Customer Reviews for

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Bloody Jack book 1

    We have a girl disguises her self as a boy for a different life than the life on the streets after the deaths of her parents and sister. She then finds adventures and gains a different perspective on life while on the ship called the Dolphin pursuing Pirates around the world. I liked this book and the cover caught my attention plus i had finished another pirates book where two girls became she pirates than pretending to be boy pirates called Pirates by celia rees.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    Good start to one of my favorite series. The setting is good, th

    Good start to one of my favorite series.
    The setting is good, the characters and the descriptions of the ship as we get to know our main character and her crazy adventure on sea and land as the series goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Like

    Like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read even if you're not a kid

    I read this book because my niece, who is age appropriate, is reading this series, or rather has read the first 8 several times...She loves them. Now, I do too. I wish they had been around when I was growing up. Fast packed adventure with an honest heroine. It is a plus that Meyer does right by the history and many of the ship and naval details. I moved right into the second one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good start

    this book is a goood start to the resst of thee series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Find your inner girl pirate!

    I love Jacky Faber girl pirate! This series has action, historical characters come to life and a flirty, funny main character who is a true delight! This first in the series starts off slow but hang in there for a true wild ride across the Atlantic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    Great Book

    This is a awsome book. The story line is fast-paced, and the character development is incredible. You see not only the main character, Jacky, but also the supporting characters go from orphans on the street to full-fledged seamen (woman, in Jacky's case). You can even tell the difference in the way the story is told it goes from low-town english to (almost) proper grammar. Details in the book are great, and make the book roll out almost like a movie in your head. The main character is brave and resourceful, but still has her fears, making the book all the more realistic. All that in a mere 290 pages...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    Really Funny

    This book is really funny 'especially from a girl's point of view'. I really recommend this book for someone who likes humerous and romantic novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    Best book ever!

    Bloody jack has gone through tough times and alway gotten out alive, but will she survive living as a boy w/ a crew of men that think she's a boy? Or will she 'walk the plank'?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    The Blood Of Jacks

    ¿Bloody Jack¿ is about a girl named Jacky Faber who is very young who lives on the streets, eats crumbs, hangs with gangs, and try to stay clear of cops. She changes herself to look like a boy and changes her name to Jack. Jack finds the opportunity to work on a pirate ship. She gets free pay, free food, and much much more. The sailors make fun of Jack for she is so small. They make her do all the hard work to see her cry. She is assigned to make cloths for the deck men and make them clean when the captain is aboard. A boy named Jaimy helps Jack do the hard chores like put the mast up on the ship and watch at night for intruders. Jack starts to like Jaimy and forgets she is a girl. Jack tells her secret of being a girl and Jaimy wants to marry her. Will they get married? You have to read the book. This book was very good book. It had action of shooting cannons at people¿s ships for a couple of chapters. The book started off slow with nothing happening than guns shoot off and everything goes wild. There is some romance after Jack is discovered and wants to get married. This book has some sequels but are called Bloody Jack 2 and 3. It reminds me of Pirates of Caribbean. If you like guns and violence you can read this book even if you don¿t like reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Blood of Jack Faber

    ¿Bloody Jack¿ is about a girl named Jacky Faber who is very young who lives on the streets, eats crumbs, hangs with gangs, and try to stay clear of cops. She changes herself to look like a boy and changes her name to Jack. Jack finds the opportunity to work on a pirate ship. She gets free pay, free food, and much much more. The sailors make fun of Jack for she is so small. They make her do all the hard work to see her cry. She is assigned to make cloths for the deck men and make them clean when the captain is aboard. A boy named Jaimy helps Jack do the hard chores like put the mast up on the ship and watch at night for intruders. Jack starts to like Jaimy and forgets she is a girl. Jack tells her secret of being a girl and Jaimy wants to marry her. Will they get married? You have to read the book. This book was very good book. It had action of shooting cannons at people¿s ships for a couple of chapters. The book started off slow with nothing happening than guns shoot off and everything goes wild. There is some romance after Jack is discovered and wants to get married. This book has some sequels but are called Bloody Jack 2 and 3. It reminds me of Pirates of Caribbean. If you like guns and violence you can read this book even if you don¿t like reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    Good Read!!!!!

    I enjoyed this book very much. It gets you hooked in the very beginning. Jakie's adventures on the ship were a thrill to read. This book never slows down to the point where it's boring and keeps you thinking till the very end. Overall, it's delighting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2004

    Quite Enjoyable

    This book is great for people who love adventure and historical fiction. It's not particuarly deep or moving, but the plot is well thought out and has many exciting twists. I liked the way it was feminist without being blatantly unrealistic to the time period. Though the main character is a girl, boys will also enjoy it. If your into super realism though, this may not be the book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2003

    bloody jack is...

    bloody jack is a really good book on this topic compared with others i have read. it is a little intense at certain parts, but that is what makes it interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2