Customer Reviews for

Blood's a Rover (Underworld USA Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the Wait

    We Ellroy fans waited for years for the third book in the trilogy to come out. The first installment, American Tabloid, was the finest of the three and neither the Cold 6000 or Blood's a Rover attained those lofty heights. Having said that, both the second and third books are superb and have to be considered "must reads". Ellroy continues the story line established in American Tabloid dragging the reader through the bowels of J. Edgar Hoover's decline,the Nixon administation years, and the rise and fall of the Black Power Movement of the late '60's.

    As with all Ellroy novels, true historical figures pop up through out the story line - Hoover, Nixon, Sonny Liston to name a few - the darkest dark side of human behavior is expertly splayed out for the reader. Murder, torture, duplicity on a epic scale, sick depraved love affairs, hate mongers, perversion, it's all in Blood's a Rover.

    You come to despise most of the main characters, you have to stop reading to wash you hands and clear your mind. A very well written thriller will pull you along, Ellroy's affect is to shove you through the pages to the next gut wrenching point in the novel. His style is like no other, it cannot be copied, it cannot be taught, it cannot be learned. It comes from straight from his sadly twisted soul. The book is a masterpiece, Ellroy is a gift, and I will wait, again, for five years for his next book to be published. It will take me that long to get over this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    It takes guts to read Ellroy.

    Blood's a Rover is a nightmare of a book but, it's worth every sleepless night. Rough stuff and worth every squeamish moment.

    Dr. Hemmingstein

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ellroy's latest concludes the hallucinatory series about the recent past

    Blood's a Rover was hard to follow until about the half way point. It is the conclusion of a trilogy that revisits the 60's and 70's with some of the characters re-appearing from the earlier novels. Ellroy said it was difficult to write. It has a hallucinatory edge, and portrays J. Hoover and Howard Hughes in an unflattering and near libelous light. There is some speculation about JFK's murder. It is a brilliant work and picks up considerable momentum at about the half way point. It gets the tone of the time, in the same way that television's Mad Men does. I have read almost everything Ellroy has written over the years--his personal story is dramatic, and the drama does not appear to be over. This is one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    cynical final "Underworld USA" saga

    In 1964 in Los Angeles, a Well Fargo armored car is shockingly robbed. By 1968 Howard "Dracula" Hughes moves in on the Vegas Strip with help from voodoo medicine and the mob. The same group behind the killings of Kennedy and King creates havoc in Chicago as Nixon must be elected president because the mob and J. Edgar Hoover know Tricky Dick is one of them, albeit a moronic one. The Mafia sets up casinos in the Dominican Republic to replace Havana with an advanced party Mesplede (of Grassy Knoll notoriety) and Tredow running heroin from Haiti to raise money for assaults on Cuba. The FBI's "Old Girl" knows Nixon will endorse spying, jailing and assassinating anti Vietnam rabbles, Black Militants like King, and women libber communists under the American dream BS.

    The government-mobster-industrial complex easily prevents leftists like Karen Sifakis and Joan Rosen Klein from power through betrayal, back stabbing and legal robbery with the only cost being the democratic dumbing down of the masses. All those who actively rule pretend to be honorable with blood on the hands delegated to do those who do dirty jobs. In this mire of self righteousness FBI Agent Dwight Holly has an agenda radically different from either woman he manipulates. Yet the convergence of American apple pie at the earth mother Saint Joan began in 1964 when a milk truck accidentally rammed a Well Fargo armored car; although some might argue her roots are her communist ancestors.

    The cynical final "Underworld USA" saga (see AMERICAN TABLOID and THE COLD SIX THOUSAND) comes full circle as the right wing real heroes (though hidden away in the closet as Reagan is more acceptable in public) Nixon, Hoover and Hughes seek salvation the American way: use chaos theory to manipulate the media and the public. The exciting story line is like the DNA matrix as subplots intertwine around one another leading to some repetitiveness when they conjoin, but impossible not to read as it has a tabloid exposing feel. American history comes alive with this fictional account of the Nixon-Hoover era as the shortest point between the back streets of L.A. and the White House run through Chicago, Vegas, Havana, and Hispaniola.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    He writes like no one else

    Love this author and always jump on each one. This is the last of a trilogy but i really hope Ellroy keeps writing. This one was quite good but i really think my favorite was The Cool Six Thousand, the second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    James Ellroy is BACK!!!!

    Amazing conclusion to the American Underworld Trilogy!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Worst novel I've ever read!!

    Writing style is so uninteresting and difficult, that I nearly stopped reading several times throughout the book.

    I will never buy another book by this author.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Archie Bell and the Drells

    How do thee I kill? Let me count the ways.
    With apologies to Shakespeare I can state that in Mr. Ellroy's latest tome, men, women and chickens die in a multitude of ways. From straightforward gun shootings to drug overdoses to bizarre flesh melting in electrocutions and flame-throwing, to run of the mill knifings, bombings and more bizarre hackings by machetes and buzz saws, and culminating in voodoo druggings and mayhem while zombiefied, even "natural causes", it is all there. This is another long but stunning literary work by the author. Yes, his short action-packed phrases are there in true staccato style but a significant move back to storytelling with sprinkling of philosophical meanderings inhabit this work. Watch out for the profanity and endless negative protrayals of minorities as to race, gender and sexual preference. But it all works as a step back in time to the anxious late 1960's with Black Power, Nixon and the FBI. Oh, all our favorites are still there like Tiger Kab company, boxer Sonny Liston, actor Sal Mineo, Dracula H. Hughes, mafia capos and petty dictators like Poppa Doc Duvalier and Joaquin Balaguer. Sleeze bags of all kinds interact with our protaganists and our point of view changes chapter by chapter as the narrative relates the latest plot twist, usually somebody getting whacked. Revolution and emeralds are in the air. Yes, Mr Ellroy captures the wildness of the time and for those who remember Archie Bell and the Drells, "Tighten Up", welcome home. This is a place you have not been to since those olden days of acid tripping.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Challenge Not Met

    The Editorial Reviews provided for this book give fair warning. They all love the book, but read carefully!
    The Barnes & Noble review tells us: The author's hard-driven prose may confuse some readers on first encounter, but no better engine exists for this subject matter.
    The Washington Post reviewer says: Ellroy's bleak, brooding worldview, his dense, demanding style and his unflinching descriptions of extreme violence will almost certainly alienate large numbers of readers.
    Publisher's Weekly says: It's a stunning and crazy book that could only have been written by the premier lunatic of American letters.
    The Library Journal says: ...this traffic accident of a book. It's loud, explosive, and not pretty, but you can't not look.
    Kirkus Reviews says: The book is repetitious in places and confusing in others. Still, you won't easily put it down.

    And I say: Yes, I can put it down. I got 150 pages into a 630 page novel and decided that my life could be better spent than trying to unravel some of the most confusing writing ever to receive such laudatory reviews.
    Really, the writer has no clothes.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1