BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blubber

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Review for the book <Blubber> by Judy Blume

I read the book written by Judy Blume. This book is based on girls named Jill and Tracy. They go around doing naughty things and bullying a girl named Linda Fischer the .

I generally liked the story because it was hilarious, descriptive, and fun...
I read the book written by Judy Blume. This book is based on girls named Jill and Tracy. They go around doing naughty things and bullying a girl named Linda Fischer the .

I generally liked the story because it was hilarious, descriptive, and fun. However, there were things I did not like about this book. One part was that this book described bullying as a fun thing to do so in that case I was little bit disappointed by the fact.

Second reason is that there aren't many loving but a lot of hate such as bullying and name calling. Like "Blubber" or "Smelly Whale". I was expecting a friendship between Linda and Jill but got even worse instead. So I would like it if there were more love and friendship in this story.

Another thing that disappointed me was that there was no lesson I learned after reading the story. The story was itself was fun but it did not impress my heart at all. Instead it sort of gave me bad feeling because of the swear words that came out like "Bit-" or "Dumb a-".

Third, some parts were very evil and gruesome. This is one of the part that made me very angry. The girls made Linda Fisher eat a big ant covered in chocolate and threw rotten eggs at the neighbor's mail box and etc. I think these parts will influence the kids in a bad way.

As a result I would recommend this book to people with age over 14 but not to younger (especially not the elementary kids).

posted by Howard92 on March 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Omg

I am linda ( aka blubber) and i canot belive how many of u like this book it is so repetitive and not nice to ME!!! How dare u!! Its like all u gyz r bullying ME!!! I HATE U ALL!!!!!!!!!

posted by 10555262 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Review for the book <Blubber> by Judy Blume

    I read the book <Blubber> written by Judy Blume. This book is based on girls named Jill and Tracy. They go around doing naughty things and bullying a girl named Linda Fischer the <Blubber >.

    I generally liked the story because it was hilarious, descriptive, and fun. However, there were things I did not like about this book. One part was that this book described bullying as a fun thing to do so in that case I was little bit disappointed by the fact.

    Second reason is that there aren't many loving but a lot of hate such as bullying and name calling. Like "Blubber" or "Smelly Whale". I was expecting a friendship between Linda and Jill but got even worse instead. So I would like it if there were more love and friendship in this story.

    Another thing that disappointed me was that there was no lesson I learned after reading the story. The story was itself was fun but it did not impress my heart at all. Instead it sort of gave me bad feeling because of the swear words that came out like "Bit-" or "Dumb a-".

    Third, some parts were very evil and gruesome. This is one of the part that made me very angry. The girls made Linda Fisher eat a big ant covered in chocolate and threw rotten eggs at the neighbor's mail box and etc. I think these parts will influence the kids in a bad way.

    As a result I would recommend this book to people with age over 14 but not to younger (especially not the elementary kids).

    23 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book :)

    I loved this book, Judy Blume is a great author. I enjoyed Blubber really because it shows just how hard the 5th grade can be, it teaches a lesson: you always get back what you give out..sooner or later. Jill andher friends Bully the class "fatty" calling her Blubber and making fun of her, but they see its not so fun to be bullied when they become the targets. This book is funny, descriptive and i loved it.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2008

    Blubber

    Give me ¿Blubber,¿ the children will scream as they tug for this book. This scene will probably be occurring at libraries were kids discover how great Judy Blume Books are. <BR/>Have you ever been bullied? If you have you definitely should read this book called Blubber! In the story, Linda, Jill, and Wendy are all fifth graders. Jill and Wendy make fun of Linda and call her Blubber. Linda did an animal report on whales so the kids call Linda Blubber because the report was about an hour long!<BR/>In the book, it¿s almost Halloween and Jill is hankering to find out what Linda¿s going to be for Halloween. Jill decides to be a whale stripper to annoy Linda. The day after Halloween, Linda brings in lettuce and salads for her school lunch. Wendy, Jill and all the other classmates chant and sing, Blubber¿s on a diet! Linda¿s was crying, as she was explaining that she¿s trying to lose weight so no one will make fun of her. <BR/>I have never been bullied or have ever bullied anyone, but I have seen bullying and tried to stop it. That day, the boy was secretly slapping the girl and I noticed that the girl¿s tears were falling like bullets! I felt horrible for her and I definitely told the teacher!<BR/>I would recommend this book to anyone who loves to read funtastic books!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    ME

    UNDESCRIBABLE! BUY THIS ! YOU NEED TO READ IT!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Still relevant - a must read!

    Over 35 years after it was first written, Judy Blume's Blubber still delivers a relevant view of bullying, from the perspective of fifth grader, Jill Brenner. After pudgy Linda presents a classroom assignment on the whale, she is nicknamed "Blubber" by Wendy, the most popular girl at school, and so begins a daily ritual of abuse. While Jill isn't the leader of the pack, she joins right in, seemingly without any hesitation. Is it peer pressure? When Wendy first writes a note using the name Blubber, Jill smiles, not because she thinks it's funny but because Wendy is watching her. After that, she participates wholeheartedly.

    Over the next few weeks, most of the kids laugh at Linda, call her names, spit at her, and trip her. They even physically hold her down to mess with her clothes and later, to force her to eat something unappealing. Linda lets it happen, doing very little to resist or fight back. In the end, they lock her in a closet and declare that she's on trial. Of course, Wendy is the judge and this inquiry is anything but fair. Jill thinks that she'll never be in Linda's position, but she learns that popularity is fleeting and that her position in the classroom hierarchy only lasts as long as she is willing to go along with the crowd.

    These kids seem to feel no remorse. In fact, there is a general lack of respect for their neighbors, teachers and other students. They justify inappropriate behavior by claiming that the person gets what they deserve. They vandalize houses during Halloween and brag about it. Their teachers are oblivious and Jill's parents are distracted, leaving the action to play out without any supervision. In many ways these kids are still so young, dressing up for Halloween or collecting stamps, and left to their own devices they sink to the lowest level. While none of the characters ever seem to gain much in the way of compassion or feeling, Jill does show readers that they should never let "other people decide what's going to happen to you" and that there are ways to stand up for yourself. This matter-of-fact, true to life portrayal of classroom dynamics is a must read!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Omg

    I am linda ( aka blubber) and i canot belive how many of u like this book it is so repetitive and not nice to ME!!! How dare u!! Its like all u gyz r bullying ME!!! I HATE U ALL!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    Surprisingly Mean Spirited!

    I remember reading this novel when I was in elementary school. Now, I was a huge fan of Judy Blume then, and even still admire many of her books. But this book was not one of my favorites. The things that were done to Linda were appalling, like making her show the boys her underpants(!!) and making her eat a chocolate covered ant! And the girls, including the narrator of the story, were horrible. The girls get caught rotten-egging a man's house (bad enough) but then don't even feel bad for what they've done! And they urinate in his yard! And then when the bad guys are supposed to get their comeuppance, it never really happens. Linda herself merely turns nasty but passionless, and not even a real truce is formed with anyone. The book leaves you feeling empty and even sad, and it doesn't 'teach' one anything.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Blubber

    This book is so freakin amazing!!
    Read it if you love judy blume!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    JUDY BLUME STRIKES BACK

    Great book might influnce bullying to others teaches a lesson too

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    inaproprite

    if the reader is over weight at all or just a larger child and wieghs more you shouldn't read this book. one of my close friends read this book at the same age as the girls in the book and she is not fat just VERY muscular and she weighed 10 pounds more then linda. SO she had to see a doctor and she has never been the same!! so this book is a very un thought over book!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Must read !!!!!!!!!!!!

    Blubber is a girl named linda and everyone picked on her and clled her blubber. Then one day the shoe us on the other foot because wendy decided she would pick on jill and call here B.B and then she stood up for herself and everyone stoped pincking on her. Blubber teaches kids not to bully or watch people get bullied and to speak up.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Blubber

    Everyone has reccomended blubber! It'now a reccomendation from me!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Blubber

    This book gives people a good knowlege of things that can go on school.linda is great and strong.the other girl just follows

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Greatest book evea

    Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much awsome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Love this book!

    Just like all Judy Blume books, "Blubber" is a classic! I sure wish it were available on the Nook.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    Not Your Average Outcast Book

    Like Robert Cormier's The Chocolate War before it, Judy Blume's Blubber defies the rules of how a book about a school outcast should end. Jill Brenner, the protagonist, thinks it's fun to join 'class leader' Wendy and the other fifth-grade kids in picking on Linda Fischer, who's NOT the fattest kid in the class but gets tagged with the nickname 'Blubber'. Do you think Jill will discover that Linda is really a sweet sensitive kid who's misunderstood? Think again! Blubber exposes the cowardice, hypocrisy, and even fickleness that lies behind peer pressure and constant teasing. Jill learns cost of standing up for someone's rights, and how surprisingly easy it is for ANYONE to join in the 'fun' of making another person miserable just to fit in.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    My favorite bok for 2014rs

    When i first read this couldn't put it down it is a very good book if there were a hundred stars that's what i would rate this book.I'm happy m

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    So meaning full

    This is a great book that reminds you to stay strong through the toughest of times. You don't realize you're being a bully until it comes back to you. The only thing i would have to say about this book that is negative is the choice of words in this book. But i decided you just need to look past all of the words into the true meaning of this book. The first time i read this was in the 5th grade which made it even more special to me. I wasn't exactly the skinniest girl but after I read this book i realized wasn't alone even though Linda is fictional. No one deserves to be bullied no matter what the situation is, and this book really reminds you of that. I would give it a million more stars if there were a way. Bravo Judy Blume you have done it once again with yet another fabulous, spectacular, and ultra heart warming story. It truly it truly is moments like this that make me wish i could read books for a living.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Jill jill jill

    I saw the bad word she said mrs. Something is a b she mark everyrhing wrong on my paper.but every thing eles is hood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I grew up reading Judy Blume, but my eleven year old son is read

    I grew up reading Judy Blume, but my eleven year old son is reading &quot;Blubber&quot; and he loves it. He's a big fan of the Wimpy Kid series, and Captain Underpants.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6