for me). Jill, Sydney and Eddie enroll into a private school and try to fit in with the humans as best they can. Eddie becomes friends with his roommate, Micah, who reminds him of his old best bud Mason (who was killed in VA), Jill is actually making enemies with the girls at school when Micah shows interest in her and Sydney seems to be getting along fine. She makes friends with a pair of human girls... one just so happens to be named Kristin (no one ever spells my name with an I, so I was thrilled by that).

    I loved that part of the team was back but I wish that there was more Adrian and Eddie time. They were so carefree in VA and now Adrian is heartbroken over Rose and he literally mopes around the entire time. Eddie has gone from serious guardian to an extremely overprotective guardian. I also wish that there was more of a surprise to the conflicts that take place in the book. Right away I knew who was behind the attacks and what was going on. Whereas in previous VA books, where Dimitri gets attacked or when Mason dies, I didn't get that same surprise reaction from this one.

    However, I cannot wait to see what happens with the gang over time. I hope Adrian licks his wounds soon because I miss the snarky sarcastic guy he used to be, even though you see glimpses of it, it isn't nearly enough. This book seemed more of an adjusting section for Sydney to get used to being around the moroi and their magic and a small process of healing for Adrian. Hopefully with the upcoming books everyone settles down with their feelings and they get back into the action.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    some spoilers so dont read if you havent read the book yet!! but yea LOVED THIS BOOK!!

    I loved the vampire academy books sooo much and was completely in love with dimitri and soo happy that rose got with him but i also felt really bad for adrian so i was super excited that adrian finally found someone to cheer him up!! i was a little disappointed with how predictable it was though. but still a very fun read and CANNOT wait for the next one:)

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Loved it

    I think it was great fir a series opener!!!! I still found myself wanting to hear more about rose. The cliffhanger at the end was great and overall sydney has the potential to be a great character. It was cool to see rose from someone besides lissas eyes. Amazingz! Richelle has me hooked AGAIN!!!!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Not What I Expected

    I have to say, when Richelle Mead first announced that she would be writing a book about Sydney, I was not thrilled. I wasn't happy with the way she left Rose and Adrian's damaged relationship hanging in Vampire Academy, and hoped for another VA book to clear that issue up, as well as the standing between Lisa and Jill...and so many other questions. I felt I was just left hanging there, but I decided checking to see what the book was about and reading some reviews on it wouldn't hurt. As I read so reviews I found out that Bloodlines actually included some beloved VA characters. So I decided to read the book...and I have to say I was NOT disappointed, and did NOT expect to get so hooked. Also didn't expect to love Syndey so much neither did I expect to love Adrian maybe even more than Dimitri. It's a definite must read!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    I was weary while going into Bloodlines. This is actually my fir

    I was weary while going into Bloodlines. This is actually my first companion series. Having adored the Vampire Academy series, I found myself extremely nervous. When you come to understand, look forward to, and love a certain character or characters, it’s hard to imagine a story through the eyes of another. I feared that not only would I be disinterested; I’d be let down. In the past, certain books have had sequels that because I disliked them so much, brought the whole series down in my eyes. *Cough Breaking Dawn Cough* I’m happy to report that this was not the case with Bloodlines. Although I desperately missed Rose, Dimitri and other fellow VA main characters, I found Bloodline’s new selection of characters, entertaining and intriguing. It was great to not only dip back into the imaginative world of Moroi royalty, vicious Strigoi, and kickass dampers, but to see and explore other parts that briefly had a cameo in VA, such as the life and doings of alchemists. Who would have thought that Sydney Sage the mysterious and standoffish, female alchemist Rose meets in VA, would one day have a series focused mainly on her. Well… besides Richelle Mead that is. Ha ha.

    Sydney Sage’s VA appearances were short and few between, and therefore it was fabulous to not only see her again, but witness her first-account experiences and life in the alchemist profession. We learn early on that there are many alchemists throughout the world. This is a type of family tradition where one member of each generation gets chosen for this “higher” calling. I say higher calling because it is the belief of alchemists that all vampires, even the more human and alive-type (Moroi), are evil and soulless. Therefore it is an alchemist’s job to prevent humans from realizing that vampires exist. They aren’t fighters — far from it — but they know their way around a chemistry lab and have certain ways of disposing of bodies with handy-dandy chemical mixtures. We learn early on that Sydney’s life is miserable. Having been 1 of 3 sisters, in a respectable alchemist family where male alchemists are preferred, to say Sydney and her father have a bad relationship would be putting it mildly. Everything is procedure and protocol which leaves no time for affection. It also doesn’t help that because of certain escapades in VA, Sydney’s father and the general alchemist hierarchy have begun to question her allegiance.

    A big part of Bloodlines has to do with one’s views on the age old black vs. white a.k.a. good vs. evil. We know from VA that although some Moroi do evil things, it is solely the work of a Strigoi that is 100% evil. However, alchemists view this matter differently. They believe that all types of vampires are evil and “soulless” even though they are willing to work with the Moroi and to go as far as sending an alchemist to protect a Moroi girl. It was amazing to see Sydney’s character evolve throughout Bloodlines. After certain occurences in VA, Sydney begins to question her alchemist beliefs. In Bloodlines she begins to realize and understand that what alchemists have been led to believe, is a lie. She’s basically forced to rethink her whole way of life when she volunteers and then gets approved to live with and protect an important Moroi girl (Jill). Throughout the book, Sydney struggles with her alchemist beliefs and protocol when she comes to realize that Jill may not be so different. Although Jill is a Moroi, she is also just a sweet teenage girl who has had to uproot her life in order to protect it.

    I’ve never really considered myself a big fan of alchemy. This is mainly because I’ve never read about it before. However, I really enjoyed learning more about the role of alchemists in the VA universe. We learn in VA that each Moroi is gifted with an elemental, magical ability. The element they have the most affinity for is the one they can wield (water, fire, earth, air, spirit). The idea behind this type of magic is that the user connects to an element, draws power from it, and can manipulate it. However, in Bloodlines we have a different type of power. Alchemists use different types of chemicals, minerals, and such to concoct and create tools. Alchemists are fervently against “magic” believing it’s part of the evil, unnatural-ness of vampires. However I think there’s a lot of backwards thinking. These alchemist mixtures, which sometimes include vampire blood, scream “magic” to me.

    Overall I was surprised and generally happy with Bloodlines. It started at a bit slow but I realize now that, that was to be expected. Although were in an already established world, we’re still being introduced to a new part of it. Unfortunately I had a few quips with this book. I found, after looking back through some VA books that there was some inconsistencies. A few general character descriptions were off. But more importantly in VA we are told that Jill’s affinity is air, however in Bloodlines it is said to be water. I don’t know if I missed something that explains it, but either way I was little confused.

    If you are a VA lover I definitely recommend reading Bloodlines. Although we’ve got a new group of characters to follow, they are just as interesting if not more. There’s also some brief and more-so cameos by some favorite VA characters. I’ve got to wait a few weeks until I can afford book two The Golden Lily but you can bet once I get it I’ll be reading it in one sitting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    If you loved the Vampire Academy, you'll love this

    This is a spin off of the Vampire Academy, with the Alchemists staring and the Vampires playing a back up role. I bought the Vampire Academy series for my daughter and I, it was a book I enjoyed and appropriate for my teen. We'll be looking forward to watching these characters grow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    Shockingly, it did not take me very long to finish this book. I

    Shockingly, it did not take me very long to finish this book. I avoided my family last night to finish it. I am a HUGE fan of Mead’s Vampire Academy series (of which is this a spin off, for those of you not familiar with the books, and I was very excited to see the continuation of what seemed almost a closed book in “Last Sacrifice.”

    Originally, I wasn’t sold on the idea of Sydney as the narrator. I liked her well enough from Rose’s perspective, but she wasn’t a character I loved. I picked up Bloodlines with the thinking, “Well, if Adrian’s in it, it’s worth it.” Given that, Sydney was a nice surprise. Now that you can see behind her ultra-all-business exterior, there actually is an engaging 3D character who loves to act passive until the second you can’t take it anymore and then she’s concocting potions to use on bullies. Her interplay with Adrian was great as well. Somehow she managed to fire back at him as much as Rose ever did, but maintain a completely different vibe with him then Rose. It was quite well done and very enjoyable to read.

    SPEAKING of Rose – she DOES make a cameo in this book, near the beginning, and I was very excited to hear about that. However, the scene that she’s in is very … blah. Being a writer myself, the scene just made me feel like it was something Mead would have known enough to cut, but she couldn’t because it had Rose in it. Because of this scene(s), the book actually gets off to a rather slow start, which is something I’ve never known Mead to do. (Also, there is absolutely no interplay between Rose and Adrian, one of the touchstone points I would have expected to be made, given how “destroyed” he was by her. Sydney may be dense in social matters, but Mead didn’t even hint at it.)

    BUT! Speaking of Adrian… Adrian fans, you will not be disappointed. He is back to his drinking, partying, druggy ways as much and worse as he was when we first met him, and it’s amazing. His smart aleckness hasn’t diminished a bit. Also amazing: there is actual growth for him in this book. I was never too sympathetic towards him before, because I wanted him out of the picture and Rose/Dmitri NOW, but I fell head over heels for him here. If you already loved him, well, you’ll probably worship this book. (Also, I am now shipping Adrian and Sydney SO MUCH.)

    Now, enough about the characters… The book on a whole was very enjoyable and an easy read that flowed together. Like I said, the beginning was slow, but once Mead actually got to the meat of the story it only went up from there. Several of the key plot points were easy to figure out, but I did NOT expect the end, ESPECIALLY the cliff hanger she leaves it on. I don’t want to spoil it, but VA fans will want to shriek with happiness, and I myself need The Golden Lily in my hands RIGHT NOW because stuff is about to go DOWN. All and all, Bloodlines was a different tone from the VA series, but in a good way. It was a good set up for the rest of the series, and I know it’s only going to go up from here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Decent read

    I was skeptical about how bloodlines was going to be, considering I thought Sydney was a rather uneventful character in the previous series. However, that being said it shrouded her world of alcehmist in mystery, rightfully so since this book gave insights to it, but not enough to give away everything so the rest of the books are predictable. This kept me entertained for 2-3 days. I was able to put it down at times, since the HS drama gets old at times, but usually the next day I'd be hungering for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Good story

    I thought this book was good. Doesn't hold a candle to VA. But I did miss Adrian and all his wittisisms. I thought the romance was lacking, little hint towards the end, then nothing. Huh? I know Ms. Mead can do better. I thought Sydney could of been more of a heroin. Maybe I'm expecting to read someone more like Rose, and not a brain washed person. But I am looking forward to the Golden Lily, hopefully it will have a lot more romance and action.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Better than I expected!

    I was a little worried when I started reading Bloodlines. I love the Vampire Academy series, and I was worried that Bloodlines just wouldn¿t be nearly as good. I shouldn¿t have worried. Ms. Mead is a very talented storyteller, and Bloodlines was awesome. (If you haven¿t read the Vampire Academy series yet, you totally should!)

    Bloodlines brings us a lot of fun characters. A few we know from the VA series: Sydney, Jill, Eddie, Adrian. Oh Adrian. I felt so very bad for him at the end of Last Sacrifice. I really do like Adrian¿s character, and I was curious to see what he would be like in the new series. As if I couldn¿t have liked him enough before, I like him even more now. I really didn¿t know what to expect from Sydney. She was a really uptight character in the VA series, so I didn¿t really know if I would be able to connect with her very well. But I was able to, and I thought she was great as well.
    I enjoyed most of the secondary characters also. I have always liked Eddie, and I really hope we see more of him in the next books. The one character I did have a hard time connecting with was Jill. She kind of reminded me of Lissa in the beginning of the VA series. I¿m hoping we will see her character grow more as the series progresses. I also did enjoy the few interactions we had with some of the characters from the VA series: Abe, Rose and at the end of the book, someone I waited the WHOLE book to read about. (You¿ll see who it is at the end; I¿m totally not going to ruin it for you!)

    The storyline was really interesting and fast paced. Once I had a chance to sit down, I had the book finished in just a few hours time. The story kept me hooked and kept me guessing, although I had my suspicions, and they turned out to be right.

    Overall, I really enjoyed Bloodlines. I don¿t know why I was worried that I wouldn¿t. It was a really good read, and I can¿t wait to read the next book, The Golden Lily!

    Happy Reading!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Nice

    I like the author's writing style, not to mention her characters. Sydney became my favorite character after she was introduced in the Vampire Academy series and I've been looking forward to reading Bloodlines.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    A great new series...

    Been taught that all supernatural beings are strictly evil, from the moment Sydney Sage could read and understand.
    To have have all of your beliefs questioned....
    I love it when secret societies hide more information from their own people, than the public. Sydney starts finding out just how much in the dark she really is.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    It was excellent for the beginning of the spin off series. Howev

    It was excellent for the beginning of the spin off series. However in order to really understand the context you have to read the original Vampire Academy series or at least have knowledge of it. I can't wait until the third one comes out, I LOVE this series and recommend it to anyone looking for a good and easy book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Great In Some Ways...

    I have to say, I was very sad when I found out that the author was putting an end to the Vampire Academy series. At 13, I am a very avid reader, and it takes alot to please me.
    I didn't know she was making a new series until the other day, and probably would never have known if it weren't for my mom.
    I really did like the book but at some point I felt like the author wasn't giving Syndey credit when it came to putting things together. I mean, I felt like taking the character and shaking her, screaming,
    "Hey! IT'S RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU DUMB DUMB!"
    It may have been me just thinking ahead, but that's what I felt. I will get the next book though!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I thought this book was really good and well written. Great open

    I thought this book was really good and well written. Great opening to Richelle Mead's new series. I was so excited to hear that she was creating a spin off series for VA, which next to The Twilight Saga, is my favorite vamp book series. Very interresting and will leave you wanting more. Cant wait for Golden Lilly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    I loved this book cant wait for the next boo

    I loved this book cant wait for the next book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I loved!!! this book. Loved Adrian!!! can't wait for the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From the get go, I found that I was enjoying this book more than

    From the get go, I found that I was enjoying this book more than the original series it came from (Vampire Academy). Not that I didn't like Rose Hathaway. In actuality, I thought Rose was a great character.

    However, Adrian's presence in this book made it all worth while.

    First off, I have to admit, the plot details and surprises were probably easier to predict than other books I've read. Or at least they were easier for me to predict. That might be a disappoint for those looking for more of a challenge in regards to the "what happens next" test for books.

    However, it didn't turn me off, because I found myself really interested in the characters, especially the dynamic between the human Sydney and the vampires she's had to consort with, or, even worse for her, interact pleasantly with.

    Yet Sydney, having experienced and delved in the vampire world more than the usual alchemist, her views on the bloodsucking race has wavered a little. And we get to see what it's like to be an alchemist, and why it's hard for her to think more highly of vampires. It's a great conundrum, and a very familiar circumstance to many readers.

    Her complexity is also what makes her such an ideal main character. Especially because she is still often very vulnerable and naive, while being smart. Sensitive and shy, yet brave and fierce. She still has her issues, especially when it comes to being just a regular young adult. She lacks in social skills, and she's a tick behind me in the thought process. But I guess that's just how she is.

    What makes it all the more fun is her interactions with the very troubled, but very charming, and very lazy, Adrian Ivashkov. And boy, does he give her all kinds of grief.

    In the VA series, I actually didn't care much for Adrian, especially in the beginning. He had some issues back then, and was apparently willing to become a better person because of his love of Rose. But then Rose broke his heart, and he's still having to deal with the repercussions of that loss as he joins the group.

    It's a slow process, for sure. He still smokes, he's still lazy, but throughout the book, you see the small changes in him. I really enjoyed his character here. He was always kind of funny and charming in his suave rich-boy way, but that didn't resonate well with me, especially in terms of Rose. But for someone like the stiffly Sydney, who needed some levity in her life...or maybe a lot of levity, he is a refreshing change of pace for her.

    Luckily, this first book in the six-book series doesn't give way to passion immediately. They're still developing their friendship, and Sydney is still hung up on many of her beliefs, especially that one where vampires and humans don't belong together in any sort of way. Yes, this is still the first step for Sydney on the path to change and enlightenment.

    For the most part, this is the major draw to the book. But there are other characters to come into play, especially Jill the Moroi royalty that Sydney is supposed to play sister to. She's young and shy and awkward as a tall, skinny, pale vampire among average humans. Having her deal with real teenage problems, problems that many kids deal with, including bullying, it creates a connection between the character and the reader. In a sense, we're all vampires, or were vampires in at least one point in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty Good

    This book had its slow moments but over all it was worth the read and I will continue this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Awesome!

    I loved the whole series! I was alittle sceptical to move onto it after the Vampire Academy series (which you should definitely read first) because I figured thered be no way I could love it as much but I was wrong! I flew through all 4 books before becoming devastated to find out fifth doesn't come out until July! Now I'm just anxiously waiting to see what happens to all these characters I've fallen in love with!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9