Customer Reviews for

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary Jacky Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventure Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Awesome series

    I started reading these a few years ago. Its one of my favorite series. I love all the trouble Jacky gets into. This is one of those series (for me at least) that when you read it, you Become the characters. I'd highly recommend this series to anyone....young or old. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Amazing Book - You will LOVE IT!

    This book is amazing! Mary 'Jacky' Faber is an orphan living on the streets of london. when her friend dies, she deceds to be come a ship's boy. this book is great for kids 12 and older. the author wrote it in a easy to follow fast paced and action packed style. Jacky is always getting into mischef and again, I just love this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pirates of the Caribbean?! Who cares!

    The Bloody Jack Adventures are truly the best books I have ever read. For LA Meyer never to write before, this is a true feat. His combonation of thrilling careers possibly makes this it. I hope he writes them for many more years, for they are truly something to cherish.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    This book saved my vacation.

    I read this book while I was vacationing in Connecticut when I was a freshman. I bought the book when I was in a gift shop and I spent the next two days completely engulfed. My family was yelling and complaining about my rudeness, but they couldn't understand the draw to it. I'm now a senior getting ready to graduate and I have read all of the other books after Bloody Jack. I have loaned my series out to my friends and now they look like they are a hundred years old. The way that they look shows how good these books are. I must admit that the first chapter is gloomy, but the story picks up quickly and is one of my favorite series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    Bloody Jack book 1

    We have a girl disguises her self as a boy for a different life than the life on the streets after the deaths of her parents and sister. She then finds adventures and gains a different perspective on life while on the ship called the Dolphin pursuing Pirates around the world. I liked this book and the cover caught my attention plus i had finished another pirates book where two girls became she pirates than pretending to be boy pirates called Pirates by celia rees.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    Ahoy maties!

    It was a wonderful book! Complete with adventure, suspense, and romance. And there's humour in every other line, so its a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    To:You should definit To: You should definitely read this:D

    Why did you put one star then?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Love this series so much! I read this series about four years ag

    Love this series so much! I read this series about four years ago twice and am currently reading it again. It never gets old! Great adventure series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    By: BABE2000

    The Bloody Jack books are my all time favorite. I've been reading L. A. Meyer aince fourth grade! Love it love it love it! This certain novel was actually harder to follow than any other books of Mr. Meyer's that I've read, but I figured it out in the end. What's funny is that I used to think that he was a she, but in fifth grade I just happened to see the author's picture on the wax cover. You know, that thingy that goes over a couple books? Anyway, I have to go to sleep 'cause I stood up until 10:36 trying (and suceeding) to read Bloody Jack. I just looked at my clock and it is officially 11:51 PM! 'Night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    Good start to one of my favorite series. The setting is good, th

    Good start to one of my favorite series.
    The setting is good, the characters and the descriptions of the ship as we get to know our main character and her crazy adventure on sea and land as the series goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    FABULOUS SERIES

    You must read the series in order. They build upon each other. Amusing, witty, most clever and certainly adventuresome. Suspensefully energetic with every turn of the page. Great writing methodology. Just a SUPER FUN SERIES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Best book e Best sere Ies Best bo Best series ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!###"#!!!!!!!!! Best series EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Amazing favorite series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Like

    Like

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Best series ever

    Ive read most of the books and if your just starting u need 2 read it all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    You should denifitely read it :D

    I love these series. They are my faveeeeess! I love Jacky, Im always wondering what else she's gonna get into xD <3 You should def read it, the whole series is awesomeee :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book!

    This an amazing start to a great series! Boys and girls alike will love the action and the romance in the book! Just make sure that you are in the approapiate age group, at least 13 or older!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Bloody jack

    Amazing. I love the story so much!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Best book ive ever read

    I love this series with all my heart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Jacky!!!!!!

    I love me some jacky. This is a wonderful series tht i just cant gey enough of , i've read all 8 books an i hope hy go one forever. This is a tale of a wonderfully outgoing, talented , an cunning girl tha winns your heart in th first chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Awesome

    This is one of my top ten favorite books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9