BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Bloody Mary

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Bloody mary

    This book is scary but cool i've always love bloody mary since i was a kid but i don't belive the saying"if you lock the door and shut the lights off and say bloody mary three times she will appear in the mirror

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    A Toast to Jack!

    As a writer, I was really afraid to sample this series, because when I think about creating a main character who is not my own gender, I get all itchy and jumpy. Sure a minor character, even a sidekick, but a fully developed central character with all the right tendencies and foibles? This is ambitious and tough to sustain. Anyway, after closing the back cover of Bloody Mary, I said with a satisfied sigh, "Hats off to you, J.A., you really pulled it off!"

    I only found one teensy comment that threw me out of the story. At one point, Jack says she shaved. Men shave. Period. Women shave their legs. They shave their armpits. They shave other places I won't mention, but they never just shave, full stop. This is just one of those eternal things that shroud the sexes in mystery.

    Fans of Janet Evanovich will love the dysfunctional modern relationships portrayed in this book, and also dig the humor.

    Now I have to go back to Konrath's first Jack Daniels offering and plunk down coin for the rest of the series. Lest you think I'm not seriously liking this book, I gifted two Bloody Marys to Kindle friends for Christmas.

    Kath Russell, author of A POINTED DEATH

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a page turner!

    I couldn't put this book down. I had to read it in one sitting. Excellent character development. The plot is unbelievable. I kept thinking Joe Konrath has either seen some terrible things in his life, or he has a very sick mind to come up with horror's in this book. I had to keep reading to see how twisted it would get, and how it could possibly end.
    I have read the 1st 5 in the Jack Daniels series, and will start the 6th today. Every book has been one I just couldn't put down. I expect that "Cherry Bomb" will be just as twisted, and I probably will be up all night reading it!
    Thank you Joe Konrath for the wonderful reads. I really do hope you keep the series going, and not end it as you said on your website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2008

    Sensational Sequel

    This is J. A. Konrath's second book in his Jack Daniels series. This sequel really had me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end. I think this may be the best book in the series so far. Police officer, Barry Fuller, seemed to be a normal, ambicious rookie anxious to climb up in the ranks. It was a shock to everyone on the force, including Jack, when he turned out to be a mass murderer. Even though Jack is always on top of her game when it comes to catching bad guys, she can't seem to keep a guy in her personal life. I really think that she needs someone to keep her life more balanced, centered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2005

    COMPELLING LISTENING

    Dick Hill is such an able voice performer that he can turn an average story into compelling listening, which is what he's done with Konrath's second entry in her Lt. Jacqueline 'Jack' Daniels series. Dubbed a 'Golden Voice' by AudioFile Magazine, Hill is deft at inhabiting both male and female characters and is so attuned to the nuances that when 'there's a change from a daytime scene to night, he makes a subtle shift with his voice to reflect those environmental changes.' Thus, he brings danger and mounting suspense to a story, which in this listener's opinion, would not be found if one were reading. So, a very high five stars to Hill and a solid three for Konrath's tale. Following on the heels of last year's 'Whiskey Sour,' we now find Jack Daniels mystified by body parts sans bodies that are turning up at the morgue. One unattached pair of arms is wearing bracelets - Jack's handcuffs. Obviously some demented killer is trying to get to Jack in more ways than one. Narrative voices are alternated between Jack and the killer, which allows for much revealing of the psycho's method and penchant for gruesome slaughter. Although Jack and her partner, Herb Benedict, discover who the killer is pretty early on, it's their job to prove it. Subplots include Jack's love life and the travails of her mother. Always fine, Hill is especially effective as the voice of the killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2005

    Spell-binding, edge-of-the-seat story telling!

    I couldn¿t wait to begin reading the newest book in the Jack Daniels series, Bloody Mary. AND, I wasn¿t disappointed. J A Konrath continues with the spell-binding, edge-of-the-seat story telling that began in Whiskey Sour. Jacqueline ¿Jack¿ Daniels and her partner Herb are on the trail of a killer that not only kills but desecrates the bodies of his victims ¿ young, pretty ¿working girls¿. In the middle of trying to stop this vicious killer, Jack has family problems. Not only has her mother broken her hip but she refuses to allow Jack to help. But, family ties are strong and Mom ends up on Jack¿s doorstep bringing Alan, Jack¿s ex with her. Of course, nothing is simple and the fact that Jack has a boyfriend doesn¿t phase mom¿s wish to get Jack and Alan back together. As the investigation continues, it is suspected that the killer is one of their own. That makes it doubly hard to catch him as he knows each move they will make. But finally, Jack and Herb capture the killer and he goes to trial claiming a brain tumor caused him to kill. Jack doesn¿t believe for a moment that this is the cause of his killing spree. Herb and Jack work desperately to find other evidence before the jury returns a verdict of not guilty which will set him free to kill again. But Herb is having a mid-life crisis and leaves his wife, buys a ¿hot¿ car and loses weight. Just in time, they find the evidence that will send the killer to jail despite his claim of ¿the tumor made me do it¿. One would believe that this was a great ending to a thrilling story but¿.well now would I want to give away one of the best endings yet? Go grab a copy and read for yourself how all the various plots work themselves out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    zany roller coaster police procedural

    Cook County Chief Medical Examiner Phil Blasky informs Chicago Violent Crimes Unit Detective Jacqueline 'Jack' Daniels that the morgue has a slight problem, a pair of extra arms handcuffed together. Jack and her partner Herb Benedict, thinking that the 100 plus degrees outside is cooler than their office, stop by the morgue where Jack¿s handcuffs link the arms. --- Soon other body parts surface at the morgue as if an insider is toying with the medical examiner and the cops. After several people are killed, the two cops finally catch the apparent culprit aspirin popping Barry Fuller; Jack and Herb feel they have stapled the case shut until the accused takes a lie detector test. While the serial killer case looks suddenly lost Jack¿s home front turns weirder then ever when her mom, assisted by her former son-in-law Alan, moves in with her while her current boyfriend Latham Conger wonders what is going on; for Barry a new list of Jack¿s circle now exists. --- BLOODY MARY is a zany roller coaster police procedural that the alternates perspectives between the cop and the killer. The story line starts off grippingly eerie, picks up weirdness and speed, but slows down towards the middle as readers know too much, only to suddenly detour yet accelerate into hyperspeed once Fuller is caught but apparently will walk due to lack of evidence. Jack¿s personal life adds craziness that is so out of control that a serial killer aimed in some perverse way at her seems like a lark. Fans will need to toast Jack with a WHISKEY SOUR for handling her personal life with chocolate and a murder investigation as her escapes. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2