BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Blue Bells of Scotland: Blue Bells Trilogy One

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Time Travel Story

    This book is amazing. It grabs your attention from the beginning and you get so involved with its characters that when it ends you wish there was more... and fortunately there will be! The plot goes around a famous musician (that has everything in life, but has a questionable morale) and a medieval warrior. When the musician got stranded in a Scottish castle tower, magic begins and he switches places with the warrior, that some hundred years before him was exactly at that same place. And the story goes on and Laura Vosika was amazing on the development of the plot and the switch to and from the medieval world to the modern world is done very properly and does not disturb at all the smooth of the reading. The author did a magnificent job on the creation of the atmosphere of both worlds. There is this feeling that your are in the Mists of Avalon, where magical things happen. If you like movies like Timeline, you will simply love this book. And the subtle message about redemption in my opinion is what makes this book one of the best three books I read the whole year. It is magic. It is powerful. It is a must have in any library of a serious reader. This book was written by Laura Vosika and it was published in 2009 by Gabriel's Horn Publishing. Pump Up Your Book was kind enough to provide me a copy for reviewing through their Virtual Book Tour Program. The book was kindly sent directly to me by the author. Thanks, Mrs. Laura Vosika! I am anxiously waiting for your next book in this wonderful trilogy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it All

    What's not to love? Shawn Kleiner, womanizing musician, and Niall Campbell, devout Highland warrior, switch places in time, and each must deal with the other's problems. We see both men affected by the time and place in which they've found themselves, each facing temptations and situations very different from what he's used to.

    The characters really came alive for me. I thought at first, with two men who look alike, I'd have trouble keeping it straight, but everything flowed smoothly, and their characters are so different, that you always know, by speech and action, which character you are reading.

    I loved the historical research that went into this book, and the sharp, clear imagery. The author's page (www.bluebellstrilogy.com) has some very interesting information about the research that went into this book.

    Blue Bells of Scotland was not only a riveting story, but one with deeper layers that have really left me pondering and thinking about my own life. I eagerly await the sequels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I was hesitant to read this book as I don’t entertain the

    I was hesitant to read this book as I don’t entertain the notion of time-travelling. But Laura Vosika made it so believable, I caught myself from time to time actually reconsidering such a concept.

    On the very first page of this book, I was already bent over laughing so hard. The author brilliantly portrays the arrogance and selfishness of the main character in a delightfully humorous way. You know guys like him. He swaggers into a room, women’s knees buckle and men’s blood boils. The world seems to hold its breath for a minute just for him. That’s Shawn Kleine, one of the two main characters at the start of this book.

    Shawn is the epitome of self-indulgence, self-importance and self-centeredness. To him, life is all about him. A master trombone player, he can turn a tin whistle into stardom! On the flipside of the coin and almost 700 years in the past, there is Niall Campbell, a mirror image of Shawn in the looks department. A proud Scottish warrior on the verge of fighting a war to save Scotland, his betrothed, and the lives of everyone dear to him, he is the exact opposite of Shawn Kleine in that he is noble, humble and a man of faith. The only other similarity between these two men is their stubbornness. Oh, and of course the little issue of them switching places in time.

    The lyrical wordplay in this book is amazing! I couldn’t help but savor every word; every sentence, every page, as it invoked vivid pictures in my mind of Scotland in the fourteenth century and present day. The atmosphere of each scene, whether in a present-day concert hall or fourteenth century wilderness or battlefield, is so well described that not only can you visualize the surroundings, you can feel it, you can hear it and you can smell it…..heck, you can almost touch it! The author’s love for, and sound knowledge of music and musical instruments is also evident as the story is filled with traditional and folk music to accompany and accentuate the different moods and emotions of the characters.

    A good balance was maintained between the contrasts and similarities of Shawn and Niall. These were some of the most genuine and real characters, with elegantly written depth and dimension, I’ve come across in a long time. Shawn’s naïve arrogance in stark contrast to Niall’s unassuming nature added a lighthearted ambience to this book, yet at the same time seriousness was lent to the story with a subtle religious undertone. Niall’s struggles with his unwavering faith when he questions why he was placed in a situation over which he has no control, and Shawn’s character’s growth as understanding of his past dawns on him through life-threatening events and while fighting his own personal demons, is a personal journey which compels the reader to do some soul-searching of one’s own.

    The unusual plot told from Shawn and Niall’s different points of view, and an open ending which would leave you eager to get the next book in this trilogy makes “Blue Bells of Scotland” unadulterated magical indulgence. I guess I have to stop gushing about this magnificent book at some point, so I’ll just give it to you straight - this really is a one-of-a-kind book deserving of much more than merely 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Something for Everyone

    Whether you like historical fiction, time travel, mistaken identity, trading lives, war and adventure, a touch of romance and alternate history-- this book has it.

    Niall, the super-responsible and devout future laird and warrior from the fourteenth century Highlands, has the weight of Scotland resting on his shoulders. He is on a mission to raise troops for the historic Battle of Bannockburn. Instead, he argues with his betrothed in the castle tower, spends the night there, and wakes up to find twenty-first century Amy Nelson, concert musician, on the shore outside his now-ruined castle. She is calling him Shawn.

    Niall soon arrives at the horrifying conclusion that, like his favorite story in the stock of auld Rabbie, he has skipped across centuries. He is caught in the life of his look-alike, Shawn Kleiner, self-centered, womanizing, gambling international musical phenomenon. Think Yo-yo Ma with Sean Penn attitude, said one review. Niall Campbell, history tells him, died on his way to raise troops, and Scotland was destroyed at Bannockburn. He searches for a way back to save his people, even under threat of being 'fired' by the orchestra's intrepid leader (with arrows or set ablaze, he wonders) if he fails to play a concert.

    Shawn, meanwhile, is caught in medieval Scotland, facing life without his power and wealth, sent on Niall's mission, and hunted by men who want to kill him.

    The characters really came to life. Apart from their looks, Shawn and Niall are as different as night and day. And yet, as they discover, their flaws and their assets are often two sides of the same coin. They are more alike than either would like to admit.

    I enjoyed the well-researched and often entertaining explanations of Scottish history, as Shawn tries to figure out what's going on around him, and the great descriptions that put me right there, in the Scottish Highlands, in the forest with Shawn, on stage with Niall.

    I liked some of the issues this story raised. I found it thought-provoking, in addition to standing alone as a well-written and intriguing story.

    This is the first of a trilogy. I am eagerly awaiting the sequels to find out what happens to Shawn, Niall, and Amy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2014

    Loved this book!! I read all three and they are excellent!

    Loved this book!! I read all three and they are excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is no Outlander on any level, but is a good diversion for t

    This is no Outlander on any level, but is a good diversion for the summer.  It is very American and not as detailed as one would wish.  The problem with the trilogy is that there is no third book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a captivating story that has well developed characters.

    This is a captivating story that has well developed characters. While reading this story, I found myself clearly visualizing the scenes while also hearing the characters' voices and music. The author has done an excellent job on researching Scotland's history! I highly recommend this book and the 2nd book entitled "The Minstrel Boy."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    OMG!

    I love this book! I fell in love with all the characters, the plot, even the language! (Whisht! (means shut up in Scottish) My Grandmother said that to me all the time! Brought me fond memories of her. Very realistic, she has done her homework! Great Story, fantastic descriptive writing, she makes you feel like you are there! Thank you Laura Vosika, for writing these books, can't wait to get to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Am reading this on my Motorola Xoom tablet, and can hardly put i

    Am reading this on my Motorola Xoom tablet, and can hardly put it down to do my work!
    jjinca [but now in Oregon!]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I was engrossed right from the beginning. It is a really good r

    I was engrossed right from the beginning. It is a really good read. I loved the medieval history. The characters are fairly vivid, could stand a little more description. Highly recommend this book. Looking forward to the next two in this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Laura Vosika delivers!  Time travel takes an interesting road (n

    Laura Vosika delivers!  Time travel takes an interesting road (not taken).  Two young men who apparently are identical in looks and seven hundred years apart in time have inadvertently through no control of their own been pitched forward and thrust backwards in time.  Shawn, a "fly by the seat of my pants" sort of guy and Niall on the opposite end of the spectrum being the kind of young man who knows who he is and accepts all of the responsibilites of his station in life have but one mission between the two of them, and that is to return to their respective places in time.  I found the intertwining of their lives fascinating.  The historical references were informative and well blended into the story line  I recommend this book...a great, fun read!. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Fabulous read!

    I was engrossed from beginning to end. Starting on second one now and hoping the third isn't far behind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Laura Vosika's characters in this story are exciting, interesting and so compelling I couldn't put the book down. The way she sets the scene made me feel like I was in Scotland. Her background in music really adds to the melting pot of a great read! This book is a must!

    Ricky Sands-Author of Crimson in the Park

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    Great book

    I am so disappointed that I have to wait for the next book to come out! Time travel at its finest. Not a thought of skipping to the end to see how it ends as the book doesn't drag. A reading pleasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    4.5 Stars!

    What a great read! Lively characters that you really feel for, fantastically researched, wonderfully descriptive. And very clean, too. Historical fiction with romance as well, but something I wouldn't be at all ashamed to have my mother or my grandmother (or, if I had any, my kids) read. At times you want to smack some sense into some of the characters, and at others you just want to hug them. :D And the climax is especially fun. It was a fun read from start to finish. I am very much looking forward to the next books in the series. The only thing that took it from 5 stars to 4.5 is that in some areas it does get a little repetitive as we see again and again what is going through someone's mind. But still a wonderful read. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Fantastic Story

    I was sceptical at first but once the two men switched places in time it really got going. The behavior and thoughts they each had about their situation seemed very realistic. I found as I read further into the book I found it harder to put down. The ending was fantastic....not the way I figured it would end but really satisfying.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    A rollicking good start to a promising new trilogy!,

    Did you know that everyone's name has a meaning? For example, Shawn Kleiner's name means self centered. And he certainly lived up to his name. As the critically-acclaimed virtuoso of the orchestra and an unabashed ladies man with an undeniable gift for blarney, Shawn didn't care who he took advantage of or who got hurt as long as everything always went his way. But eventually the day came when his disenchanted girlfriend Amy, weary of his selfish ways, had finally had enough and left him high and dry in the tower of a ruined Scottish castle. Surprised by Amy's behavior and totally defensive of his narcissistic motives, Shawn decided to remain where he was, enjoy the picnic he had brought with them, and worry about finding his way back to their hotel and the orchestra in the morning. Except when morning arrived, his entire world was changed.

    Fourteenth-century bard Niall Campbell of the Clan MacDonald was as talented with the harp and song as he was with the sword. Well known as a mischief maker as well as warrior, Niall was the clan chief's future son-in-law and most trusted champion. When Niall suffered an injury on the day before he was to embark on an extremely dangerous mission for the clan, his fiancée Allene, fearing for his health and safety, tried to talk him in to letting her accompany him. They argued about it in the castle tower, and Niall, having imbibed too freely of the ale that evening in the hopes of easing some of his physical discomfort, ends up falling asleep on the top of the parapet. As the mist swirled around him and he drew his cloak close around his body, his last thoughts were for the mission he was to embark upon in the morning. But when he awoke the next day, he found himself in much more dangerous territory than he could have ever imagined.

    This is how Blue Bells of Scotland by Laura Vosika begins. What follows is an amazing adventure in two different lifetimes, as Niall and Shawn find themselves somehow switched into each other's existences. Filled with humor, intrigue, and tumult, I found this to be an entertaining beginning to what I hope will be a compelling trilogy. I give Blue Bells of Scotland 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2