BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bloodsucking Fiends

Average Rating 4
( 280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(110)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Laughing out loud

If you wish to escape life for a while and laugh this is the book for you. Be careful where you read it however, as you will laugh out loud and be looked at strangely. You Suck is the followup and is just as funny.

posted by Living_Life_n_AZ on July 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not his best

A few years ago on a trip to a bookstore I picked up "A Dirty Job" and in less than 40 pages fell in love with it. Christopher Moore is an wonderfully funny author, who seems to grow in leaps and bounds with every book he writes. However, with this being one of his earl...
A few years ago on a trip to a bookstore I picked up "A Dirty Job" and in less than 40 pages fell in love with it. Christopher Moore is an wonderfully funny author, who seems to grow in leaps and bounds with every book he writes. However, with this being one of his earlier works, it's really not one of his best efforts.

posted by Uggo on February 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Laughing out loud

    If you wish to escape life for a while and laugh this is the book for you. Be careful where you read it however, as you will laugh out loud and be looked at strangely. You Suck is the followup and is just as funny.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny Good

    This is a 'Seinfield' sort of a story featuring: a hapless, somewhat air-brained 27 year old woman turned vampire; her smitten and nerdy 19 year old grocery stacking minion from 'Incontinence' Indiana; an ancient vampire with a warped sense of humor and need to spice up his unlife; a wise, looney and large indigent Emperor of San Francisco attended by his canine guardsmen; and, a nighttime grocery stocking crew of stoners straight out of "Animal House" (with a little dumbed down "Mash" thrown in) who, (excluding the food-blessing born-again reformed stoner), enjoy supermarket "Jackass" stunts while having luaus in the produce aisle. All these characters, other than the mysterious ancient vamp, are surprisingly sympathetic, and the story is both hilarious and engaging. If you like to laugh and smile, I suggest that you read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Funniest Book I've Ever Read!!

    People don't realize how hard it is to write funny stuff and Christopher Moore is the master of writing funny stuff. I don't even understand how more people aren't talking about this guy. I loved the hilarious love story of young Tommy and Jody in San Francisco. I've never read anything like this and I loved every paragraph. Seriously great writing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Laughed!!!

    MAKE SURE YOU READ THEM IN ORDER!!! GREAT!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hahaha

    Great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    I love this series of books!

    This is a wonderful, funny (if you have an imagination), exciting book to read. I actually love Christopher Moore as a writer. The off beat sarcastic humor is so me. Twilight fans beware these have been out longer and are way better. What dude hasn't ever wanted to sick there woman in a freezer, when you just don't know what to do with them anymore?
    I did get some looks in the break room due to laughing hysterically. Just a friendly warning.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A cure for the Twilight mayhem

    Lewd, brash, insightful and affectedly hilarious, Moore's take on love is decidedly twisted and altogether awesome. Somewhere between Tom Robbins, Discworld and Ginsberg, you'll find this depraved tale of love, loss and vampirism. And the sex wasn't so bad either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    This book is great!!!

    I love anything by Christopher Moore, and this book did not disappoint!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm so glad I purchased this book...

    this book is such a great read... it was so funny, i actually laughed out loud quite a few times... as soon as i finished it, i ran out and purchased the next 2 books in this series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    christopher moore is awesome!

    i have not picked up a Christopher Moore book that i have not been able to finish within days! i just love them so much and get so enthralled in the book and story that i cannot stop reading...often finding myself reading well into the morning hours trying to get to the next chapter, next chapter...his writing is fantasitc..the way he writes is not like he is writing at all, but actually telling you a story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funniest Vampire Book Ever!!!

    In the past, I've rejected romance novels written by men. There's just something that the male author doesn't understand. . . you know? The romance in this book might be a little bit off from a woman's perspective, but Moore totally makes up for it by writing, hands down, the funniest book I've ever read. You just don't get any better than this story about a young vampire learning about herself while trying to deal with a much younger and more naive boyfriend who's trying to find himself.


    You'll laugh until you cry. I promise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    wow

    it.waz.an.amazing.book.and.i.think.that.anybody.who.enjoys.vampires.or.a.nice.romantic.book.should.get.it.it.may.not.b.a.book.for.kids.cuz.it.involves.sum.inapropiraite.stuff.but.other.than.that.it.is.amazzing.very.funny....and.if.u.r.wondering.y.i.am.putting.periods.instead.of.spacebars......my.dog.ate.my.spae.bar........but.dons.sit.here.wondering.how/why....GO.BUY.THE.BOOK.U.WONT.REGRET.IT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!!!!!!

    This book is a must have! I was given this book as a gift & i absolutely loved it. It is very entertaining and sooooo funny. If you like this book You Suck is the continuation of Bloodsucking Fiends and is just as hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Wordsucking Reader

    I originally first set me eyes on Bloodsucking Fiends a few years ago at a local bookstore. A few days ago--four in fact--I decided that I would give this book a shot. Four days later, I finished it with a smile on my face. I loved this book, and if you want a good, humorous, light read this is for you as well as me. Get the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    WOW! What a Book!

    I must admit that when I had finished the book that I read at the store, I didn't know what book to read now. I had about an hour to kill, so I just picked up Bloodsucking Fiends ,which was behind me on a stand, and started reading. The cover of the book made me think that it wasn't going to be that good. But when I kept reading it, wow! I couldn't finish most of it at the store. So I was excited on Christmas day because I got a gift card to Barnes&Noble. I rushed quickly the next day and bought the book. I read it where I left off, and ever since then I didn't put it down! My friends would say 'You're still reading that book? When are you ever gonna put it down?!' Well now I look forward to the next book 'You Suck'. I know that once I begin reading it, I will never put it down! Christopher Moore is a genuis! And now I learned that I shouldn't judge a book by it's cover! Literally!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    Implausible? You bet!

    My husband's favorite word when describing a book he's read, implausible. I don't have a problem with a plot that could never happen in real life as long it's it entertains along the way. Mr. Moore certainly fits the bill. Very enjoyable read as well as as some plot mysteries and laughs. Can't wait to read my fourth Christopher Moore. Kudos for daring to be outrageously different and still hold the readers attention, while actually having an interesting plot, complete with beginning, middle, and end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Bloodsucking Fiends-A die hard story

    What started as a boring report to do for reading class-turned to a hilarous and outrageous report when I looked up in B&N for a book to use. So many good reviews and hooked on summary, I just had to get it and read it! Once I read it through I found myself reading 10 chapters the day i got it just to find out what happens, my classmates givin me weird looks everytime I laughed out loud at parts of the book, and even got some ppl interested by havin them read some parts. o___O I got a line of ppl askin me after I finish readin it to let them read next. I absoulutely recommend this story for Moore is most insane-comic dude I have ever read. ^^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2005

    One of my favorite books

    This book is hilarious and really well written. Christopher Moore is absolutely insane and really cool. He really did a good job writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Hilarious!!!

    I laughed out loud when reading this book. It is one of my favorites. My favorite scene is on the bus, when that guy tries to freak her out... I still can't stop laughing when I think of it. The novel is genius, the perfect blend of fact, fiction, fantasy, and complete absurdity. I highly reccommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Loved It

    Mr. Moore created a gem of a novel here. An original plotline with endearing characters made this book a pleasure to read. If you're tired of reading the same old recycled stories, definitely pick this one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7