Customer Reviews for

Bloom: Finding Beauty in the Unexpected--A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Life-changing and inspiring read

Bloom is a beautiful, emotional, and powerfully honest journey through Kelle Hampton's first year with her daughter Nella, who is unexpectedly born with Down syndrome. Kelle is a skilled writer, and she has a keen ability to make you cry your eyes out or laugh hysterica...
Bloom is a beautiful, emotional, and powerfully honest journey through Kelle Hampton's first year with her daughter Nella, who is unexpectedly born with Down syndrome. Kelle is a skilled writer, and she has a keen ability to make you cry your eyes out or laugh hysterically with the turn of a sentence. I walked away from this book with a newfound, positive perspective on handling life's challenges, along with an urge to make a difference in the lives of those who are labeled "different" by our society.

And while the book is a great read, it's also full-color throughout with stunning photos and one of the most gorgeous designs I've ever seen. This is definitely an object you'll want to have on your coffee table--you'll continue looking through the photographs days after you've finished the book and will want to share them with others.

I noticed that the book has received some 1-star reviews here, which seemed unbelievable until I actually read them. If you're not a follower of Kelle's blog, you're probably not aware that her optimism and zest for life--coupled with her success in the blogosphere--has sadly earned her a small following of "haters." I imagine that they're the ones lurking here, and I do hope that Barnes and Noble monitors their website reviews.

Personal rants about Kelle and her blog do not constitute book reviews and I doubt that those people even read the book. If they did, they would find themselves moved to be kinder people who are more accepting of others.

posted by JMcGregor on April 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Losing faith in the Hampton family

I fell in love with Nella and the Hampton family after discovering their blog a year ago. I longed to find THAT family and THAT story in this book. They were honest, vulnerable, and raw. They were beautiful and relatable. However, like the blog of late, this book has ta...
I fell in love with Nella and the Hampton family after discovering their blog a year ago. I longed to find THAT family and THAT story in this book. They were honest, vulnerable, and raw. They were beautiful and relatable. However, like the blog of late, this book has taken a different and unfortunate path. It feels like cotton candy -- full of gorgeous photography, but saccharin sweet in content. It was fun for the moment, but I don't walk away with much substance. Further, Hampton's writing is frustrating at times; even with an editor, it can read like an overly poetic stream of consciousness. I still adore Nella and her family, but I feel like the depth of the story has been lost. Their experience is now a business, and that "image marketing" comes across clearly in this book.

posted by 2478746 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Beautiful Touching Real

    She has quite the interesting set up when she Gives birth but she is a Girl who knows what she wants that for sure haha, almost to prefect a life if you ask me but I am only 2 chapters in. SHe has more friends then anyone I know :P But so far I am enjoying it and have cried once only a few pages in. I would recommend it :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    :)

    Not what i expected but very good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Decent book

    I am honestly glad I read this as my kids are older, Kelle is a remarkable woman, but I think this book would have made me more anxious about having kids if I would have read it before or during pregnancy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Beautiful words paired with beautiful pictures. A must read, es

    Beautiful words paired with beautiful pictures. A must read, especially for anyone touched by Down syndrome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Inspired me to be a better mother, despite the foul language ... :-(

    If I could give his book 3.5 stars, I would, because that is what I truly feel (based on my own personal experience) it is. But since four stars would be over-reaching, I had to settle for three stars instead.

    The book was raw and emotional. The author did a great job of placing her emotions within the scenes. I think I particularly enjoyed it so much because I am a mother and love being one. Kelle Hampton, the author, inspired me to be a better mother and appreciate my two children even more. My favorite part was probably where she mentions her nightly routine of Burt's Bee's lotion and "Good Night Moon." It made me pull that book back out and start reading it to Jack every night, and he LOVES it! The description of the nightly routine and the feelings of joy and deep inner contentment as you lay your babies down for the night I could deeply relate to and were sentimental for me. It's probably the part that stuck with me the most.

    As a Christian, it was difficult for me to adjust to the cursing. I would say that eventually the cursing put a barrier between the author and I, where most of the book was almost suffocated. I ducked from every word waiting on another to pounce. It is difficult to explain to someone, or make them understand, how cursing sounds to someone who has cleaned up their language for the sole purposes of a deeper spiritual connection with God. I cursed most of my life and only very recently have stopped, and even a couple of years of clean language has made me sensitive and almost disgusted with it at the same time. I know what a memoir is, I read them all the time. This is only the second one where I had to endure cursing, and this one was worse than the other. I don't believe cursing is necessary for a memoir to be raw. Better to just leave them out all together, but if you feel they must be there, than offer two versions, or at least label it clearly on the front or back of the book of explicit language. To be honest, I most likely would have not purchased the book.

    The only other part I want to respond to is Kelle's descriptive account of her and her dad's relationship journey and the reasons for part of its dip. It always breaks my heart to hear of people's struggles with "the church." The church is made up of God's people, and where there are people, certainly imperfections abound. I guess what always worries me is that people will mistake human imperfections for validity of Christianity. People, rather than the actual church itself will create their own rules and misinterpret what the Bible says all the time. Fortunately, the church is continually evolving and becoming more of what God intended it to be. What I want to make clear is the Bible's position on two things. #1, (and I am not going to cite the actual verse, there are too many to mention), where God commands us to separate ourselves from sin, he means to actually separate ourselves from the "sin" and not the "person". There is a difference. His greatest command is to love each other as deeply as we can, enough to die for that person, and to love that person more than ourselves. #2 is the issue on homosexuality. God's position on that in the Bible is very clear also. It deeply concerned me as I read this that readers would be misled. I felt the need to defend the truth here.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Sweet and honest

    Very real look inside the head of a woman with a special needs daughter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    Page-turner

    Page-turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    I found this book int he .25 cent bin at the pack'n'save.  Was t

    I found this book int he .25 cent bin at the pack'n'save.  Was this a story about a woman coming to terms with her disabled daughter or a sly way for Kelle to show off her privileged life? The pictures were nice but after you've seen a few they all become repetitive. Final verdict - it was "ok" would not buy again. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    I loved reading Kelle's so I of course was really looking forwar

    I loved reading Kelle's so I of course was really looking forward to reading her book when it came out. I couldn't even finish it. All I kept thinking was it was over the top. She acted as I would imagine a parent would when a child passes. Nella didn't pass away, she was born special. I cant imagine what it is like to have a DS child but I think Kelle took it over the top and that ruined it for me. It was almost like she wasn't even greatful that she had a baby to take home when so many people don't even have that. Each child is special, even if they have DS. What will her other children think when they are older and read this?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I have been following Kelle and her family since I was in colleg

    I have been following Kelle and her family since I was in college and constantly read her blog to feel more grounded. She is an amazing writer and Nella has grown leaps and bounds since the publication of this book. Great read! Beautiful photos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Tigerstar and spottedcoat

    Go to starclan. Where is it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Excellent Book- honest, poignant, and beautiful. This book lets

    Excellent Book- honest, poignant, and beautiful. This book lets you know it's okay to have grief in dark times. There is laughter infused throughout. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I feel there is a little bit of downplay of the role of God in life's circumstances. I recognize for many this is a non-issue, and it didn't ruin the book for me, just wanted people to be aware. Amazing read. Will really make you think about your own life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings A book that sta

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    A book that started as a blog to keep family updated on their first born child ended up a book about the life changing event of having a second child, and not just a second child, but a second child with Down Syndrome.  Although I may not be a mom and may never become one, I still found lessons in this book with ways to handle difficult ways with grace, courage and surrounded by close friends.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Will my mom like this book for Mothers Day?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Zebraprint

    Sits.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Beautifu

    Such a great story. I couldn't put it down, now it's time for me to pass it on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Can I be Riverkit?

    Please?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Flameheart

    Sunflower are you still looking for a mate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Heroin

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    To Sunflower

    I did what u said to. I came here to rp a different cat. His name is Bluebeetle.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5