Customer Reviews for

Bloodroot

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is an engaging Appalachia family drama

On Bloodroot Mountain in Eastern Tennessee, Byrdie Lamb raises her grandchild Myra, whose mother and father died when a train hit their vehicle while they were carousing. Byrdie loves Myra who is more a daughter to her than her daughter Myra's mom Clio ever was. She a...
On Bloodroot Mountain in Eastern Tennessee, Byrdie Lamb raises her grandchild Myra, whose mother and father died when a train hit their vehicle while they were carousing. Byrdie loves Myra who is more a daughter to her than her daughter Myra's mom Clio ever was. She also knows Myra has the "touch" skill that runs in the family though Byrdie never displayed this ESP talent. In fact, Myra's boyfriend Doug not only realizes it, he knows he will never win her love because of it.

He is proven right when she meets John Odom, son of the hardware store owner. He is also "touched" and they passionately fall in love. However his violence pushes her from his valley home back up the mountain where she raises their twins Laura and Johnny. The siblings have issues as their mom is placed in an asylum. Laura marries and has a child, but when her spouse dies his family takes away her kid. Johnny burns down his paternal side's store. The next generation seems destined to repeat the same mistakes as the previous generations on Bloodroot Mountain.

This is an engaging Appalachia family drama that looks deep inside the souls of the cast with Myra being the link between five generations of mountain people. Although the subplots are straighter than the Bonneville Salt Flats and some key characters just vanish, readers will appreciate the depth of life on Bloodroot Mountain as even a finger with a ring on it becomes symbolic of dreams broken and breathing in Amy Greene's profound harsh slice of Appalachia.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The second half of the book moved alot faster than the first hal

The second half of the book moved alot faster than the first half but I almost didn't make it to the second half as I found the perspective shifts and quantity of daily minutia tiresome. Glad I hung in there. Painful domestic violence.

posted by dadwyer on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is an engaging Appalachia family drama

    On Bloodroot Mountain in Eastern Tennessee, Byrdie Lamb raises her grandchild Myra, whose mother and father died when a train hit their vehicle while they were carousing. Byrdie loves Myra who is more a daughter to her than her daughter Myra's mom Clio ever was. She also knows Myra has the "touch" skill that runs in the family though Byrdie never displayed this ESP talent. In fact, Myra's boyfriend Doug not only realizes it, he knows he will never win her love because of it.

    He is proven right when she meets John Odom, son of the hardware store owner. He is also "touched" and they passionately fall in love. However his violence pushes her from his valley home back up the mountain where she raises their twins Laura and Johnny. The siblings have issues as their mom is placed in an asylum. Laura marries and has a child, but when her spouse dies his family takes away her kid. Johnny burns down his paternal side's store. The next generation seems destined to repeat the same mistakes as the previous generations on Bloodroot Mountain.

    This is an engaging Appalachia family drama that looks deep inside the souls of the cast with Myra being the link between five generations of mountain people. Although the subplots are straighter than the Bonneville Salt Flats and some key characters just vanish, readers will appreciate the depth of life on Bloodroot Mountain as even a finger with a ring on it becomes symbolic of dreams broken and breathing in Amy Greene's profound harsh slice of Appalachia.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hung-up on Bloodroot!

    I loved this book! It was dark and haunting, yet not heavy. It had everything. I didn't want to sleep when I was reading it and couldn't stop thinking about it when I wasn't, and I read it slowly, because I did not want it to end. Very satisfying.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Just as the title reads "bloodroot"

    This book, I have shared with many friends and they loved it too. The title "Bloodroot" fits perfectly if you know what Bloodroot is. If you don't, the author fills you in. Bloodroot is a flower high in the mountains, the root; when punctured, pours out red sap like blood, and the flowers saproot may be used for healing, but abused will kill. This ties in the story. The main character Myra and her lifestory is told by several family members each giving you a different view of Myra, whom is like Bloodroot. The book is full of twist and turns, induwindows, and characters that make your heart pound in excelleration. The book is intense. I highly recommend this book, even if you are sceptic, try it and you will finish it gauranteed!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The second half of the book moved alot faster than the first hal

    The second half of the book moved alot faster than the first half but I almost didn't make it to the second half as I found the perspective shifts and quantity of daily minutia tiresome. Glad I hung in there. Painful domestic violence.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Boring Read

    I know this book got a lot of attention, but I found it to be difficult to read because it was extremely boring. The plot moved slowly, the characters, although well developed, were boring, and I was generally not impressed. I like books to move at an even pace and have exciting, climatic events. This book moved at a snale pace and I found it very difficult to finish.
    Good for someone who enjoys slow plots and back and forth story lines (the story is told from differnt points of view at different times).
    Was not impressed with this book at all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    GREAT READ

    Loved the characters. Missed them at the end. Great book. Look forward to more from this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Bloodroot

    Such a tragic book to have such a hopeful ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Boring

    Don't waste your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Great book!

    When i first started this book i didnt think i was gone finnish, but i am glad i did. Its heartbreaking to think that some people might actualy live thrue things like this . It makes one think of how lucky we are not to have to live life like that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Good reading

    Kept my interest to the end. I could picture the mountain the way the author writes about it. Sad but good at explaining LIFE IN THE MOUNTAINS.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Bloodroot - I cannot reccomend this more highly!

    I absolutely adored this book! It takes you to a place and keeps you there throughout, such wonderful story telling. If I had to pick a favorite book this year, this book would be it. You are sorry to reach the end; what better recommendation is there for a book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a real page turner. twists & turns like Alfred Hitchcock wou

    a real page turner. twists & turns like Alfred Hitchcock would've wrote a book. can't wait for more from this young author. entralling for me. Jayne Anne Ekis, Harcourt Iowa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was a book that i could not put down. Quite possibly one of the best books I have ever read. I can't wait for more books by Amy Greene. I am a fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful

    This is quite possibly the best book I have ever read. It is haunting and memorable on many levels. My family comes from Tennessee, so perhaps this book means that much more to me. In it, I heard the voices of my own speaking to me. But, I know this novel is far more special.
    It is hard to believe this is a novel. The layers of this book are thick and tangible, with generations, people, lore and history. Ms. Greene is a very rare and gifted writer. I don't know how she can possibly exceed such writing...but I will be there to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    interesting but hard to follow in places

    the books has interesting characters and ideas. I think the symbolism was overdone. I wsa also distracted by the change in narrators. I was disappointed Myra became a dead character. I wanted her to be my herorine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the BEST books I've read!!!!

    You will fall in love with each character. I couldn't wait to keep reading and find out what happened to each person. Then, near the end I dreaded reading the last page because I didn't want the story to end. I hope there is a sequel! This book reminded me of Gap Creek a little bit. I can't tell enough people to read this book! It was one of the best books I've ever read. I've looked for another book as good as this one for months and months and still haven't found one yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I love this book. Didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Bloodroot pulls to the core

    In her debut novel, Amy Greene dazzles in this mystical novel about love, loss and the ties that bind us. Sweeping characters spanning generations all wrapped and embroiled in an Appalachian dream world where nature and the things we observe are just the surface glimpses. An excellent first book and one that should be highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    Iloved this story

    this is one of the best. the Characters were very interesting. What a creative writer. I loved her style.
    I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    I loved this book!

    I originally bought this book because I am from the area the author is from and absolutely love that area of Appalachia. The book was a very nice surprise. I loved the character development and plot to the story. I was confused at first with the introduction of so many characters. It is worth the read so push on! It was very easy to get drawn into the story and I found myself unable to put the book down! I can't wait to see what Amy Greene writes next!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7