Customer Reviews for

Blow: How a Small-Town Boy Made $100 Million with the Medellin Cocaine Cartel and Lost It All

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Lucas's Review

    Blow is a great book to read. I have also seen the movie and they make them both close to real life situations. I wish that they would have used the same names in the movie that they have in real life and the book. I also like how Porter structures his chapters into where they were at. I also like how deep the story is and how indepth he goes with his information and his stories. This book is a great read and i suggest it to everybody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    UNReal

    The movie is my bible, I love, I used to watch a 5 to 7 times a week, I cant anymore unless I'm alone, I say every line. The Book is the very first Book that I ever read front to back, UNreal, absoulutly Love it, I cant get enough of it, i have read probaly about 10 times....Cant seem to put it down!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    blow: great movie

    i havent read the book yet but i plan on byeing it when i get to the book store the movie was great and i hear the book is even better i hope everyone enjoyed the movie as much as me and i recommend anyone to read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    In Bruce Porter¿s Blow, Bruce takes you on a thrilling ride thro

    In Bruce Porter’s Blow, Bruce takes you on a thrilling ride through the life of George Jung. George, a boy from Boston, Massachusetts grew up as any kid would, playing football, riding his bike, and helping his father with his modest air conditioning business. George’s father didn’t make much money and George took notice to this when he started his transformation to an adult. George realized he never wanted to struggle for money and made it his goal to be financially secure. 
    George tried some “real” jobs, home construction and fishing, but George wasn’t a huge fan of the hard labor that amounted to hardly any pay. So one summer when George goes to Manhattan Beach and begins selling pot he becomes addicted to the easy money of drug dealing.
    Bruce Porter takes you through the come up of George in the drug world. From a small pot dealer, no one could have predicted the cocaine king pin he would become. The luxurious trips to exotic destinations and brutal murders make for a very interesting business venture. Porter does a great job of accurately portraying the life of George Jung and his rise to becoming a king pin of the Medellin Cartel. This book keeps you hooked the entire time, the fantasy world George lives in would be appealing to all readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    Great book i would reccomend!

    BLOW is the unlikely story of George Jung's roller coaster ride from middle-class high school football hero to the heart of Pable Escobar's Medellin cartel-- the largest importer of the United States cocaine supply in the 1980s. Jung's early business of flying marijuana into the United States from the mountains of Mexico took a dramatic turn when he met Carlos Lehder, a young Colombian car thief with connections to the then newly born cocaine operation in his native land. Together they created a new model for selling cocaine, turning a drug used primarily by the entertainment elite into a massive and unimaginably lucrative enterprise-- one whose earnings, if legal, would have ranked the cocaine business as the sixth largest private enterprise in the Fortune 500.The ride came to a screeching halt when DEA agents and Florida police busted Jung with three hundred kilos of coke, effectively unraveling his fortune. But George wasn't about to go down alone. He planned to bring down with him one of the biggest cartel figures ever caught. I enoyed this book because it is great to see how George comes from being completly poor to the luxury life and back to poor again. I think its good for teenagers to read also because it shows them selling drugs will always catch back up to you and you should never do it. anthony

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Great Book. Everybody should check it out.

    This book is about Georges rise and downfall. He had a dream to never be poor because he dosent want to have the same fate his father did. He went from selling marijunia to cocaine. I enjoyed seeing his how he lived the luxury life and then ended up with jail time. I would reccomend this book to anybody who is interested in real crimes and stories of how everything catches back up to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2007

    GREAT!!!!!!!

    I first saw the movie then read the book I enjoy both of them equally....The book is probably better. I think George Jung is a American Hero

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2003

    The company you keep!

    The characters that Jung attracted were more interesting than him...which was revealing in a sense about the drug trade itself..that most people envolved in the drug trade are not just the typical people you would suspect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    This is by far the best book i have ever read - Kuether

    George Jung has got the biggest cojones of anyone i know, and reading this book will prove it. He goes from a nothing to a something like that. Great book, Great buy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    THIS BOOK :

    THIS BOOK IS SO KOOL. THE MOVIE EVEN KOOLER. I RECOMMEND IT TO PEOPLE WHO LIKE TRUE STORIES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    Better than the movie

    A great book, with much more information than the movie. One of my Favorites

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    This Book is the best book I ever read.

    After i saw the movie i knew i had to get the book. The movie was excellent and the book was even better. George Jung rules!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2001

    GOOD STORY FROM THE EIGHTIES

    Truth is often stranger than fiction, and Blow is a good, strange story. Enjoyable to read, but the writing could have been stronger. I love this particular theme.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2001

    Blown Sky High

    Blown, is the only word to describe George Jung's depiction of his life. I read this book several years ago and was more intrigued by George's magnetic and somewhat arrogant personallity, than I was with his adventuress lifestyle. George is the type of person who can walk into a room and manipulate its chemistry to fit his own persona. It find it interesting, that the word person was dirived from the Greek word persona. The original Greek meaning for, Mask. I believe George was hiding behind his 'Rebel Without a Cause' role, because he truly wanted to lead a productive life and receive credit from his family and friends for doing so. But there was something wrong, George felt he had a higher purpose in life. A gut feeling that he might be missing an opportunity to be apart of something big. The events that took place in his life, filled that void and allowed him to play the 'Rock 'N Role Rebel' character better than anyone else. Just ask him, he will tell you. George is a person to whom you can relate and would make you feel like you were the center of attention in any situation. For anyone who enjoys the rise and fall of a superstar, this book is for you. The rise is sharply intense and continues until the last page. I've anticipated the release of the movie and am optimistic that the writers will allow Jonny Depp to develop George's character and charisma for the big screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    I couldn't put it down

    Upon first seeing the movie I was absolutely intrigued at the rise and fall of this man. I bought the book and couldn't put it down! The book was riveting, anyone who reads this will be amazed at just how lucrative and dangerous the drug world really is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2001

    BOOK IT

    BLOW will 'BLOW YOU AWAY'.... The movie is 'Oscar worthy' and the book is better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    liked the movie- loved the book

    The book was nothing short of fantastic. George Jungs life makes for a great read. Your really do fall in love with George. Porter definintely did his research before writing this book. I appriciated the way Porter always discussed politics and social issues as George went through his life. The way Porter wrote the book Jung is not villified yet he is not made the victim either. He is just a regular guy with a not so regular life. Really wonderful from page one until the very end!!!! The movie fails here, they not only turn George into a victim but a psycho at the end which is not who the real George Jung is. They really ruined the end in the Movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    stunning heart racer

    First seeing the moive help me to fine tune the book. Excellent if you like true stories that are good stories.kept your mind wondering!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2001

    Truth is stranger than fiction

    This is a realistic, straight talking book that is a fantastic read! I had heard about the movie and thought the book might be even better which is always the case. This book reveals the basic ease with which drugs are brought into, distributed and sold to produce dream houses literally filled with stacks of good ole American currency! I enjoyed every page and would recommend this book. I did not dislike George or feel any sorrow for anything that happened to him. He is simply who he is and that is ok. He was no less a businessman than those who are legally engaged in commerce. George's last letter to his dying father has a universal appeal and a simple lesson of life that we all should be aware of. The book is not a book with a defined plot, it more of a narrative of an individual's action, reaction, interaction and the resulting outcomes. It covers the high rolling lifestyle of the drug money kings then shows the final comedown days as well. Like the Greek concept of the Wheel of Fortune, you may be on top but be prepared for the ride back down to the very bottom!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2001

    i was blown away

    well written,gripping and entertaining. main character is easy to relate to. interesting look at the drug trade. can't wait to see the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2