Customer Reviews for

Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary Jacky Faber, Ship's Boy (Bloody Jack Adventure Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Jacky rox

    This series rox my new nickname is jack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read even if you're not a kid

    I read this book because my niece, who is age appropriate, is reading this series, or rather has read the first 8 several times...She loves them. Now, I do too. I wish they had been around when I was growing up. Fast packed adventure with an honest heroine. It is a plus that Meyer does right by the history and many of the ship and naval details. I moved right into the second one...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Such Adventure!

    This is the first of a nicely done series of adventure stories starring Mary "Jacky" Faber, a one time orphan who takes to sea with the British Navy. The adventure is first rate and blends details about ships, pirates, and 18th century history with the epxerience of orphan survival and challenges especially facing young women of the time. Bloody Jack is sure to win the hearts of young women. There are soon to be 9 in the series (a new volume to be released this fall, I believe). My niece and her crowd are quite enamored of the books which was enough of a recommendation for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    Bloody Jack... Read it, mates.

    This book is super good! The main character, Jacky 'Mary' Faber starts out as a beggar, but in need to change her life, goes on a boat, pretending to be a boy. I've read all of these books.. and just after starting this book, you will want to too! She has so many fun, action-packed, crazy, awesome adventures! So, yeah. Read it. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    good start

    this book is a goood start to the resst of thee series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    this seires is amazing!!!!!!

    I simply adore these books. Poor little Mary Faber, left alone on the dark day is taken into the Rooster Charlie gang, but soon finds adventure, love, and trouble at sea. Boy or girl you will love these books and wont be able to put them down. There are lots of surprises and turn-arounds to keep you wanting more. Mary (Jacky) is my absolute favorite character, I want to cry with her and laugh with her and she is so lively and strong. You will not regret reading this book and the ones that follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT!!!

    I love bloody jack and L.A. meyer. His books are so good! I love them! I would recmend this book to any one who like's adventure, and a good twist!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!!

    BEST SERIES EVER!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    From poor Orphan on the streets of london to Queen of the High seas

    From poor Orphan on the streets of london to Queen of the High seas Jacky will leave you wanting more and cheering her along as she goes. After sneaking on to the HMS Dolphin as a boy Mary "Jacky" Faber experiences many adventures including falling in love. It's one of the BEST books I've ever read. I recomend it to any one who likes a good adventure, weather ur a girl or boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book was amazing

    I loved this book from the instant I opened the cover. The whole series is worth becoming a die hard fan of. There is a little bit of everything for everyone in the series, romance, adventure, humor. Nothing is lacking as you watch Jacky grow from a beggar child in the streets, to a marine, to a proper lady in a private school. I cannot wait for the most recent in the series to be available in libraries!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    Jack is a definite one of a kind and everyone who has read the first book has always wanted more. These books are filled with adventure, romance and tales of the high seas. Everyone can relate to Jacky or one of the other unforgettable characters somehow. Jacky's loyalty and friendship gets her through most scrapes and teaches real life lessons for young and not so young. She's not afraid to tell her how it is, and these books are some experiences that everyone goes through. I would recommend this book to everyone wanting an adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bloody Jack by L.A.Meyer

    So much fun to read! A great adventure. You can't wait to get to the next book in the collection. I felt a little old to be reading this series.... but hey; I love Harry Potter too! There is some content that may be a little dark for young ones, so parents; check it out first. I can't wait to converse with my niece and grandkids about these books. (After they read them.) The background history and atmosphere, I believe, creates a very educational read as well. But most important; they are just fun!
    I hope someone will make this book into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    I was kinda put off by the whole pirate/sailor thing....i wasn't sure if i was going to like something like this....then once i read it.....IT WAS AMAZING!it is soooo descriptive and just......great!I have read the entire series...and have not been disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    My favorite book

    My friend recommended this book to me at first i was skeptical but, then I started reading. I was sick that day and i couldn't put in down it was so good i read it in a grand total of 2 hours!! It is now my favorite book i have read it 9 times!! I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a thrill, romance, and drama!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Find your inner girl pirate!

    I love Jacky Faber girl pirate! This series has action, historical characters come to life and a flirty, funny main character who is a true delight! This first in the series starts off slow but hang in there for a true wild ride across the Atlantic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    Jacky Faber Rocks

    Louis Meyer is a wonderful author. You will find adventure, intrigue and even a little bit of romance as you turn each page. I recommend this book to any landlubber you wants High Seas fun without the water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2009

    Beginning of a Great Adventure!

    This is one of the best books I've ever read! I couldn't put it down. It was an excellent jumping off point for a great series. Although I think the first book was the best, they've all been excellent. I can't wait for the latest book to come out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Totaly awsome book

    My book is "Bloody Jack" By L. A. Meyer. In "Bloody Jack" a young orphan girl by the name of Marry "Jacky" Faber, lives in London, England in the late 1700's and early 1800's. She was orphaned when her mother, father, and little sister where killed by pestilence and left her to fend for her self on the rugged streets of London. A few years later she decides to leave the rugged streets and disguises herself as a boy, to become a Ships Boy on the HMS Dolphin a British Naval ship. On the ship she becomes one of the gang in the Ship's Boys crew. Then as she gets older she terns into a young woman and with that come all the things that come with a girls age. She also falls in live with a Ship's Boy Named Jaimy. She try's to hide her secrets and her love for him, but he finds her out and decides to help keep her secret. But there is a new problem now how will they hide there love?
    I seriously recommend this book to all people. One it was a serious page turner, because you never knew what would happen next. Like when she thinks she's dying. An two I enjoy chapters that end with cliff-hangers. Like when it's getting ready to tell you something and then gust leaves you hanging until the next chapter. Plus this book can be read by or read to all ages and all book lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely fun. A book you won't want to put down.

    The beginning of Bloody Jack is one that can start to push readers away - the poor girl, dressing as a boy to find a better life. It seems boring and cliche, even though the writing style is wonderful. But, as the plot continues, it becomes exciting and "unforgettable" with the adventures Jacky has. It contains everything from love to tragedy, and never gets old. I almost stopped reading at the beginning, but I'm glad I didn't. This book really surprised me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    an excelant start!

    this book is not only a wonderful start to the best series i have ever read, but a story of a girl who wants her life to change, and does something about it. Most stories about strong heros and dangerous places involve the man being the spot light, it was nice to have a girl being the brave one for a change. Jacky "Mary", is the moat pleasant person to read about. Not only does she give off a strong spirit, but she is daring and strong. After reading this book, i became obsessed with the rest. Being away at sea, which almost NEVER happened to a girl in the 18oo's, unless ahe was a passenger, gave the book an even more exciting twist. If a girl feels stuck in life, or is trying to find her voice, this story will help get you there. I love the ocean, so the fact that Jacky shares that same love, made me love her even more. I recomend this book over all the rest in the world!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9