Customer Reviews for

Blown Away

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is an exhilarating romantic suspense tale

    In Louisiana, mystery novelist Carolina "Cari" North takes a stroll in nearby woods. She is stunned to see her former fiancé Lance Morgan digging what appears to be a grave. He hears a noise and sees her. Lance chases after Cari just as a tornado touches down in the area.

    After the storm abates the injured Cari heads home to find her family seemingly dead; including her identically looking cousin Susan. Knowing she must go to the hospital to have her injuries cared for yet also feeling unsafe with Lance stalking her, Cari pretends to be Susan. While at the hospital, Susan's boss Michael Boudreaux visits her, but knows immediately she is not his employee. Cari tells him the truth and due to his high regard for Susan he agrees to help her.

    This is an exhilarating romantic suspense starring a beleaguered female and the hero vowing to keep her safe though he has no direct reason to risk his life to do so. Loaded with action throughout, fans will enjoy Sharon Sala's bayou thriller although Lance proves more the buffoon than the frightening stalking killer as he fails to hold up his side of the equation.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Louisiana Devastation

    Blown Away is seventeen chapters of romance, suspense, and devastation that make a page-turner. This lady can write! This is the first book I've read of hers and from this Harlequin line, but I have two others lined up, waiting: Torn Apart and Swept Aside, the two remaining ones in this series. I was first attracted to the novels because of the Louisiana setting, but I hadn't read much when I realized there was much more to this book besides setting. I love her writing style and multiple viewpoints. Her characters are so real they could walk off the page. The description and sensory details are vivid and believable. I bought the story hook, line, and sinker and found we share a few similarities. I can't wait to read the other two in the series and they're next on my reading list. Watch out for the Louisiana swamps and skeeters. Her writing is so realistic you might find yourself reaching for a can of Off. I bought my copy of this novel from Barnes and Noble as a Nookbook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Blown Away is the first of three of Sharon Sala's Storm Front Series. It's a thriller, a romance and a great read in one.

    Bestselling Mystery author Carolina North lives a much quieter life in the Louisiana Bayou town of Bordelaise then she writes about until one morning during a walk she comes upon something she never thought she'd see a man she once loved burying a body, in her frantic rush to get home to her parents and report what she's seen she's unaware that everything she's loved and known up until this point is about to be "Blown Away". Mike Boudreaux, Baton Rouge business man is notified that his personal assistant is in the hospital only when he arrives he sees an imposter in the bed. He wants answers and as soon as this look-a-like wake up, he's going to get them.
    Ms. Sala really knows how to get to the heart of a reader by giving them what they want in a plot, a force of nature followed by a great romantic suspense read and knows just where to place it, in the Louisiana Bayous a place of majestic beauty that can and does turn deadly. Her dialogue is flowing and filled with that wonderful Cajun jargon that really gets to the heart of any romance lover. I mean who can resist that all inclusive "cher". She's also a genius at painting pictures in our heads with her words as we live through the tornado and fear for the lives of the characters as they play out their roles. And let's talk about the characters who are all wonderfully portrayed and developed especially her hero Mike and heroine Carolina who you can't help but cheer for as they reach for that all elusive Happily Ever After. Her romance is sweet while the love scenes are hot, spicy and intense.
    So if you love a great romance, that grand passion, this is your read. If you shutter with excitement with suspense then this is definitely what you want. If you like your romance on the sizzle burner, look no farther. And if you like series, well you're in luck because there are two more coming your way so stay tuned for my review of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    You Can Fool Some of The People Some of The Time...

    Blown Away is the 1st book in a new trilogy by Sharon Sala. I haven't previously read any books by Ms. Sala, but this book looked like it had an interesting premise so I decided to take a chance on a new (to me) author

    The next time you think you're having a bad day and your life sucks, I'm pretty sure the heroine of Blown Away Carolyn North has you beat by a country mile.

    While on a walk near her home, Carolyn stumbles across Lance Morgan, ex-boyfriend and owner of the neighboring farm burying a body wrapped in a carpet in woods. This actually is the highlight in what is to become the worst day possible in the life of Carolyn North and in fact probably saved her life. As Carolyn flees (Lance has every intention of silencing her before she can expose his crimes), back at the North homestead a tornado has made landfall totally demolishing Carolyn's home, killing her parents and her visiting cousin Susan (who coincidentally looks enough like Carolyn that they could be twins) and gravely injuring Carolyn herself. I told you she was having a bad day.

    And yet even after all these traumatic events, somehow Carolyn has the presence of mind to think that if she doesn't leave the area immediately that Lance will track her down and kill her for what she witnessed him doing in the woods. Good thing her cousin Susan's car was unscathed during the storm so Carolyn buckles up and beats a hasty retreat deciding to assume her dead cousin's identity until she can prove that Lance is a murderer.

    Well you can fool some of the people some of the time, but when Carolyn passes out at a traffic light and is hospitalized and "Susan's" contact information is her boss Mike Beaudreaux, once he arrives - she ain't fooling nobody, especially Mike.

    Mike Beaudreaux is a smart, savvy, sexy businessman, who once he learns the true nature of Carolyn's story is most compassionate and agrees to carry out the charade as he invites her into his home to recover from her ordeal. Although the relationship between Mike and Carolyn was quick to develop considering they only knew each other for a couple of weeks, it was sweet and loving and Mike being a southern gentleman does treat her with the utmost respect. Considering what Carolyn endured, the romance isn't too hot and heavy but it seems Mike was just what the Dr. prescribed for Carolyn's road to recovery.

    While I did finish Blown Away I did have some issues with the logic/storyline that made me shake my head and roll my eyes a few times.

    I admit to knowing next to nothing about tornadoes other than they are very scary and windy - but shouldn't there have been some tornado or wind warnings that day before Carolyn decided to go for an afternoon stroll in the woods? Can a tornado really form that quick that you have no inkling one is just minutes from striking?

    Why not just go to the police immediately and report what she saw Lance doing in the woods? For some reason Carolyn thinks she needs to amass evidence against Lance or no one will believer her. For such a smart guy, why would Mike go along with her harebrained plan (with his help and resources of course)? Lance as the bad guy was kind of lame. He was more like a spoiled, selfish brat who got himself into a heap of trouble and then couldn't deal with the consequences.

    The set up for the next two books in the series sounds intriguing and while I had some minor issues with Blown Away, I will in all likelihood read them as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Love her brave &spirited women who are not hateful.

    Ms. Sala is my favoriite author. Her heroes are so manly and yet kind & gentle. Wish aall her stories were on E-book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Enjoyed this book.

    Will be looking for more this author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    I enjoyed this as a fun weekend book.

    "Blown Away" is a story about a woman who walks up on a freind who is burying a body of a man he has just killed and how she is affected by that and by a tornado that kills her whole family. I have read most of Sharon Sala's books and most keep you on the edge of your seat the whole way through. This book is no exception. She uses very few words to take you through the story and she makes you feel like you are right there with the characters. The love interest is tender and very considerate, just like we all like to be treated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3