Customer Reviews for

The Bloody Crown of Conan

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Storytelling from the Master

    The stories of Conan by Robert E. Howard are nothing short of genius. For the first time in over 50 years the unaltered publications of Howard's most iconic character are available in print. Over 30 stories collected in 3 books. These include several never before published extras and stories that have not seen distribution since their original debut in Weird Tales magazine. The foundation of the Sword and Sorcery genre lies within Conan! The Coming of Conan the Cimmerian, The Bloody Crown of Conan, The Conquering Sword of Conan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ROBERT E. HOWARD THE BEST WRITER AND POET EVER!

    Robert E. Howard was an extra-ordindary creative writer who in my opinion was the best writer and poet! His vision, talent, creative writing, and action packed stories can and will never be replicated! To learn more about this unique man read The Life and Art of Robert E. Howard by Mark Finn, One Who Walked Alone by Novalyn Price and Collected Letters of REH by Rob Roehm. A new bibliography by Paul Herman called The Never Ending Hunt is a must have and so is The Last of the Trunk that Glenn Lord had. Please read the Best of Robert E. Howard 1 & 2. Number two has my favorites Red Nails, Beyond The Black River, and scary Pigeons From Hell! Anytime I hear someone whistling now it sends chills up my spine. This story is also in mini series comics at Dark Horse by Joe Lansdale. Dark Horse Conan is superb. Check out the REH Foundation & Forum.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    Sadly Disappointed

    Robert Howard may have been a great writer but sadly this book clearly shows he was a racist of the major kind. Maybe he thought people of color could not read or he just did not expect or care if people of color would buy his books, because he surely was not interested in portraying us in a positive light. Correction I believe once in the book he said one bad characteristic, thievery was not exclusive to the Black Race. Perhaps his bigotry is why he died so young (30 I believe). His writing refers to "Blacks/Negroes" in such degrading terms in this book I had to check the Bio to make sure it was not rewritten during reconstruction. Shades, remember the movie, "Birth of a Nation", white men painted in black face chasing white women before the KKK. Not only does Howar use every negative persona he could when making references to Black characters, he played the ultimate race card in leading his readers, as was the practice in Hollywood and else where that, "That Black Men Are Obsessed with raping a White Woman" and of course, the White Hero must come to her rescue. How many Black Men where hung during the 1800s and 1900s for just looking at a White Woman. I read Howard's books as a youngster but was to young to appreciate the bigotry in his writing, this time I ordered the book on CD, wish I could send it back to Barnes & Noble. I love fantasy, sword & sorcery, unfortunatley even in the unreal world of these genres racism is a clear and present danger. Geez, I thought Howard was gifted until today.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Howard's Conan is a Thinking Man's Barbarian

    Despite the admirable portrayal by the Gubernator onscreen, the real Conan, the one originally written by Robert E. Howard is a complex, intelligent character, fully fleshed out in a competently literary style.

    Howard was a contemporary and friend of H.P. Lovecraft and the two of them share a fondness for strangers in unearthly situations, horribly outmanned/overpowered who survive by grit and luck. Howard's Conan is a barbarian, a pirate, a cossack, and a king. He is as deadly plotting strategy for an army of thousands as he is with his bare hands.

    The characters are lifelike, the plot relentless, and the style engaging. You won't be disappointed by this, or the other Conan books and stories by Howard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    ROBERT E. HOWARD THE BEST!

    Robert E. Howard was an extra-ordindary creative writer who in my opinion was the best! His vision, talent, creative writing, and action packed stories can and will never be replicated! To learn more about this unique man read The Life and Art of Robert E. Howard by Mark Finn. Also, read the Best of Robert E. Howard 1 & 2. Number two has my favorites Red Nails, Beyond The Black River, and scariest story EVER Pigeons From Hell! Be sure to read it at night with plenty of light.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Conan book

    ¿The People of the Black Circle¿. Due to Himelians¿ black sorcery King Bhunda Chand of Vendhya dies. His grieving sister who had to kill her sibling to give him peace wants revenge. None of her warriors want to deal with the evil seers except for Conan who fears nothing, neither sword or sorcery.--- ¿The Hour of the Dragon¿. Defrocked priest Orastes brings back to life High Priest Xaltotuan, who died three thousand years ago to teach him how to use the Heart of Ahriman. They plan to kill the ruling family of Nemedia through ¿natural¿ means, place an ally on the throne, and attack Aquilonia ruled by barbaric King Conan.--- ¿A Witch Shall be Born¿. Beloved Queen Taramis of Khauran is stunned when her twin sister Salome visits. Salome was left to die in the desert at birth, but being born a witch she survived. Salome impersonates her sister and uses mercenaries to take over. Conan survives warwounds, an attack by a vulture, and a tying to a cross to lead the counter insurgency.--- Miscellanea and Appendices. These segments include intriguing manuscripts and story synopsis by Robert E. Howard that show the development of Conan as a character and much of his age. The appendices further provide insight into the hero, the kingdoms, and his age.--- The well written stories by Mr. Howard bring out the best of Conan in an era of sword and sorcery and by themselves would make an ideal gift for aficionados. The miscellanea adds icing to an already delightful collection. Making this a winner for anyone who follows the Barbarian especially the opportunity to read what his originator scribed.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2