Customer Reviews for

Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta Series #12)

Average Rating 3
( 299 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(63)

1 Star

(86)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hooked on Cornwell

In the last year I have picked up on Patricia Cornwell novels and have loved every one! "Blow Fly" was fast-paced, exciting and a great read to get you away from it all! I highly recommend all of Cornwell's books in the Kay Scarpetta series!

posted by kip0926 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Just dark and wounded

Patricia Cornwell has been one of my favorite authors for quite some time, and I've been an avid fan of her Kay Scarpetta series (though not the Andy Brazil series). I suppose that may be why I was so disappointed with Blowfly, the eleventh novel in the Scarpetta series...
Patricia Cornwell has been one of my favorite authors for quite some time, and I've been an avid fan of her Kay Scarpetta series (though not the Andy Brazil series). I suppose that may be why I was so disappointed with Blowfly, the eleventh novel in the Scarpetta series. Cornwell created a formidable and impressive heroine in Kay Scarpetta a lawyer, as well as a medical doctor, serving as the Chief Medical Examiner of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Her own experience working as a medical examiner helped her weave a vivid image of that world, and the politics surrounding it. But somewhere, Cornwell has jumped the rails and taken her writing from dark and mysterious into just dark and wounded. Scarpetta, once the indomitable spirit who lets the dead speak and finds the justice, albeit a dark and foreboding chase, now spends much of her time sitting and whimpering to herself about all the bad things that she¿s suffered lately. What was once a model of self determination, now reads like a case of clinical depression and self pity. Also, where the first eight or nine books are able to stand alone, even if the reader hasn¿t read the preceding ones, the last few have read more like chapters than actual books. Blowfly, even more than the others, requires the reader to have pretty much memorized what happened in the two preceding (Black Notice and The Last Precinct) in order to understand the story at all. Blowfly's story line is convoluted and very difficult to follow, even for a reader who is very familiar with the entire series. Characters whose lives and loves are well known to the reader are muddied to the point that they become unfamiliar, and then seem to have changed entirely. One character, long dead, is even resurrected his supposed murder now linked to the present chaos, although none of it had even occurred yet when he 'passed'. There was a profound and unexplained change in Cornwell's writing style as well, that began in The Last Precinct, the book immediately preceding, and continuing with Blowfly. Where the other books have been written in first person, past tense (I walked into the room and saw the victim), the last two have been third person, present tense (Scarpetta walks into the room and sees the victim). The change is dramatic in that it not only distracts the reader it tends to make it sound like a screenplay instead of a novel. It is commonly held that the ending is the hardest part of a novel to write, and Blowfly seems to hold this up. It ends abruptly in the last five pages, leading the reader to wonder if there may be some pages missing. There is no build and release, only a tension that never ends. If the pattern follows, I have no doubt that the next book in the series will pick up as if it is the missing chapters to the unfinished story. Linda Dark Horse

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    Just dark and wounded

    Patricia Cornwell has been one of my favorite authors for quite some time, and I've been an avid fan of her Kay Scarpetta series (though not the Andy Brazil series). I suppose that may be why I was so disappointed with Blowfly, the eleventh novel in the Scarpetta series. Cornwell created a formidable and impressive heroine in Kay Scarpetta a lawyer, as well as a medical doctor, serving as the Chief Medical Examiner of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Her own experience working as a medical examiner helped her weave a vivid image of that world, and the politics surrounding it. But somewhere, Cornwell has jumped the rails and taken her writing from dark and mysterious into just dark and wounded. Scarpetta, once the indomitable spirit who lets the dead speak and finds the justice, albeit a dark and foreboding chase, now spends much of her time sitting and whimpering to herself about all the bad things that she¿s suffered lately. What was once a model of self determination, now reads like a case of clinical depression and self pity. Also, where the first eight or nine books are able to stand alone, even if the reader hasn¿t read the preceding ones, the last few have read more like chapters than actual books. Blowfly, even more than the others, requires the reader to have pretty much memorized what happened in the two preceding (Black Notice and The Last Precinct) in order to understand the story at all. Blowfly's story line is convoluted and very difficult to follow, even for a reader who is very familiar with the entire series. Characters whose lives and loves are well known to the reader are muddied to the point that they become unfamiliar, and then seem to have changed entirely. One character, long dead, is even resurrected his supposed murder now linked to the present chaos, although none of it had even occurred yet when he 'passed'. There was a profound and unexplained change in Cornwell's writing style as well, that began in The Last Precinct, the book immediately preceding, and continuing with Blowfly. Where the other books have been written in first person, past tense (I walked into the room and saw the victim), the last two have been third person, present tense (Scarpetta walks into the room and sees the victim). The change is dramatic in that it not only distracts the reader it tends to make it sound like a screenplay instead of a novel. It is commonly held that the ending is the hardest part of a novel to write, and Blowfly seems to hold this up. It ends abruptly in the last five pages, leading the reader to wonder if there may be some pages missing. There is no build and release, only a tension that never ends. If the pattern follows, I have no doubt that the next book in the series will pick up as if it is the missing chapters to the unfinished story. Linda Dark Horse

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Worst Book Ever

    This was the worst book I ever read. I don't know if this was supposed to be a fairy tale or a Stephen King-type thriller. It certainly wasn't a murder mystery. The crazy Chandonne character has been stretched way past the point of believability. This requires much more than the suspension of disbelief.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2005

    WHAT HAPPENED?

    I was so excited when I found out that Patricia Cornwell was coming out with a new Kay Scarpetta novel. I counted the days for it's release and ran to the bookstore to get a copy. When I started into it I was shocked to see that she had written it in a third-person style and had done away with Kay's vision of the story. Then after reading for a while I found that Kay wasn't even the main character, really. It centered more around Lucy, who is as confusing as ever. Even the other characters had more scenes than Kay did. The ending was so horrible that it almost seemed to be from a different story. It just tumbled along forever and then just stopped. By far the worst Kay Scarpetta novel ever and I have been reading them since 'Postmortem'. If you still want to read it, borrow don't buy.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2007

    A let down, but enough with the Chardonnes

    I just finished this book and my oh my is it a disappointment! Please tell me this will be the last of the Cardonne family. I am really bummed about how things got revealed with Benton. I really hope TRACE is better.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Hooked on Cornwell

    In the last year I have picked up on Patricia Cornwell novels and have loved every one! "Blow Fly" was fast-paced, exciting and a great read to get you away from it all! I highly recommend all of Cornwell's books in the Kay Scarpetta series!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Best Book Yet!!!!

    It's so funny reading the other reviews. This was definitely her best book so far! I am so bored with Kellerman, Patterson, and Sanford...Lee Child is the best writer so far.....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Windheart

    Name above age 19 moons appearence a sleek strong grey tom with green eyes personality nice outgoing fun polite unless you get on his bad side position warrior gender tom single crush none history a warrior that has traveled from ivyclan to sunclan to fallclan then to here anything else just ask

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Not thrilled. How can people that are supposed to love KS live w

    Not thrilled. How can people that are supposed to love KS live with this one?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Love it! A character I can relate to with an exciting story line.

    Read all of the earlier books in the Kay series years ago and just got back into them now. I get a feeling part of this story comes from Paticia C's own inner demons as her character evolves. Whatever the case it keeps the story line interesting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Scarpetta story continues

    Patricia Cornwell's character Kay Scarpetta continues to reign supreme in another book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    BIOS

    Bios here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Leopardstrike

    Name: Leopardstrike/Gender: &female/Position: Medicine cat/Apprentice: Opalpaw/Age: 15 moons/History: you don't want to know. Very brutal/Personality: smart, kind, accepting, loyal, does not like the idea of war, but she is actually a very skilled warrior in battle. She can outrun pretty much every cat, so her body is slender and built for running and endurance/Description: medium sized golden she-cat that is dotted with black spots. She has emerald green eyes ringed with coppee. On her forehead, she has three scars running through her ears. She has three copper paws, and one black/Father: doesn't know/Mother: see father/Siblings:not that she knows of/Crush: geez, she is a medicine cat/Mate:can't have one/Kits: see mate/Other: ask me'•_•' Leopardstrike

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    EmberClaws bio

    Name: EmberClaw Age: adult/teenage Rank: warrior Description: brownish red pelt, brown eyes, one red paw. Backround: escaped from a war- torn clan. Ordered to launch an attack and ended up joining stormclan. *Secret* Her orriginalvname was sparkclaw and was soon changed to EmberClaw after surviving a large attack and was the only one left.(Ember- remains of a fire. The one that didnt die out.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Thunderclaw bio

    Age: 20 moons persallnality: brave kind daring pachent quit sneaky helpfull curyous obiediedent jenerous playfull shy gender: tom cat with black fur and green eyes with gray paws.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Riderwing's bio

    Name: Riderwing-Age: 18 moons-Rank:Warrior-Gender: She-Personality: Energetic, short tempered, impatient, caring, VERY HIGHLY trustworthy, does my best to keep true to my word, truthful -Appearance: Varies as i am a shape shifter. Does have pure white wings tipped with black and gold. Usually. -Background:Figure it out. -Other:Ask.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Stormclan rest of results are our territory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I was thrilled to read the change in style of this book. The first several books of the series there was a recognizable theme and now I'm seeing the changes in Kay's life as well as the other characters' lives and I love it! How apropos for Kay to find her life changed so drastically that she had to begin again, I know I've experienced the same thing in my mid-fourties. I'm looking forward to seeing where her new journey takes her and what kind of a place she'll find in this world to use her skills. The ending, although a bit abrupt, gives fans an appetite to read on and find this hideous creature who will surely show up in a most unexpected place. I'm just on chapter 2 of Trace but the feeling that I felt when I began to read the series is back and I can't wait to see what's going to happen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Great

    Good story. Feel like I know all the characters... Also like the new setting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Simply a riveting brilliant read as most of her other books. I was not able to put it down till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    A good read....but

    not the usual Scarpetta. I did enjoy the book and I agree with a previous review from another reader - it does connect everything. I'll always be a huge fan of Patricia Cornwell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 300 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15